Hostelworld.com

Arenal Backpackers Resort

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
Arenal Backpackers Resort Located at 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, , La Fortuna.
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 00000 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano
84% 1403
10.4699983 -84.6502000
Arenal Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.1

Very secure, nice to have a pool with long hours (8am-11pm!) Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. No hot water in ensuite bathrooms (only in communal showers). Lobby area was chill, the bar had happy hour 4-10pm with decent specials. Would be nice to have a kitchen or fridge access to save money on dining out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.7

Arenal Backpackers was a great place to stay! Good location, the rooms were so clean and spacious, with lockers available. Facilities were great and the mini restaurant had great food! Staff were so friendly and helpful. Overall great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
6.6

Nice hostel set up, shame about the staff. The manager was incredibly rude barking orders at us. Furthermore there was one incredibly stressed girl running the bar and resteraunt on her own while three people stood in reception watching her and doing nothing! Very lazy ! The pool was lovely after a long day travelling and rooms were clean, resteraunt and bar reasonably priced compared to the surrounding area

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Apr 2016
4.6

A too posh for its own good hostel, with terrible staff and zero atmosphere. Seems to be suitable for anti social wannabes who really want a hotel. And no kitchen???

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Apr 2016
8.9

This place was great, had a great atmosphere. The pool was awesome, as was the bar/restaurant. Prices were all quite reasonable, and the food was pretty good. My only issue here was the staff. Some of them were great, the girl we booked our tours with was awesome, she was super helpful and friendly. However, at one point I went to ask a question about the free hot springs, and the man who I asked first ignored me for his cell phone, and then laughed at my question. Other than that place was nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

Solid spot

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2016
9.7

Excellent place to stay. Friendly service. Clean rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sarahelyse1281
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.7

I only stayed here one night as I was just passing through. My short time here was very enjoyable and super laid back. It had a great atmosphere and vibe. There is a bar with yummy food. The swimming pool and hammocks were awesome. The staff was super helpful and accommodated me when I wanted to upgrade to private room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel, extremely clean, lockers available in the room and key card lock to the dorm room. Air con only available 10pm - 10am but that was fine for us as we were out in the day. Great communal area and pool. Bar fairly cheap and decent breakfast and food selection.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • crhughes1970
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.0

Good hostel. Safe met lots of people, pool a nice bonus though the majority of staff weren't too helpful and there is no kitchen

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.