X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Archipelago Hostel Old Town Reviews

Stora Nygatan 38, Stockholm, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1243 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The girl at the reception was GREAT! :)


89%

This was a great place to stay in Stockholm! The location, right in the heart of old town, can't be beat, and the staff were beyond kind. The showers are not the greatest layout, but they are SPOTLESS. Indeed, the whole hostel was clean as a whistle. I would certainly reccomend this to anyone looking for a safe, centrally located hostel. Only downside would be the common area, which is rather small, and located on the second floor.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had an excellent stay in the hostel. Very central in Gamla Stan, friendly staff, clean rooms and facilities, that all we needed for our days to spend in Stockholm.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything was fine, well organized, friendly and very helpful staff. If I come back to Stockholm, I wil be your guest again. Thanks.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Best place in Stockholm and super nice. Close to everything. Very nice staff. Cozy room and fresh bathroom. We will stay there everytime in Stockholm.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very helpful staff. Very clean. Returning in a few days.


94%

Short stay, but great hostel nevertheless. Our room (private two bed) was very close to the bathroom, so it got a bit loud in the morning, but overall the stay was very comfortable, and the location - unbeatable!

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Even though it is located in the heart of the old town of Stockholm, an area thronged with tourists during the day, this hostel provided a great night's sleep, with little street noise to be heard ... thanks to double glazing. The facilities are Spartan, as expected, but there could be no complaints in relation to cleanliness. The lady staff member was professional and courteous. I very much enjoyed my stay and would heartily recommend the Archipelago to others.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean. Easy to find from train station. Stayed again a few days later.


57%

Sewage was getting cleaned in the morning, this is something they know about due to the fact that it happens every month or a few times a week. Rather then letting us know the night before NOT to sleep with the windows open because of the HORRIBLE smell they did nothing. When someone brought it up they acted like it wasnt a big deal....

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great place in the middle of all the action, would stay there again in a heartbeat.


89%

very good location in gamla stan (old town) close to the metro station (which you do not hear)! staff was very nice and the hostel is clean. We liked to stay here. Only disadvantage was the wash-bowl in the corridor in front of our room.


71%

Reception is nice and humble, the place is quiet and serene. Not really to meet people, but to have a quiet stay without losing too much money. Bathroom and toilets are like what you are used to in hostels.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a great time there. Quite nice hostel and staff!


86%

Lot of stairs but easy stairs. Reading light did not work . Showers were small and a little slippery. Overall a nice homely feeling.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The location in excellent!!! Walking distance from everything! Great cafés and minimarkets around. You have a real problem with the WiFi. It went out every day at 21:00 and never worked again till the next morning when someone from the reception arrived. (3 nights) This is very important for travelers. On the other hand, they don't have a common room, just the kitchen. The kitchen is also an important matter, it was poorly equipped to cook or clean.


80%

Extremely good for the cheap price. The overall experience was good for us. We stayed in Stockholm during the weekend and we had a very good time. The location of the hostel is perfect it's close to the most of things but also with a metro station just around the corner if you need it. The girl in the reception was very friendly, we liked her alot! Beds are comfortable and bathrooms were fresh. The kitchen was ok. I'll probably return to this hostel. Only big minus is that the WiFi didn't work.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks a lot for you review..Now wifi are fixed

97%

Helpful and friendly staff. Good location in the old town and close to a metro station. Even a walk from the Central Station is not that far.


89%

Archipelago hostel is in a very nice position in the center of Stockholm from which you can reach every part of the city very easily by walk (Sodermalm, Ostermalm, Nodernmalm) and it's really close to the city terminalen central station (just 10 minutes walk). You can rent sheets and towels for 75 SEK, rooms are well furnished with boxes for the luggages etc... The personnel is very kind and helpful for any kind of problem, they also organise free city tour!


66%

The staff, especially the hostel reception was very nice and helpfull. The room was so narrow that i didn't feel comfortable and so were the other 3 guests that I shared room with. The wi fi access often disconnected.


(43 results)


View all Stockholm Hostels

Please give us your feedback