Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 509 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 509 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.4
Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay Located at 16 Lawson St, , Byron Bay.
Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay
Australia
Byron Bay New South Wales 2481 16 Lawson St
81% 509
-28.6431870 153.6148390
Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay at aquarius. The free dinner every night is nice and tasty. You also have your own balcony, which is pretty cool as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
9.1

A couple of friends and I (Canadians/Germans/mixed) went to Byron Bay for the first time on the weekend. Great stay! We got a free drink, and a free dinner! The rooms were clean and spacious. We also got 10% off the café - great value for your money. We met lots of others too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
5.7

Staff was rude and seemed to charge money for every small service. All of aquarius is designed to drain money from their tenants by pushing gimmicks (like trivia designed to get you to buy expensive drinks). They are also shamelessly allied with tour companies, and push their offerings aggressively.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
6.0

The hostel was not overly clean, particularly the bathroom. Also, whilst there was a security guard patrolling at night, every dorm had two sliding patio doors as entrance/exit which no one ever seemed to lock and only half the lockers in the room worked. The staff on reception/the reps weren't particularly helpful or friendly. However good location, very close to the beach and tea is included which is a bonus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jun 2016
5.1

The staff were not very friendly or helpful. The rooms are en suite but to have one bathroom between 8 people is not ideal. The bathroom floor gets cleaned once a day but it quickly gets dirty and the water from the shower gets stomped all around the room. The staff don't seem to reliable for information. Bit of an uncomfortable atmosphere on arrival as rooms are messy and staff seem more concerned to get people drinking then helping out. Pros: nightly dinner and good noise control.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Montserrat, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2016
10.0

Love the ocean air and the whole team at Aquarius

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
4.6

Stayed in Aquarius for 4 nights and would not recommend it. We only stayed there for so long because of its location - close to the main beach and centre of town. However the staff were rude - one of them came into our room just to 'use' our toilet! Vom! Our roommates were aggressive and at times we felt threatened by their behaviour, one was also a member of staff who said there was no point complaining as we'd be the ones kicked out... Heard that Arts Factory was better!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th May 2016
7.1

Really good. The security guard was really nice. They allow drinking in common areas which was nice (last time I stayed they didn't allow any drinking). But it says free parking which is only true if you can get a spot in their parking lot which seems impossible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st May 2016
8.0

BEST HOSTEL EVER. Free dinners are good. Atmosphere is amazing - which is the most important thing for me. So sociable and lots of fun. Security is low as the doors are always left open and the dorm rooms could definitely be cleaner. However I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else on my return to Byron. Missing Aquarius already!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
10.0

I couldn't have been happier, great people, great service...clean clean clean! My friend and I got a private room with 2 single beds. We even had a lil balcony to chill. Also very glad to have security monitor sound in the night so that we could still go out and party but get back and have a restful night. I'll be returning

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.