Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Arenal Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Arenal Backpackers Resort Located at 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, , La Fortuna.
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 00000 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano
86% 1525
10.4699983 -84.6502000
Arenal Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jul 2016
8.9

Great hostel with a fun atmosphere and a great pool and bar area, hammocks, many bathrooms/showers, and comfy clean rooms. A few things: no kitchen, no free breakfast, and a 10% extra charge for paying with a credit card (not sure if that was because I had a large reservation too or what). Also, freezing room at night but you can fix that by closing the vent to the air conditioner. You have to pay for towels and the room key and the food there so you may end up spending more than you plan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jul 2016
10.0

Nothing to complain about - this place was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
8.6

Atmosphere was great, food and drinks were cheap and very good. Staff was helpful, really felt a resort!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.3

Nice pool and chill out area with slack lines. Dorm rooms with only one bathroom between 12 people is a bit annoying when everyone is getting up at the same time, and the hostel is a little bit of a walk from town, but otherwise all good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2016
7.4

This hostel is located well with a nice pool and bar area. The staff are helpful with booking tours and our double room was spacious with air con. However, what really let them down was the cleanliness. Our room was never cleaned and the bin never emptied - thankfully we were only staying a couple of nights. We weren't told at reception when we arrived this wouldn't happen so we didn't know anything about if we were meant to do it. Also, our bathroom smelt from arrival.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Great property, close to everything, awesome pool. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.7

I only stayed one night but it is a very nice hostel that has great amenities. Was very clean and AC was excellent. Is a little up the road from the rest of town, but easy walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
9.7

Felt more like resort than a hostel. Well worth it !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
8.9

We loved the fun but relaxing atmosphere you had to offer and the close proximity to many different restaurants, attractions, etc. The only complaint I have is the cushions on futons/couches in the main area where you can lounge have a very strong odor to them. They smell of sweat and mildew! I didn't sit on them for that reason. For as many travelers you get and the amount of rain, you really need to wash the cushions & pillow cases (or replace them entirely). A few others thought the same.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
7.7

Lovely hostel, shared rooms were great and facilities were good (unless youre looking for a kitchen - you can only buy food from the bar). Bar food is similar priced to most restaurants nearby. Downside: can't buy your own food to eat in the common area. Staff were unfriendly to the point of being rude, which is so disappointing considering how great the rest of the experience was.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.