Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arena Hostel Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Jul 2017
6.3

It's very close to the arena but quite far from the city center. If you are going to a concert or event in the arena, it's the perfect choice. Nice common areas

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
8.3

My primary motivation for staying here was its proximity to friends in north Hamburg. It was only an okay hostel experience, but it works pretty well if you only plan to use it as a base of operations. Being farther from Hamburg city, it doesn't attract the outgoing, multi-national crowd most other hostels have, and that hurt the atmosphere. I didn't have a casual conversation with anyone in the 5 days I was there. Easy lockers and convenient facilities are a plus, though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jun 2017
5.4

The rooms are very clean, the beds are good, but you will not feel like in a backpapers hostel at all. The location situated in an industrial zone and you will have to walk 20 min to find a shop. But the worst thing is by far the staff: I have never been treated so badly. The hostel is managed by a couple around 50-60 years old, and already on the phone the guy was very unpleasant; then it was the woman who seems to not like young people who treated us like little children.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
4.6

Terribly disappointed by the staff and the location. The girl at the reception is barely able to speak english and is just able to say "Nein, Nein nein!!!" I don't recommend this Hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • molberk
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jun 2017
8.0

The staff were very kind and all of our interactions with them were pleasant. The kitchen was pretty well stocked with pots and pans. The doors to bedrooms do not lock behind you, but the lockers in the room have built in locks. There could have been another outlet or two in the room to accommodate all the people staying in it, but overall a pleasant stay. Inside it does get pretty warm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
9.1

The fact that this hostel was far from the city center was not a problem at all; it was right next to an S-bahn station, making it easily accessible to any part of the city. The hostel was very clean and had great facilities. The staff were super accommodating with our late check in/early check out times that were outside their regular reception hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
9.7

Excellent, clean, close to railway, 20 minutes to the center. great staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th May 2017
7.7

Generally a nice hostel, facility-wise, and super clean. But the "hostel vibe" is missing. The hostel is in an industrial area in the outskirts of Hamburg, with car rental shops and office buildings as our closest neighbours. Very weird place for a hostel and it doesn't really make it a place you want to hangout, as it's so far away from everything (except the football stadion). We also found it a bit cheap of them to charge you for using the bedsheets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.4

Great location close to the stadium and very close to the train station into the city. Clean and good spot to stay. They like to crank the heat on a little too much so the main areas are extremely warm but if you have windows open in your room then you're good to go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Apr 2017
6.3

Enough to sleep, basically. It was clean. Not good to meet people. The kitchen doesn't have oven.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.