Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 993 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 993 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2017
5.7

Very cold during my stay with nowhere comfortable to relax - most annoyingly nowhere to sit and use the free wifi. The staff were pretty unfriendly

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Shannon531
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.3

Came for one night with a friend. Guy on reception was lovely, couldn't say that about the guy on the bar. Although the layout of the hostel is very confusing, it's really nice inside. I stayed in a 10 bed dorm and it was pretty spacious and clean. Free meal and free drink it always a good idea, I would definitely return!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
8.6

Loved the staff here, they were fantastic and even remember my name/room number. The free meal each night is pretty decent! I'm traveling alone and I met a ton of great people. The worst part is the doors that etc locked for security, they force you to walk completely around the building. Since it was raining during my stay this was a bummer. Wifi is only in the bar area unless you want to pay the extra 2$, but would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
8.9

Hostel was cool. Stayed in a 10ppl loft style room. Facilities were clean enough. Common room atmosphere really cool with plenty of games and little bar and good music. Free dinner every night (we had basic spag bal) catered vegan/vegetarian. Super close to the main area of town (only a block or two away). Our bedroom had a door at the front and the back which seemed to be opened always, never locked. Luckily we had a car to lock up our belongings. Lockers available. Wifi only in common room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jun 2017
8.0

Great location, definitely a party hostel. Shame there wasn't anywhere to chill apart from on the bar stools as the kitchen with the only sofa gets locked at night. Otherwise good atmosphere, really friendly staff and decent free dinner!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jackduhig2024
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.1

Great hostel, really enjoyed our stay! + really social atmosphere with lots going on and a lively bar with activities every evening + free dinner every night!! + generally clean and tidy + security guard on duty every night + hostel staff were very friendly and accommodating - bar staff are generally quite rude and obnoxious. They also very strict on the no outside alcohol rule. I think there needs to be some leeway there considering it's a backpackers hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
7.7

A decent place to stay but by no means the best. Positives - scran included in room price is always a big win and it wasn't bad at all, rooms were large and kept clean to the extent possible, beds were relatively comfortable, bar at night usually has something happening and happy hour prices are about as low as Iv found in Australia. Negatives - generally found he staff to act as though they didn't really give a damn about anything and the security is more or less non existent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2017
9.1

I first arrived at Aquarius with the intention of staying a couple of night. However I ended up extending my stay twice because I was having such a great time in Byron. The bedrooms were spacious and had lockers as well as your own outside area. The kitchen was big which allowed a lot of people to cook at the same time. The bar area was great. Cheap drinks and delicious food as well a different activity every night. I have more to say but no word count left.... definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laura_mckechnie6267
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2017
9.1

Had a fantastic time here. Travelling with my boyfriend and we stayed in a 8 bedroom dorm! Loved the facilities - pool table, table tennis etc. Has cheap drinks and free dinner was good. Didn't use kitchen but it did seem bizarre that you are locked in after ten. Room a good size but not much storage space, especially if on the top bunk. All staff we encountered were super friendly and helpful. Appreciated free shuttle each way to the bus stop. Entertainment decent - gets people together!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th May 2017
7.1

Very social hostel with free meals every night (although don't expect a decent portion unless you 'mansize' for $3). Great central location close to the beach and shops. Only let down was staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.