X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arenal Backpackers Resort Reviews

350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1085 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

We paid extra for the private room. It was spacious and the air conditioning worked well. The safe didn't work, the balcony door did not lock, there was frequently just no hot water, the remote for the TV was missing and no towels were provided. We had to ask three times for towels after which we were handed hand towels and told that they had no body towels left. What frustrated us most was the lack of care Michael, the manager expressed when we politely expressed our grievances.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, bit between the town and the volcano and other activities. Town is still walkable, but walk on past the first few places to get non touristy prices for food. Prices for food and drinks at the hotel are really good. It does get loud and stay loud late, so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. The pool and hammocks are almost worth the stay by themselves. The tour desk operator is great as well. Please put up some hooks in the shower stalls for clothes though.


83%

5 star backpackers for sure. Great atmosphere, fantastic pool, clean rooms comfy beds and a relaxing bar area.Music loud till 11pm, then starts up again at 7am. No problem for most but if you want an early night, you'll not get it. Would be helpful if there was access to a dryer as the weather was wet and humid and there was no where to dry our clothes.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel was very charming. The staff very friendly and helpful. We were pleased with secured parking and lockers provided to put our things away. The camping tents were perfect, comfortable and a great value. The showers were hot, clean and no wait each day. The food was delicious and the drinks cheap! The atmosphere was a little more party all night with loud music and good times lasting well in to the night but it was fun! We wouldn't have changed a thing. Great proximity to all sites.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

I didn't like my stay in this place as the staff is not friendly at all and it is very noisy. The room was clean but they were almost no paper toilet left (not very handy!) and no shampoo or bath product in the bathroom. We also had to ask for towels are there were not. I don't recommand this place.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice facility although should be made a rule that doors and windows are not to be left wide open, makes the door a bit pointless when anyone could climb through, we had problems with a boy who insisted on having the window wide open 24/7 which we feel decreased the security of our room

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

What a beautiful hostel. Honestly the prettiest one we have been to in Costa Rica. A large group of us booked and arrived late because of the bus and the security still found us a place to stay. If there is a chance you will arrive after office hours make sure you let them know and bring your real passport so that they have some collateral.


91%

I loved all the cool stuff to do outside like the slack line, basketball hoop, monkey bars and pool

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

the hostel was very nice but the staff needs improvement. Not much personality from staff and it took a long time to check in.


89%

Good hostel.


74%

We had the 3-person tent and were a little disappointed that our beds were just mattresses on the ground (2-person tents have a bed) but loved the fact to stay in a tent :) The backpackers hostel is very beautiful looking, with a nice pool and sun beds. You can chill at the reception and order good food! Not all showers are warm so try several to have a warm one. They say that around 22:00 everything would be quiet but it wasn't and unfortunately you'll here everything in a tent ;)


77%

Pros: I loved staying in a tent (keep in mind it's not air conditioned though). Slacklining over the pool! Nice lounge area. Cons: No free breakfast. A bit of a walk from the town center compared to other hostels, but not bad. Ran out of toilet paper.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This place was great! The rooms were very clean and everyone gets their own bathroom in their room. The pool was awesome with surrounding hammocks and a fun slack line! The communal area was great with good food and cheap drinks! The people at the reception were very helpful and would always give good advice and help book adventures! Would recommend this hostel to anyone going to La Fortuna it was defiantley one of my favorite hostels in Costa Rica!


89%

This hostel had the amenities of a bar/restaurant and a pool (but no free breakfast), but I found it difficult to meet people. There wasn't much of a community vibe which made it difficult to find people to do activities with.


89%

The personnel at the front desk is very friendly and helpful.


86%

The staff could be a bit more helpful in helping with what to do in the area, instead of just pointing us to the big book of activities. Put in some heart and the reviews will be more positive!


89%

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us get better deals on a few of the tour activities and pointed us to some pretty inexpensive activities to do on our own.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

I booked this hostel mainly because of the tent feature. Given that, I figured the environment would be quiet and relaxing. Wrong. Heads up, this is mainly a place for young partygoers. The music is loud and won't shut off until 10. There is a bar and restaurant in the hostel, which happy hour is decent. However, breakfast is not included and the prices at the restaurant are high. Lastly, the staff weren't that welcoming and often seemed more interested in DJing the songs than helping guests.


97%

Super clean and worth your money! Fun environment and great location!

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This place is the closest thing to a resort you will find on a backpacker's budget. Huge lawn area, a nice swimming pool, plenty of hammocks, an inviting lounge area outside to nap/talk/drink in, and the rooms were always clean. Great place to meet fellow travelers to plan some great adventures in La Fortuna/Arenal.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all La Fortuna Hostels

Please give us your feedback