X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arenal Backpackers Resort Reviews

350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1053 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us get better deals on a few of the tour activities and pointed us to some pretty inexpensive activities to do on our own.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

I booked this hostel mainly because of the tent feature. Given that, I figured the environment would be quiet and relaxing. Wrong. Heads up, this is mainly a place for young partygoers. The music is loud and won't shut off until 10. There is a bar and restaurant in the hostel, which happy hour is decent. However, breakfast is not included and the prices at the restaurant are high. Lastly, the staff weren't that welcoming and often seemed more interested in DJing the songs than helping guests.


97%

Super clean and worth your money! Fun environment and great location!

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This place is the closest thing to a resort you will find on a backpacker's budget. Huge lawn area, a nice swimming pool, plenty of hammocks, an inviting lounge area outside to nap/talk/drink in, and the rooms were always clean. Great place to meet fellow travelers to plan some great adventures in La Fortuna/Arenal.


97%

It's a really nice place to get some rest during backpacking. the rooms are very clean and the staff is just delightful. It's also a good place to meet other travelers and share experiences. everything there is in really good condition... we (2 girls) really enjoyed our stay there in the female dorm.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Incredible value for money - very clean and feels like a proper resort


89%

We had a great stay at this hostel. I loved the pool and bar area the most. Everything was clean and safe.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Arenal Backpackers. The staff helped us everyday to find local spots and get information for us.


77%

Very clean and the pool is really nice. Main complaint is that there is loud music playing all day long until 10pm. Also the AC only turns on from 10pm-10am and turned our room into a refrigerator even when we adjusted the temperature to as warm as possible. This is not a hostel for travelers who like to go to bed early.


91%

I stayed only one night but the atmosphere during the evening was great. I would strongly recommend this hostel for the cleanliness, value for money, location and security. The only downside is the lack of enthousiasm of the staff (one guy at the front desk).

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice hostel and welcoming employees. It's clean and cute.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Love your place. This was our second visit and the atmosphere is perfect for making friends and relaxing. Love the tents.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

It was simple dorm style rooming. Large lively complex. Restaurant is convenient, but expensive for Costa Rica. The whole town is this way though.


100%

Great location in town and view of volcano. Big hostel, nice green lawn, pool, and hammocks. Staff very helpful. The tents are roomy and comfortable, a great deal if you don't mind the noise of not being in a room. Only downside is no kitchen to cook but their restaurant is affordable and delicious :)


91%

This was a great hostel for cleanliness! Nice pool, bar, and lounge area. Very secure place as well. Showers and dorm rooms were spotless and there was air conditioning! Highly recommend. I only stayed one night and had very little time but it seemed like a great place to meet others, party, and be social.


89%

Overall the hostel was great. Good Atmosphere and facilities. Only complaint is that it can get quite loud at night. Also the price for a tent seems a little high.


94%

Very nice place, extra safe, super clean, a/c at night in the dorms is really welcomed. There is no kitchen, you have a mini restaurant/bar in the shared area. Big pool and hammocks.


94%

You can stay at the Backpackers Resort for the cost of a hostel! I was so impressed with the value for money here - one of the cleanest and nicest hostels I've ever seen. Definitely the nicest hostel in Arenal, and I would 100% recommend staying here. The staff can be a bit slow to help you at the reception, and the night time music is a bit obnoxious (repetitive), but the pool is amazing and it was easy to meet people hanging out in the lounge area.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. Location and lay out was brilliant, as was the restaurant/bar in the main area. Grounds were lovely and security made us feel safe to leave our car in the parking area. Rooms were clean and the beds the most comfortable I've ever had in a hostel. Would certainly recommend this hostel to anyone.


80%

It was social and busy, but the nonstop very loud music on a loop got a bit much to have to come back to every afternoon or night. There were lockers but the dorm rooms were left completely open during the day and often didn't even shut properly at all. The onsite bar and restaurant is very expensive but you are able to bring in your own food and drinks. The hostel advertises one tour company and people seemed to be happy about those tours.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(95 results)


View all La Fortuna Hostels

Please give us your feedback