X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arden House Coogee Reviews

302 Arden Street Coogee, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
28 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

We really loved our stay at Arden house!! I want to especially thank Dave for making us feel very warmly welcomed. :-) Excellent facilities, especially in the kitchen with its containers for every room in the fridge and cupboard! Everything was very clean and well managed, and the staff in general was really pleasant. Whole place had a lovely atmosphere and I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys peace and quiet.The only little downside was loud traffic noises because of poor soundproofing.

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic guesthouse, me and my friend enjoyed our stay very much! Dave was very warm and friendly and the guesthouse was way beyond our expectations. The location of the guesthouse was the best too as it was near everything, especially the beach!

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The rooms are small and furniture is old, but in general the accomodation is good.


83%

I enjoyed staying at Arden House, It was quiet and friendly, staff helpful, the place clean, showers hot & strong and the price reasonable. The kitchen good and food storage great. All in all a good place to stay.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

The owner David was amazing. The location was tremendous. It is not a typical hostel, it feels like a more comfortable home than hostel.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly host - David. More than happy to cater for my needs, always with a friendly smile, helping me extend my stay when I ran into accommodation difficulties. very organised and good cooking facilities as well as pleasant dining area. Would like to have used outside area more because it was nice but unfortunately it was too cold in July. Showers and bathrooms were very clean and nice, so to was the bedroom which had a TV and ample space for clothing and suitcases. Would recommend to all!

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic! The hostel was very clean & absolutely the best location! Great service! I would definitely stay here again. Thank you! Cheers.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great stay! Good value for money. Friendly owner.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Well maintained kitchen and bathrooms and very friendly staff.


100%

I had a fantastic stay! The hostel is super clean, the owner very friendly and accommodating. It's a top location, less than 5 minutes walk to the beach and shops.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent value for money Hostel. I highly recommend it to people who want calm and nice place. Very good for couples.


94%

Really good place to stay,spacious rooms and just 5 minute walk from coogee beach.really enjoyed our stay and good value for money

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

On hot days an A/C might be very helpful gicen the air circulation with one small window is not sufficient to cool the room down.


71%

This is a good place to stay. The owner is helpful and the kitchen is clean. But it is a bit far from the CBD.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We loved our stay at The Arden House! For our full review see: http://justpassthrough.com/2014/01/28/review-the-arden-house/

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a fantastic place to stay. We loved our time here. Location was perfect, house was very welcoming, nice and clean. Really helpful staff. Would recommend it 100%!!

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Arden House! Really close to the beach and shops and only a short bus ride into centre of Sydney. Kitchen very clean and spacious and washing facilities v.good. The atmosphere was welcoming, the owner, David, couldn't have been more helpful!


97%

Nice relaxing quiet guesthouse close to the beach. Really large kitchen with everything you need which is kept very clean. Close to bus stops and shops. Landlord is very welcoming.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It is an excellent place to stay with a great value for money relation! It is clean (especially the bathrooms), it has a very big kitchen with everything you need and rooms are spacious enough for 2 people but they need some more heating. The manager is super helpful and friendly and Coogee Beach is one of the best beaches in Sydney. You can't get anything better than this for that money.


100%

Best place to stay in Coogee!!

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Sydney Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback