Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arctic Adventure Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

Very clean overall. Staff are nice. I really liked the large, recently renovated kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
6.3

My only issue with this place is it lacks the traveler backpacker family atmosphere and sense of community. There is local Alaskan people living here in the hostel long term paying mothly rates. This made the hostel seem sketchy and more like a cheap motel. $32 is too expensive for what you get here. To conclude, great location, very clean, and wifi is solid. If I was to visit Alaska again I would not stay here again. There are nice hotels in town walking distance for $60.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
6.9

The drunk lady running up and down the stairs screaming at 3 am was kind of annoying. I was glad when the cops finally came and hauled her away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Sep 2016
7.1

Location was great with most things we needed within walking distance, but the kitchen was averagely cleaned. Sticky dirty floors, yes they want you to take your shoes off but whip out a mop every now and then! My partner and I got a private room which had a small tv, queen bed and room was just big enough. Temperature control wasn't great in the room! This place got the job done but was not overly enjoyable!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Boo5981
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
6.0

If you are looking for a friendly, social and easy-going hostel then this is not for you. The place is a little sterile and lacks atmosphere. Due to the signs everywhere telling you what you aren't allowed to do and the cost should you disobey it creates a very frosty atmosphere and almost like everyone is afraid to speak. We cancelled one of our nights & booked elsewhere because of this. That said if you don't want to socialise, keep to yourself and feel secure then this place will suit you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
9.7

Staff always helpful. We were issued towels and told how to handle food items. The rooms were clean as were the bathrooms. Hugh kitchen to handle a lot of folks and the waffles were wonderful!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
8.0

Location would be good for rei and other shopping, but not the best of neighborhoods and not convenient for exploring downtown. Moose's Tooth pizza and brewery is amazing and is close enough. Hostel felt more like a clean, cheap hotel. They require you to be shoeless. Beds were comfortable. There were only two beds at least in my room. Kitchen was huge and breakfast smelled good (didn't partake though). Didn't seem to be much social interaction going on. Security could be improved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
10.0

시간을 잘 보냈습니다^^ 깨끗하고 편한 호스텔. Had a great time staying here. Clean and comfortable hostel. Good price too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
8.6

This hostel was clean and very conveniently located. We arrived very late ( at 1am ) for check-in and there were no issues at all as we had someone at the front desk who gave us he key. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
9.4

Our stay at Artic Adventure was delightful. The owner was so helpful by letting us know exactly where to go and how to get there. The Northern Lights were rumored to be visible the nights we arrived, and he offered to knock on our door if he spotted them during the wee hours of the night. For 2 girls from Florida, that was a big deal:) I would highly recommend Artic Adventure for anyone who is traveling through Anchorage!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.