Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2157 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2157 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Can't get a better deal for the price and the facilites are well maintained and the food and liquor prices are reasonable, overall a very happy camper!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Absolutely perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jul 2017
4.9

Pros: nice Staff, nice Pool Cons: AC did not work in our room, no lockers in our room, not WiFi in the room, not enough power outlets and far away from the beds, beds had no ladders so it was quite difficult to get up, no kitchen (or fridge), no common area except for the restaurant. Don´t know where the hostel takes the word "Resort" or "Backpacker" from. It´s neither of that, it´s more like a cheap motel (parking lot right in front of our room) I would never recommend this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jul 2017
9.4

Great pool, great vibe if your looking for fun and sociable! Slightly further (5mins) out of town but totally worth it for the space. They can organise any tour you want at competitive prices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
7.4

Lacks atmosphere, found the tours available for cheaper in the centre of fortuna. Security was very good. Food was good too. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jul 2017
9.1

Great hostel if you're staying in La Fortuna, close to town and good views of the volcano! The pool and rooms are nice but no breakfast or cooking facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • DRiley
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
10.0

Super cool hostel experience. I would definitely recommend to others and stay again if in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.1

Extremely hard not to like this place, they offer reasonably priced excursions, the staff are friendly and helpful. Food is good, decent pool and space to chill out. 12 bed dorms only have one plug which isn't ideal. But it's right under the volcano, close to town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jradovcich398
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2017
8.6

The tents were awesome... pretty stuffy though. But it was nice to have a luxury tent with bed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
8.0

Very clean hostel. Rooms were nice. Atmosphere wasn't as good as I expected but a good hostel for our two night stay in la fortuna.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.