Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Feb 2017
9.1

This place was great. I would recommend. The only two hiccups were that the towels are NOT free so don't wait for one. Also the staff was very rude to another guest, although they were very nice to me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.3

This hostel has a lot of hidden costs. There is no kitchen to make your own food, and the food they sell is very expensive. The pool is nice, and it almost makes up for the fact that the lockers are in the bathroom (if you need anything while someone is in the shower, too bad) and being in a room with 7 other people kind of sucks. There is AC at night, and nearly 24 hour reception. Only outlets in the rooms are also in the bathroom, seriously, everything useful is in the bathroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
8.9

Staff are very helpful in booking tours and shuttles, no real need to search elsewhere in town. No kitchen to cook your own food, which is not ideal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
6.0

Staff at the reception has not made us feel very welcomed. The AC in the room was loud and very filthy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
5.4

Although the hostel does have a cafe where you have to pay for everything down to coffee refills, there is no kitchen for guests to use, or even a place to store food. This is a staple expectation when staying at a hostel. We stayed in one of the tents and the cleanliness was fine. There was a light and power strip for use which was an added convenience. The music playing at the cafe didn't stop until 1:30am, however. I didn't get any sleep before having to wake up at 5am for a full day hike.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Stay here if you visit Arenal its awesome! The only downside is it is close to a busy road and if you are a light sleeper you wont sleep here if you get a tent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
8.9

Slack lines, basketball, and young friendly guests and staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
9.7

Loved this place. Although I was pumped to get a bottom bunk only to find that there was not enough room to sit on your bed and go through your stuff, you would hit your head on the top bunk. Loved the blankets and the single beds felt really big for some reason. You also get two pillows. Amazing gluten free pasta and a really cute kitty that lives there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.6

Hostel was very clean. Staff wasn't very helpful and not the friendliest. They ran out of towels and couldn't provide us with any. Everything was very clean and had a good atmosphere. We stayed in the tents and they were a good quality for the value. Unfortunately it was very rainy and we were unable to use the pool and none of our clothing dried. Food was good and reasonably priced.. would have been nice to have access to a kitchen. Would probably try the dorms next time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
8.6

Very good hostel, although not the "5 star" they advertise. Stayed in the 8 bed mixed dorm. Beds were very close together and squeaky = not the best sleep. Ensuite bathroom was flooding frequently and lockers within the bathroom made for difficult access when others were using it. Great bar with decent food on site. Very social common area, great pool with lots of lounge chairs and hammocks. Good location, walkable to town, 5min drive to hot springs. Excellent wifi. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.