Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2074 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2074 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
6.9

Great pool and bar area... but the music didn't stop until after 2am & if you are in a room nearby you can't escape the noise! Power went out at 2am one night. The ac leaked water all over the room and construction work started at 8am on Saturday morning. Wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
9.4

This was the best hostel we stayed at in Costa Rica. It was social and fun, there were tons of people to meet, the restaurant and bar were affordable and good, the pool was just so refreshing on a humid day, absolutely great. The air con only turns on at night, which was a downside, but we just beat the heat by getting in the pool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • spenceh82
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Personally, I loved this place. I would recommend it to anyone looking for value for money in a great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2017
6.9

We stayed in the tent, it was very noisy at night until 11PM, which is annoying as we needed to sleep to catch an early all day tour/event. I found this hostel very cheap as the bathrooms didn't have hand dryers or towels, wifi didn't work well if you weren't in the reception/restaurant area, and our tent was not touched by a cleaning service. Would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jun 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels i have ever stayed in! the pool was so good - cheap drinks and cheap food! rooms were very clean and air conditioned. had a lovely balcony. met some great people! the staff were really nice to. very pleased.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
9.7

A great hostel - friendly and helpful staff, very secure and our room was spotless. The food was also good - huge portions!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Jun 2017
7.7

Could be great but at the moment it's only OK. Staff not the friendliest, the bathrooms weren't kept clean and food just average (although drinks were great haha). Bit of a walk from town but the grounds are nice with a pool and big lawned area. Can book onwards trips although more expensice to do so here vs. in town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2017
3.7

I was expecting a backpackers hostel and this was not the case. Backpackers travel on a budget, therefore the hostels should have kitchens to cook in. As well, there was no towels in the hostel but you could buy one for $10!! That's the highest I've ever seen at a hostel. Lastly, I booked a mixed dorm, they messed up my reservation so my male friend had to sleep in a separate dorm without the people he came with. They barely apologized and didn't offer any consolation.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Jun 2017
8.3

The security is A1 in this hostel. The staff is nice and there is a party vibe. Being on a backpack trip, I like to be able to make myself some food. There is no kitchen in this hostel and since there is a bar/restaurant on site, we are not even allowed to bring food from a take-out restaurant. This was the biggest issue of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2017
9.1

Nice high standard hostel really clean ! Big garden with a great swimming pool and Breakfast is cheap. However we stayed in the tent and it was way too hot and noisy as the music is on until 12 at the reception and around the pool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.