Hostelworld.com

Arenal Backpackers Resort

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,473 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,473 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
Arenal Backpackers Resort Located at 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, , La Fortuna.
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 00000 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano
85% 1473
10.4699983 -84.6502000
Arenal Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.9

Facilities are great but some of the staff were terrible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.0

This was an awesome hostel, we were lucky to have been vacationing with other awesome people and it made the place more fun. 1 staff member at the reception was quite rude to my friend and I as we were asking a lot of questions but this staff member was quite impatient. Special shoutout to Cesar, kitchen staff member, he was so helpful and quite nice. At the end of the day, its really the people you travel with that makes your trip special and this hostel was the catalyst to meet amazing people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jun 2016
9.1

Great place! So clean! Pool was lovely and bar area was really cool! Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
7.4

It is a nice hostel but some of the staff is not as friendly as i would have expected. They are just alright. One of the guy is super mean and grumpy. The room is way too humid. The bed wiggles all the time. It is impossible to sleep on the top of the bunk bed. There isn't a kitchen to use in the hostel, so we have to buy food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
8.9

Arenal Backpackers Resort definitely did not feel like a hostel. Their facilities are clean and convenient. Their restaurant/bar is a little expensive, but it's definitely worth it (try their nachos!). They say their air conditioning turns on from 10 pm to 10 am; however, ours did not function correctly when it was first supposed to kick on and did not stay open until 10 am. There are no fans and their only window opens up an entire wall basically. Their staff was so-so.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jun 2016
9.7

Great place, with awesome facilities and a really friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Rooms were clean and simple, and the communal spaces were great and perfect for meeting other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
10.0

Great place! My favorite hostel out of my whole stay. Matched the pictures and looked like a hotel. I definitely enjoyed my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
8.0

Pool was amazing and beds are really comfortable with AC. Was a little weird to see that there's kitchen. Probably cause they wanted you to buy the food at the bar which was extremely expensive. The atmosphere there attracts more people who come for a short break rather then a long backpacking trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
8.6

Great hostel if you're looking for a social experience. The bar was convenient and there were always people hanging out by the pool. Staff was helpful to book tours. Overall was pretty clean. Great value for how cheap it was!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rustyleeleonard3033
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th May 2016
9.1

Best location in La Fortuna.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.