X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Arcadia Hostel Reviews

Calle 11A, No. 31A-188, Las Lomas 1, Poblado, Medellin, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
195 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Arcadia was a clean, well organized hostel with a very relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. It is centrally located within walking distance from Parque Lleras where all the nightlife happens. Every Sunday there is a great greek style bbq!


100%

Arcadia hostel is one of the coolest and most hip places to stay in Medellin. It has a very welcoming and homey atmosphere. There are three hammocks (my personal favorite) and many rooms all very well organized and laid out. There is a common area, which is a very nice and relaxing place to take a load off. There are rooms of various price but they are all nice. Spyros, the owner, and his staff are very friendly and welcoming as well. One of the best places to stay in Medellin.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

very friendly staff, big drawers for your luggage, walking distance to zona rosa


83%

Owner Spyros is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. Good vibe!


57%

The room was dirty, blood on my pillow case when i arrived. Lockers were in a bad place so every time i tried to get stuff out people that walked through the door would bang into me. other than that the staff were amazing and friendly!

Owner Comment (Hide)
My apologies for any inconvenient.Blood in the pillow case is quite weird though all sheets are washed and cleaned, did you verify with the receptionist asking a new case?Olympus is a new dorm, very recently we convert it from the private ex mafia suite that was before to a luxurious dorm that its now with a bath tab and a private balcony.I think the technicians was finishing by the time u were threre thats why was a bit anorganize and dirty i guess.I change the location of the lockers!

97%

It was an excellent experience to stay in this hostal. Staff was very helpful and kind. The atmosphere in this place was very relaxing and clean. Location was good and near to a very nice area where you find restaurants, bars, clubs and stores.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly owner and staff. Fun common areas. Great location: situated on an attractive street and a safe 5-10 minute walk to the shops, restaurants and bars in Parque Lleras. I went paragliding and they helped me book it, arranging for transport to and from the hostel, which was really convenient. I stayed in Olympus (the rooms have different Greek names) and really enjoyed it. It's easy to have some fun, or just relax and take it easy here. Great vibes and very traveller friendly.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Arcadia was an awesome party style hostel. Music flowing in the main room and balcony most of the day and full bar at the reception desk. The bathrooms are as clean as any nice hostel, and each room has one, except for Hades... Hades is real. The staff is awesome, Jessica's the best staff DJ :) . Great place to stay if you like an upbeat and fun environment.


100%

A very, warm friendly atmosphere. Staff are always welcoming and happy to help. The security is good here with 24hour reception. We have thoroughly enjoyed our staff here and would recommend this hostel . It is also in a good location, walking distance from the main square, with good restaurants nearby. Hostel also offers alot of tourist activities and infromation, which is useful. The metro is also closeby. They also do their own BBQ on a sunday!!!!


100%

The owner Spyros strives to provide to best possible service to all guests. He wants you to make friends with the staff, other travelers and locals. To this end the Salsa, Karaoke and Barbecue nights are always popular events. I now live in Medellín but frequently return to Arcadia to catch up with good friends and meet new ones.


34%

upon arrival: 1. no towels in room 2. no soap in room 3. bitten by mosquito within 10 minutes in room 4. no toilet paper in room 5. soap replacement turned green and then yellow (in the botton)

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, my apologies for any inconvenient you might have during your stay in Arcadia but did you ask the receptionist for the things that were missing and didn't helped you?In our privates we provide toilet paper of course, towles and soaps as well. In case was forgotten for some reason we have enough u only have to ask.The liquid soap replacement turned other color because we bought another fragrance and about the mosquito bite..no comments.Please try to be more fair in your ratings!

100%

I stayed in the new dorm Olympus that I really recommend to everyone. It has a bath tab and a balcony and is more quite from other dorms. Very nice comfortable wooden beds and big lockers. Free self made pancakes every morning. There are 2 different cosy common areas, one inside the hostel with a big plasma TV to enjoy the movie collection and one outside in a nice terrace were there is a big table and a nice big hammick. Friendly staff and owner. Free internet

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

There is always a good atmosphere and the staff is very friendly and helpful!


80%

Really nice hostel with very good atmosphere, very nice hosts but dont go there if you plan on catching up on sleep as it's quite noisy and not well isolated.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
During eastern we were totally full so isn't easy to keep people quite.Though we aren't a party hostel we neither are a very quite one.Pegasus is a private next to the kitchen and could be noisy mostly after 07:30 when the breakfast starts.We are working on soundproof ways for the privates Pegasus and Elisium but its a reason for low prices as well.

100%

The rooms and bathrooms are very nicely built, but it is the owner who makes the difference. Very friendly and keen to help

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

We arrived at the hostel having booked the 12 bed dorm. After being lead downstairs to the garage where there is 4 triple bunk beds squashed into a tiny room with no lockers or space to put bags and the nearest bathroom up a level, we decided to upgrade to an 8 bed dorm upstairs which is 200% better. This dorm, ensuite and the common areas are all good. My only complaint would be the other staff were really not helpful in terms of providing any information about the city and tours.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You can't have high expectations paying 16 or 18 mile pesos (like 8 US dollars) in a 12 bed dorm including breakfast in the best and most expensive part of the city.This dorm is for budget travelers but you can always upgrade.Regarding the staff did you ask about info and we were not helpful?Weird because we are really helpful providing the best info we can and for this reason we have a bid map and a book in English and Spanish providing lots of info about Medellin and tours like Pablo Escobar

51%

Location was great! Only a few minutes walk to parque lleras. This hostel will not turn down any guests. This place focuses only on making money. I paid for a 4 person dorm, when the hostel was full, they just threw mattresses on the floor wherever they could including my room. Way too overcrowded. Not enough bathrooms/showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is not true, we didn't throw any mattresses in the floor, your room Calypso can fit up to 6 people and has a really big bathroom, we never put 6 people though only for one night we accommodate 1 more person but in a normal bed next to the wall not in the floor.This dorm is en-suite so i think a shower toilet for 4-5 people is good enough.Were not more people using this bathroom, maybe you were unlucky during peak hour when everybody uses the shower..

69%

12 dorm was a garage before and the main door is in front of it. so you can hear all the people coming back and forth. You have a box for your important belongings but not big enough to put my computer. only 2 showers and 2 toilets but normally the other rooms got one in them. wifi not working but 2 computers are there. very slow though. the breakfast its pancakes you have to make yourself but not many places to do it and a queue so not much to eat. the laundry didnt smell like washed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thas why is called Hades (underworld in Greek mythology were the dead lies!) and thats why its so cheap.We already install bigger lockers outside the dorm to fit bigger staff like computers and 2 showers and toilets should be enough for 12 people because the other dorms are ensuite.We have some problems with the internet mainly because of the company that now is fixed.We are gonna instal more facilities for doing the pancakes.About the washing we add softener as well so weird to hear that.

91%

Good hostel with great staff. Right by everything you need. Would definitely recommend!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

We stayed in the most expensive dorm and it was nice and new, however, the staff was quite disorganized when we arrived despite the fact that we had a reservation. Took us to the room but was not able to tell us if there were two free dorm beds as peoples stuff was everywhere and she just left us there until we just picked what we assumed were the two free beds (sheets weren't folded or anything so hard to tell if they had been cleaned). The hostel does have a cat(s) which leads to an odor

Owner Comment (Hide)
Argonauts is not the most expensive dorm, its a 8 bed dorm ensuit and very well equipped with big lockers, private lamps and shelves, electricity sockets in each bed.At the moment it costs 21000 pesos a bit more than 10US including coffee and pancakes as breakfast.We have put labels NOT to change beds without advising the reception first, unfortunately there are people who wont respect that creating this kind of problems..a free bed in this dorm should have new sheets and folded cover.

« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Medellin Hostels

Please give us your feedback