Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1998 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1998 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • cbarra3205243
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.1

Good hostel, has a really nice swimming pool and bar. It located a few blocks from the center of La Fortuna. Atmosphere was very good. One big issue, trundle beds were not comfortable. When sleeping on the upper part, every time you moved, you felt and heard the bed moving side to side (like if it had a flimsy structure). Still I would recommend it due to its atmosphere, bar and staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
8.6

Backpackers resort is a great spot! Met tons of great people, travelling and doing the same thing on the same vibes. Food was great at the hostel and very reasonably priced. Glad to see the bar was great too and that it stayed open until 11. Great pool, Volleyball nets and hammocks made it easy to chill there and the views are spectacular

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.1

Youthful vibe- lively but not so wild you can't chill. Tasty good value food on site. Pool looked good although I didn't have time to go in as so much to do and see in the area! If you want to visit some hot springs, the free natural ones in the river Tabacon (across the road from the expensive Tabacon spa) are great- we went in the evening and saw fireflies/glow-worms. Be careful about getting in as there are rocks under some parts of the mini waterfall (1 metre high) and a current.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.4

Chill atmosphere and the great staff will help you with anything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.6

The plug situation sucked, but most hostels here do. Only in the bathroom. NO BUGS in the common area or rooms what a god send 👌🏼. Very sociable ! People at the front not too friendly tho, food is good and reasonably priced at about $6 or 3300 colones.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.0

Chose this Hostel for the close proximity to all the activities in the Arenal area. They have a great bar and common area but the rooms could use a little work. We booked a private deluxe twin and the bed was comfortable but the room is bare minimum. No worries though...just reminds you to get out and enjoy the sights!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
8.9

Pros: Beautiful facilities with lots to do, great staff, in-house restaurant/bar, nice atmosphere for socializing/hanging out/meeting new people. There are two women on-site who can book any excursions you want to go on and the prices are fair. The dorm rooms are very clean AND there is A/C!!! Cons (?): This is a party atmosphere. They say that the bar/pool area closes at 11:00 but that is not true, the partying often goes on later in the night. Something to keep in mind if you want some sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
8.3

The front desk staff was pretty grumpy and not very flexible but the girl running the tours was so so nice and helpful and great attitude. I stayed in a private room and it's an absolute waste of money it wasn't very nice at all and very run down for what I paid for it. So stay in the dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
10.0

My first hostel experience. What an awesome time. The people who work there were very nice and helpful... they learned my name and even gave me a free drink or two. Highly recommend. Pool area, slackline, Vball court, hammock setup were all awesome. The drinks and food on site were actually cheaper and tastier than in La fortuna. Shoutout to the hombres, the two Mary's, and Kimberly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Apr 2017
9.7

We had a private room with a bathroom and balcony. The room was clean and had a good size, the matratze verry comfty and from the balcony you could see the Arenal volcano. We even had a AC and TV. The pool is nice and is way bigger than on the pictures. The only thing that is missing at the pool are parasols. The breakfast is verry delicious and it's actually a lot of food on the plate..... in the end reviewing everything this could be easily a hotel. Go there and enjoy it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.