Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 511 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 511 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.4
Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay Located at 16 Lawson St, , Byron Bay.
Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay
Australia
Byron Bay New South Wales 2481 16 Lawson St
81% 511
-28.6431870 153.6148390
Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
8.3

Was there for splendour, brilliant location, staff were friendly, facilities were what you expect, clean and comfortable enough. Was particularly impressed by the pool and outside areas. Wasn't too much of a social/party atmosphere but would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed the stay and staff were sensational and really were helpful, thabks for the stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2016
8.6

Great location and amazing organised evening events! Free dinners were really delicious. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.9

The mixed gender room for 8 turned out to be relatively spacious and clean! The toilet was well maintained as well. The staffs were friendly and quick to help! They were patient enough to give us a few options regarding how we should proceed towards Byron Lighthouse for sunrise. I was very impressed with the food sold at the cafe restaurant! They had the fluffiest pancakes that I've tasted thus far! Will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay at aquarius. The free dinner every night is nice and tasty. You also have your own balcony, which is pretty cool as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
9.1

A couple of friends and I (Canadians/Germans/mixed) went to Byron Bay for the first time on the weekend. Great stay! We got a free drink, and a free dinner! The rooms were clean and spacious. We also got 10% off the café - great value for your money. We met lots of others too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
5.7

Staff was rude and seemed to charge money for every small service. All of aquarius is designed to drain money from their tenants by pushing gimmicks (like trivia designed to get you to buy expensive drinks). They are also shamelessly allied with tour companies, and push their offerings aggressively.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
6.0

The hostel was not overly clean, particularly the bathroom. Also, whilst there was a security guard patrolling at night, every dorm had two sliding patio doors as entrance/exit which no one ever seemed to lock and only half the lockers in the room worked. The staff on reception/the reps weren't particularly helpful or friendly. However good location, very close to the beach and tea is included which is a bonus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jun 2016
5.1

The staff were not very friendly or helpful. The rooms are en suite but to have one bathroom between 8 people is not ideal. The bathroom floor gets cleaned once a day but it quickly gets dirty and the water from the shower gets stomped all around the room. The staff don't seem to reliable for information. Bit of an uncomfortable atmosphere on arrival as rooms are messy and staff seem more concerned to get people drinking then helping out. Pros: nightly dinner and good noise control.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Montserrat, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2016
10.0

Love the ocean air and the whole team at Aquarius

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.