Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Archipelago Hostel Old Town

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 5.9
Archipelago Hostel Old Town Located at Stora Nygatan 38, , Stockholm.
Archipelago Hostel Old Town
Sweden
Stockholm 111 27 Stora Nygatan 38
74% 1451
59.3236225 18.0700452
Archipelago Hostel Old Town
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
5.4

This is a pretty basic hostel,functional but nothing else.It has small simple rooms,which are clean enough,but no lockers.The bathroom is not much to talk about,3 showers,no place to leave your stuff safe.Basins have no shelves. Reception works morning in a tiny office manned by unsympathetic staff,who are there only to enforce their rules,namely,no lugagge can be stored before or after checking in/out (13:00),and compulsory sheets(you pay).No common area or where to cook.Central, not worth it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
7.4

It is right in the old town and it is 3 mins walk to a subway station. But do not expect more for a budget hostel. Depending on the location it could be a little noisy since there are bar and restaurant nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Aug 2016
2.0

WORST HOSTEL EVER

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
6.0

Quite possibly the WORST hostel experience I've ever had. The staff was rude and aggressive, the environment was hostile, and the rooms were incredibly cramped. There is NO STOVE in the kitchen and they throw EVERYTHING out of the fridge weekly. The location and security were great but you could find that elsewhere with much better staff and a FAR better environment. I would never stay here again, absolutely horrific experience! Not enough value for your money!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
6.0

The location was amazing, beautiful streets right in the center of Gamla Stan. But the staff were close to unbearable. Extremely rude practically chasing us around the hostel when we still have thirty minutes to check out. There is NO stove or oven of any kind. And they throw away all food in the fridge on Monday no matter when you put it in there. There is no communal space at all. And the "kitchen" was really really hot. I would not and will not ever be staying here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2016
8.9

Amazing location and very clean hostel with BRILLIANT SHOWERS! Only problem was that our 4 man dorm was incredibly small, there was no baggage holding facility and no traveller atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
6.0

We were here for one night, we arrived at about 6:30 pm, and there was no reception. Instead, if you press the button to open the door, it calls a person that gives you the code to the door. When we checked out, it was early so basically we never saw anyone. I wouldn't really call this a hostel, there are no lounge spaces, barely a reception area. You aren't allowed to eat in the hostel, and the hostel charges you for sheets and towels unless you show reception (which we never saw)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2016
4.3

Bathrooms were a mess, rooms have no space

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
10.0

This place has everything you need, nothing you don't. It is basic, but also very clean, safe and perfectly located. If your goal is to explore the city as much as possible instead of spending time at your accommodation, this place is a great option. Gamla Stan is awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
8.6

Great hostel just because of the amazing location! Right in the middle of everything and super easy to go out at night with lots of restaurants/bars around the island. It's really a nice, quiet hostel in a great location. The 4-bed we were in was a little crowded, but bathrooms and showers were nice, and there is access to a small kitchen upstairs (fridge, microwave, kettle, sink). Rented linen also comes with towels which is really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.