X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Archipelago Hostel Old Town Reviews

Stora Nygatan 38, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1404 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Really enjoyed our stay here. Only stayed for two nights but thought the hostel was perfect for this. Located in the Old Town which was a nice area , and in the centre of all the places we visited around stockholm. Showers were really good and hostel clean. Staff friendly and welcoming. Paid slightly more than what we wanted but i guess thats due to the hostels location. Would recommend.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Quiet, Good location, Clean. Met nice people in the room but no space such as lounge or big kitchen to talk or drink. But generally was good.

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The Hostel is in a lovely location and easy to reach. It's clean and quiet. There is only one person working until 2pm and after that it's all self-service and reservation only, you communicate with a semi-friendly security guy over door-call and he tells you the door code. Information as to the kitchen, the other door code, internet and sightseeing you have to find out yourself and due to that the kitchen is not really used as a common room.


97%

The Hostel was very nice. It was clean and the location was perfect in the old town. The employees are there from the morning til afternoon, and clean everyday and are nice people. The hostel itself is simple and comfortable.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

there should be more pots/pans in the kitchen so people can actually cook a meal. also staff were not very gracious.

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a great time here. But some worker(s) doing DIY job in our room when we were out came and planked our luggages in the room without delicacy... Just for you to know...

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The management staff was unwelcoming when I arrived and the bathrooms were not nice.


69%

Initially I didn't think the staff were particularly friendly. After arriving 10 minutes late to check out and being denied access to the toilet I've decided they were actually quite rude, as I believe it's a basic human right to provide access to the toilet. Rude. That said it is one of the cheapest hostel's available so maybe they don't need to afford to be friendly or helpful. They also charge a 60 SEK linen cost, which may as well be incorporated into the overall price.


74%

Nothing to complain about if you just need a place to sleep. But if you are looking to meet other people, this is probably not it.


77%

The hostel is really good. We booked a dorm, but got upgraded to a two-bed-room which was really nice. But there is no luggage room!!

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

There is no personel at the hostel after 15:00, which makes it extremely hard to solve any kind of problem, from very simple stuff to very urgent matters. There's not even a security guard to help in case of an emergency You're not allowed in the kitchen with your bags or after you check out, so if you check out early you're not permitted to go have breakfast afterwards. There's no place to store luggage!?!?! As an economic traveller, it complicates things lot!!! And can make travellers quitemad

  • 3rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very clean, very quiet, but also very basic hostel. No social aspect to the stay at all. No common area except a small kitchen. Also the beds were so squeaky and the reception is only there about 3 hours of the day. If you simply want a bed for the night, no frills, it is a good choice. If you're looking to socialize, hang out at the hostel, or meet people, this isn't the place to stay.

  • 20th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good place to spend the night! comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and really great location. The staff was not very helpfull and the reception desk is open for a really short time. There were no hanging common areas so it's not a good choice if you are traveling alone.


71%

A place to leave luggage before and after the check-in and check-out will make the place way better. Also, in shared rooms there isn't any place to securely stored your luggage.


89%

We only stayed for one night at this hostel. But our experience there was good. We only stayed in 2 hostels in Stockholm, and they have a restriction about the time we can use the kitchen.


69%

The location is the main advantage of this hostel. The atmosphere is very poor though, not much is happening and the hostel has got generally a very negative vibe (e.g. all the limitations and posters everywhere, saying what you cannot do). The staff is quite rude - they randomly enter your room (without knocking) to check up on you. Hello - this is not some elementary school trip!!


80%

There are too many flies in the restroom area and no luggage storage area.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Hostel is clean and safety. There is a small kitchen on the 2nd floor. There are also good and clean bathrooms and toilets on each floor. Reception works only up to 15:00,so if you arrive later you will find only key and all instructions waiting you in the special-named envelope. It is a bit uncomfortable as you feeling like living in empty hostel,but you can check all information about city by free internet connection and city map and next day ask reception about help.


69%

Very clean and comfortable hostel! We stayed one night and enjoyed the few hours we had. Little kitchen but everything is tidied and cosy! It was not fair to forbid sleeping-bags and charge you 65Kr and not mentioning the price on the website. Big minus also for not storing any luggage after check-out :/


66%

The best location, right in the heart of old town. Good thing was that everyone has his own light and charger next to bed. However the one thing I didn't like was the fact that they automatically charged me money from my credit card for bedsheets and towels and nobody even asked us if we have our own or not.


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback