Hostelworld.com

Arenal Backpackers Resort

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1873 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1873 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Stay here if you visit Arenal its awesome! The only downside is it is close to a busy road and if you are a light sleeper you wont sleep here if you get a tent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Slack lines, basketball, and young friendly guests and staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
9.7

Loved this place. Although I was pumped to get a bottom bunk only to find that there was not enough room to sit on your bed and go through your stuff, you would hit your head on the top bunk. Loved the blankets and the single beds felt really big for some reason. You also get two pillows. Amazing gluten free pasta and a really cute kitty that lives there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.6

Hostel was very clean. Staff wasn't very helpful and not the friendliest. They ran out of towels and couldn't provide us with any. Everything was very clean and had a good atmosphere. We stayed in the tents and they were a good quality for the value. Unfortunately it was very rainy and we were unable to use the pool and none of our clothing dried. Food was good and reasonably priced.. would have been nice to have access to a kitchen. Would probably try the dorms next time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
8.6

Very good hostel, although not the "5 star" they advertise. Stayed in the 8 bed mixed dorm. Beds were very close together and squeaky = not the best sleep. Ensuite bathroom was flooding frequently and lockers within the bathroom made for difficult access when others were using it. Great bar with decent food on site. Very social common area, great pool with lots of lounge chairs and hammocks. Good location, walkable to town, 5min drive to hot springs. Excellent wifi. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
9.1

Sweet spot!!!!!!!!!!!! Lives up to the title backpacker " RESORT ". Definitely stayed at places in a lot more sqalor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
9.1

It's in a good location, the communal areas are cute and comfortable, the restaurant is great and the front desk is open 24 hours. I booked all the tours I did with them and they gave me the best prices. The rooms themselves are not anything special, but they're clean. I had no problems here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
10.0

This is a nice hostel. The air conditioning in private room was a nice plus. The lounge is really cozy and full of cushions. There is a lot of green space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel, great pool, good deals on activities and trips (Jeep-Boat-Jeep, cerro chato volcano...). Don't book your activities anywhere else, it's cheaper at the hostel. Good food, beer not expensive, The rooms are clean and nice, with AC and lockers, would definitively recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
8.9

Great facilities like a pool and volleyball net and bar, but no kitchen so don't be fooled into thinking there is one because there definitely isn't! There were a lot of travellers there but not an overly friendly atmosphere although I did meet some good people there. It is really posh for a hostel which was a nice surprise! It's more like a hotel than a hostel with a bar and restaurant. Would recommend if you don't mind eating out every meal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.