Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 664 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 664 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.7
Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay Located at 16 Lawson St, , Byron Bay.
Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay
Australia
Byron Bay New South Wales 2481 16 Lawson St
86% 664
-28.6431870 153.6148390
Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Nov 2016
8.6

Had a great stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Nov 2016
8.6

Stayed here upon a recommendation over the arts factory and glad I did. 8 bed dorm was roomy but no air con - en suite very big and good bathroom. Hostel has a lively bar which attracts other backpackers events on every night and free meal every night which is amazing! Free drink on arrival and nice happy hour prices! Very social and modern hostel. Cafe next door is expensive compared to the hostel bar as they don't serve breakfast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Nov 2016
8.9

Great location, right by the beach, free dinner every night, and happy hour drinks. Along with entertainment each night and a cool vibe. The rooms are pretty much always left unlocked, but there are lockers, and everyone is super friendly. There is free wifi but only by the pool and bar, and kept cutting you off, other than that, loved this place. And would deffo recommend a weeks stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
2.0

where to begin..don't let the pictures fool you. I assume previous reviews by staff because this place is absolutely foul. We walked into our apparently cleaned every day room to find nothing but a filthy mess. Clothes everywhere including our beds. Sandy dirty sheet on the bed, blankets reaked of musk and were not even folded.Dirty dishes/moulding food on the counter, filthy bathroom. Common fridge was also mouldy. Checked in to nomads, didn't even stay in our room. Staff never offered refund

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
8.9

Ended up extended my stay here twice. Great hostel with a nice pool area, events every night of the week, and a wonderful location by the beach. Not to mention free dinner every night! Rooms were spacious and relatively clean, and there is free wifi in the common area. Yes, there are a lot of longterm residents/volunteers staying here, but there are also tons of backpackers as well. Definitely a social/drinking hostel, but nothing too crazy. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Nov 2016
9.1

Really sociable hostel, they have events every night and the drink is super cheap! The free dinners are really good aswell, not massive portions but thats perfect if your going out drinking.The kitchen and common area is comfy, and you can drink your own booze there if you want. Rooms are really nice with a patio and a sitting area, all rooms are shared with a private room which is a bitt weird because its 1 toilet and 1 shower between 10 of you. Pretty much two seconds away from the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2016
2.0

You’ve got a damn cheek to ask me how I enjoyed my stay at Aquarius When I fronted up to try to pay for my dormitory accomodation, I was told it was only accessible to people with a foreign passport. In other words Australians a not allowed access to the dormitory accomodation, even with one of you bogus bookings I was glad I choose to arrive on the morning train. The YHA next door closes their office around 9.30 pm so I would have been stranded had I taken the night train. As it was, they we

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
8.0

Really enjoyed Aquarius! Good, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Staff were mixed. Some nice, some quite ignorant. Nice pick up off the greyhound. Location good, in the middle of the beach, supermarkets, attractions etc. Wifi must be paid for but does reach the room. Sometimes good, often disconnects. Food in the restaurant was very tasty, including the free meals at night. Atmosphere was good! Good party feel! Kitchens clean, big, lots of facilities. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
3.7

The staff at the deck were not helpful & quite rude & everything seem like an effort to check in, change your reservation or a simple Internet code. Restaurant & community area nice but the bedrooms/dorms are AWFUL and sadly there are no pictures of how they actually are: clothes everywhere, bottles rubbish on tables floors & bathroom MEANT to be clean each day but I think they just sign the paper. Door are never locked so anyone can go in and out anytime. There are much better options to go.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at AQ. Our reception staff try there best to serve you in a friendly and efficient manner. Sometimes sharing with others can be messy, it is up to every individual in the room to keep their belongings neat and tidy, unfortunately this is not always the case! Our bathrooms are cleaned by professional cleaners twice daily once in the morning and a second clean in the evening while everyone is having dinner. Sorry again that you didn't enjoy your stay.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Oct 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel, the vibe was great, so many like minded people. And Byron was by far my favourite place I've visited! Stayed in another hostel for 1 night but this one was better by far! Free food was great, and the events every night are fun and get everyone involved! Would definitely recommend to everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks, and great to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.