Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,585 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,585 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Arenal Backpackers Resort Located at 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, , La Fortuna.
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 00000 350 meters west of central park, towards volcano
87% 1585
10.4699983 -84.6502000
Arenal Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Aug 2016
6.0

Staff was unhelpful and they tried to trick you into buying tours that you didn't need. They charged $75 for a tour that was only $50 at a tour place three blocks into town. They also said that you have to have a guide to do any hiking, which is just not true. We hiked Cerro Chato by ourselves and no guide was necessary. Other than the staff the environment was nice, with an excellent hammock lounge and slack line

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.6

Amazing hostel in the style of a hotel. Great pool and vibe. Only downside was no kitchen so you are forced to pay for food which is very expensive. Definitely recommend if you are willing to spend the money not cooking own meals

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.9

Great place to meet other travellers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.0

Pretty cool place to stay. The pool was awesome and food and drinks at the bar were good and inexpensive. Can book tours directly at hostel but probably cheaper to look elsewhere. There are tour places everywhere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
8.9

I agree with other reviewers about the staff not being very friendly. It would of been helpful if they gave a tour of the facilities. They failed to acknowledge me whenever I was at the counter attempting to ask a question and continued to converse amongst themselves. Other than that, it was a great price for the area and the facilities were clean for being mostly open air accommodations. My boyfriend and I stayed in a tent and enjoyed our "glamping" experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
9.1

Great experience for my first stay in a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malta, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
9.4

Great value for money. Nice pool area and clean rooms. Desk staff not very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay at Arenal Backpacker's Resort, and wish we could've stayed longer. The staff was very helpful prior to our stay because one of our group members had to cancel. They didn't make us pay for that persons' space even though it was against their policy. Rooms and bathroom were very clean. Pool and bar atmosphere were great. Felt more like a resort than a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2016
7.7

This is a really clean, spacious hostel with a pool, bar, restaurant and separate desk to help with questions on tours and the local area. Personally I found the staff whilst helpful, not very friendly and there was no kitchen facility to cook if you didn't want to eat at the restaurant or in town. The pool and the rooms however were superb- a great place to relax after some adventures in the surrounding area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Mariana Islands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
9.7

I have lived in Costa Rica for about two years now, and have never seen a hostel like this one! 5 star resort is exactly what this place is! I ended up staying two more days than planned. It has a big yard in front, plus pleny of space for parking your car. The rooms are nicely spaced out and always clean! I had an INCREDIBLE view of the Arenal Volcano. There is a slackline over the pool which entertained me for hours!! And most importantly, the food and music were great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.