Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Mar 2017
7.1

1 bathroom for 8 people (plus another 2 in the attached private room) is tricky. Would be better if the shower and toilet were separate. Kitchen is big but always felt dirty. Bar area and activities in the evening were good. Some staff were very moody, particularly reception staff. Free meal and food discounts were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Mar 2017
9.1

Favourite hostel in Byron and maybe even so far in Australia! I'm a solo traveller and found it very easy to make friends! The free dinner is also a bonus! Location is very central, and hostel itself has a great atmosphere and is a party hostel! Only downside for me is that not all of the dorms have air con so it did get quite hot at night! Definitely stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.9

Really great hostel, bar was great with cheap happy hour drinks, ok wifi. Free dinner every night was average but good for being free. Pool was nice, rooms was nice and big with outside area but quite dirty bathrooms and floor in room quite dirty. Beds were comfy. Amazing location 5 minute walk to the beach and loads of shops. Good deals getting into clubs for free and different activities each night such as kareoke/jelly wrestling. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Mar 2017
10.0

probably the best experience I have ever had at a hostel. Amazing staff, super friendly and helpful! Great location, very close to the beach, cheap drinks and food, great atmosphere. Dinner was amazing, so convenient and tasty. Will be returning to this hostel next time I'm in Byron Bay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Mar 2017
7.7

Aquarius is a great hostel in Byron Bay. For my 2 nights stay, it was just what I was looking for. The bar is cool with a happy hour and cheap drinks deals. A free meal every night and events aswell makes for a good atmosphere to meet people. The hostel is right in the centre of Byron and close to the must see lighthouse trail.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.6

Our stay at Aquarius was fun. We were in an 8 room dorm, 1 bathroom is kinda tricky with 8 different people. Also no air conditioner so we had to leave the doors open for airflow. They had a free dinner which was good and decent portion, they also had bingo going on that night where you could win lots of free drinks and other prizes. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Mar 2017
9.7

Loved our stay in Aquarius so much. Recommended by friends and not disappointed! Great room lay out and backpacker bar, so perfect balance of being able to chill but also be really sociable. Probably our favourite hostel on the east coast!! Free dinners were ideal and Byron Bay was amazing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.9

Had the best time in Byron Bay at this hostel! It's the perfect place to meet people. Location is good, rooms are huge, daily free meals are yummy (portions are a bit small though), and the staff are helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
7.4

Close to beach Free meals are smallish but decent enough for an evening meal Kitchen good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
8.9

-great hostel with really nice common spaces -really good atmosphere -they gave us free meals at night (only one dish) -first night gave us a free drink -2 blocks from the beach and from the center -karaoke nights, they took us to the pub -doors are open all the times -8 room only has one bathroom that actually was for 10 people because inside the room there was another room for 2.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.