X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Arco Youth Hostel A&A Reviews

C/Arc de Santa Eulalia N.1, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1568 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Fantastic place to stay. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast included. Highly recommend

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything was great except the atmosphere. As long as you're looking for a more laid back hostel and not a party hostel to meet a lot of people, you won't be disappointed.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It was written that hostel was freshly renovaded. but one can't see it at all.. dirty bathrooms and lazy staff.


83%

nice people, fantastic location

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Was nice place to stay very clean. Free towels are a bonus, safe area and easy to walk to the beach!


94%

Stayed in Arco for 4 nights, can highly recommend it! Had a good night's sleep every night in the comfortable beds (and a hostel with GOOD pillows). The breakfast is obviously not a hotel breakfast, which no one should expect at a hostel, but it was more than enough for me. The wifi works great and the place is quiet and calm. PERFECT location for a first time visit to Barcelona. Ask the staff for advice of where to eat tapas;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Emelie, thanks a lot for your words. We hopr to see you soon in Barcelona again. Arco Youth Hostel staff

63%

Good location but not awesome atmosphere. Kitchen ok if not many people want to cook, breakfast ok, good lockers. Security is lacking I think, you can't even lock your room from outside (no keys...).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sara, thanks a lot for your words. We hopr to see you soon in Barcelona again. Arco Youth Hostel staff

97%

The staff was wonderully cheerful and helpful. When we come back to Barcelona we will be staying here again!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Christopher, thanks a lot for your words. We hopr to see you soon in Barcelona again. Arco Youth Hostel staff

71%

Decent hostel with kitchen, good internet, cleaned daily. Not so safe though: dorms can be locked only from inside but have no keys to open them from outside (so unless you have a whole room, you can't do it!). Lockers are average size but ok. We had an unpleasant experience with a very drunk Russian who entered the hostel twice and bothered people.. Seriously, they could check who enters the hostel! Luckily the police took him away. Apart from that, it's ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sara, thanks a lot for your words. We sorry about the drunk person, we do all the best to do not disturb other people. We hope to see you soon in Barcelona again. Arco Youth Hostel staff

91%

Excellent location, but not noisy at all... Staff were very nice and hostel felt very secure.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Damian, thanks a lot for your words. We hopr to see you soon in Barcelona very soon Arco Youth Hostel staff

86%

we stayed at hostel palermo because we booked a twin private room. great hostel for barcelona. excellent location - one minute away from las ramblas. friendly staff. private rooms had a sink in them and multiple outlets (unlike other hostels in spain). rooms were cleaned, sheets changed, and new towels provided every day. clean bathrooms. one big factor that hostels don't tell you -- the wifi in this hostel actually works in the rooms, whereas in many other hostels, it only works in the lounge.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Emelie, thanks a lot for your words. We hopr to see you soon in Barcelona again. Arco Youth Hostel staff

74%

I did a Hostelworld search for hostels with twin room, and free breakfast. Arco was one of a dozen results. Only if you expand the info text do you see that for private room breakfast is "optional". Optional means not available -- neither for free nor for $. Manager explained private rooms are in separate building with no breakfast room, but the main building is almost next door and I said I could walk. No said manager, private room gets free sheets instead. But good location and elec outlets.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Chris, thanks a lot for your words. All the info is in the website, we hope to see you soon in Barcelona again. Arco Youth Hostel staff

86%

The Hostel is quiet, very well located, just off La Rambla, tourist artery of the city. The premises are clean, breakfast is good. The tip is to eat for free in one of the bars next to the hostel, just buy consumption.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tessier, thanks a lot for your words. We hopr to see you soon in Barcelona again. Arco Youth Hostel staff

66%

I have bed bug bites all over my body. Clean the mattress!!! Pronto!

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your message. We inform you that we disinfect EVERY WEEK. Surely if you visited the beaches, you've been bitten there, as we have not had any other event of this nature for a long time. Arco Youth Hostel

89%

The front desk staff has been very helpful and friendly. The hostel is in a very good location, near to the metro and to the touristic places. The room and the toilets were very clean. The door didn't close from the inside so we used a table. Our room had an opening communicating with the room nearby. The breakfast was a little poor but for us was ok. I strongly recommend this hostel.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good location! Toilets and rooms were clean, the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. The staff is very nice and helpful. Our room didn't have a lock on the inside (so we used the table :P ) and the breakfast is all right, even if it's not excellent. We enjoyed our stay and will come back in the future :)

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The coverlet is not provided, you must have your own sleeping bag or pay 2,5 EUR!!!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your words. All the information is in principal page, please read it before book again. Free WIFI, free breakfast and a very nice hostel, Regards,

69%

I had a nice stay at Arco Youth Hostel. It's a typical backpacking hostel I would say (hippielike wall paitings included!). There's room for improvement when it comes to cleanliness, though. I found hair on my beed sheets, which wasn't very nice. But in general i liked it.Staff was nice and friendly and the kitchen facilities were all right. It had a nice and relaxed atmosphere. Good location if you want to be close to the touristic places and city centre.


60%

It was a cheap stay, but the rooms didn't have locks on the doors and the beds were too close together. I had some guys feet in my face all night. Not to mention the showers were absolutely disgusting. Bed linens aren't included, yet a towel is? It just doesn't make sense. Breakfast is included, but is basically only an apple and a bowl of cereal.


69%

I enjoyed my stay here. Thanks so much to Hector for all of his information! It was much appreciated.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback