X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Archipelago Hostel Old Town Reviews

Stora Nygatan 38, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1212 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Helpful and friendly staff. Good location in the old town and close to a metro station. Even a walk from the Central Station is not that far.


89%

Archipelago hostel is in a very nice position in the center of Stockholm from which you can reach every part of the city very easily by walk (Sodermalm, Ostermalm, Nodernmalm) and it's really close to the city terminalen central station (just 10 minutes walk). You can rent sheets and towels for 75 SEK, rooms are well furnished with boxes for the luggages etc... The personnel is very kind and helpful for any kind of problem, they also organise free city tour!


66%

The staff, especially the hostel reception was very nice and helpfull. The room was so narrow that i didn't feel comfortable and so were the other 3 guests that I shared room with. The wi fi access often disconnected.


57%

Staff were unhelpful and not very knowledgeable. Security was too easy to fool. WiFi did not exist - literally the router had no cables in or out of it. Room was not cleaned during the stay. Location was great and price average. Would stay somewhere else next time

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

check in only possible at specific times, wifi didn't work when we were there (only stayed for one night and only spent a short time at the hostel). apart from that, very clean, comfortable beds, great location, great value for money compared with other places in stockholm. bright rooms with big windows.


60%

The wifi wasn't working as it should be.


91%

The best thing about this hostel are the location and the cleanliness.


83%

Was perfect for 4 girls in Stockholm for a week. There are few bathrooms but it's a small hostel so they were always free. Everything was clean but the bathroom smelled like cigarette smoke. Room was small but clean. Kitchen is nice. There was noise from the street on weekends but nothing too bad & earplugs helped. There were many old men staying there and it was awkward sharing showers with them so I would recommend an age limit for the hostel or at least separate facilities for men & women.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your input and your stay with us About the cigarette smoke we have contact the owner of the house about it to check from where it come. We will never put a age limit in our Hostel we think what's amazing is that it is all age in our Hostel.. The showers and toilets you can lock and we had never, never had problem in our Hostel about that. The group of men you met where here for a conference / Management

69%

Location was PERFECT, but that was about it. You have to rent sheets, room was tiny, you can barely move but it was ok because we used the room only for sleeping. Shower was AWFUL. You have to push the button in every 5 seconds to get water. SERIOUSLY. Staff was nice, we left our luggage there after the check out and they said that we have to get our stuff before 6. We were there at 5.30 but no one was there and lights were off. What if someone couldve stole our stuff? Gladly that didnt happen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! About the water is about environmental awareness and regarding your luggage, we are never liable over someone's luggage. If you want to feel 100% safe, there is a note at the front desk calling to lock them up at Central Station.

83%

Located in the very old town (Gamla stan), 1 minute to T-bana Gamla stan, 5 minutes to the Royal Palace. Staff were nice & always ready to help (gave me an advice where to have lunch and let me leave luggage at reception till I have a train to an airport). The room #10 for 4 people is pretty good, a bit small, furnished with bunk beds (that honestly creak & get shaken by any move), two chairs, a folding table & a locker (padlocks for rent- 20, SEK). WiFi was not available during my 3-night stay


1 2 Next » last »
(30 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback