X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Arch-Ist Hostel Reviews

Siraselviler Caddesi, no:40, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
421 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best place I stayed in Europe. common room is social, kitchen is well equipped. Rooms have en suites, beds are comfy. Got laundry done for 5tl. i totally recommend

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Definitely fashionable and modern. Great facilities and impeccable location. Despite a huge German group that's been making noises around, the hostel is very peaceful and good for some rest. Near the most dynamic places of Istanbul.


74%

The location is amazing Staff wasn't that friendly There was no toilet paper for the 3 days we were there.


86%

I already recomended it for some friends, the only weird thing was that they ask for 10 leras as a garantee for the key, of course they give it to you back before you leave, but, honestly i found it a little weird ths 10 leras thing.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Yemen
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean and new, you should be careful when catching the green door but very good and central location. Best hostel i have stayed.

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was fine and easygoing. We will come back. thanks a lot.

  • 13th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

The toilet has no paper, very dirty. Sorry for the staff, She was friendly, but not managed in proper way. I was in woman dorm, there was a guy with a girl sleep together. I arrived at night , it was just in front of hospital, but the sign was so small , no one cannot find it easily. Very kind British guy and old Turkey man helped me find the way, we were lost about one hour at Taksim. I dont recommend this hostel, it is the worst ever.


94%

nice place, good decoration and good location.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Perfectly located - 5 minutes walk from Taksim Square. Very cheap but not creepy. I would definitely recommend it to anyone!!!


97%

I have stayed in many hostels and a few in istanbul, i can say that this place deserves a higher ranking. The 6 beds room was really spacy and having good daylight. The bathroom is well organised and Its cleaned everyday. Also the location is perfect, its a very nice neighbourhood called Cihangir, both local and international and just few steps to main square. It was a great choice for me.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very clean and very friendly staff. The beds and the location is perfect

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

This place is not clean at all. The dorm room was so small for 6 beds that you could not stand up all the people at the same time. Bathrooms were disgusting. I don't recommend it and usually I'm not hard to be satisfied.


94%

This place is really in the middle of everything. it was a great choice. It has a great atmosphere with a homelike feeling, thats why i stay in hostels, Common kitchen and livingroom is very nice to hang out and meet other travelers. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay in the heart of modern Istanbul. Cosy, compact yet homely, The Arch-ist is THE hostel to stay at on Taksim side.


100%

The location is just perfect, and the value for money as well. The staff was quite hospitable, kind and warm, making our stay unique; thanx Merve;)

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The kitchen was not clean enough and some cups and basic stuff is broken. It seems they wait until everybody finishes eating to start cleaning or loading the dish washer. The kitchen table is way too big for the kitchen. It'd be great if they put more light on the stairs and pick up the disrty laundry more often. It looks bad to see loads of dirty laundry every morning on every floor in the corridor. The rest was quite ok!!


100%

The best matresses ever, rooms are spacy and really new and clean for a hostel. Staff is also friendly and helpful. Thank you for everything. Highly recommended!

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

There is no luggage room, you have the option of leaving your belongings in the front room in the corner, and if a staff member isn't sleeping they'll glance over at it occasionally. They do not provide free city maps nor do they take credit cards. BE SURE TO GET A RECEIPT!!!! I extended my stay for two additional nights and paid cash. When I checked out was told I owed money and when they called the person I gave the money to she lied and said I didn't pay! Bad customer service if staff steals!

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The receptionist and staff were really friendly, thanks to them we had great time there.the kitchen is nice and common room is very comfortable.they also have a nice terrace.it was well cleaned.couple of minutes to taksim square. There is a bar next to the hostel which is a bit noisy but all of the neighbourhood would be the same noisy. Recommended.


100%

If you want to go to a cheap hostel, in an amazing location, and meet other travelers, then this is the place for you. The owners Omur and Omush are super awesome. I love Merve, she was phenomenal, make sure to give her a hug and have her guess your astrological sign. My trip to Istanbul wouldn't have been nearly as amazing without them. Expect to meet people here and have fun. It is very laid back here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear dave, this is Merve, Thank you very much for your being here, it was a pleasure to host such nice and cute people like you! You know we say 'See You!'' So, hope to See You soon dear Dave!!! :)

(242 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback