X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arenal Backpackers Resort Reviews

350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1279 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Staff were not very friendly or helpful.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

We were very excited to stay at this hostel, but we were quickly disappointed when we arrived. The staff at the front desk were very unfriendly and didn't make us feel welcome at all. They blast music in the lobby until 11pm, which would be fine if it weren't so loud. The pictures show the tents having actual bed frames, but our tent was just thin mattresses on the floor. The pictures also show a swim up bar, but the bar is separate across the lobby. The pool was nice and the drinks were good.


100%

Awesome hostel, it feels like a resort!


54%

Way too much trouble checking in late at night, even after calling to be sure it'd be fine!! The security guard wanted to keep my passport overnight, and I had to argue with staff for 20 minutes to avoid that! Total BS. Money grabs as well, not a good experience. The only awesome part were the fellow travellers.

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

A great place to bring in the new year but we could have done with a kitchen!


63%

This hostel is very social with a huge common area with lots of comfy seating. The pool is lovely as well and so are the hammocks that surround it. The staff is quite disorganized though-- I booked an 8 bed dorm, called to change it to a private room and then when i got there they put me in a 12 person dorm. After questioning this, the management had a "tough luck" attitude. Impolite at best, offensive at worst. Another guy was assigned a bed that someone was already sleeping in. Not cool.


100%

Very nice to have a pool, bar and restaurant I think that's what makes it a 'resort' hostel. Staff were very good, I think it's worth mentioning that they have a dedicated person Bryan working there to help you book and organise stuff which is a great service to have. Dorms were ok, could do with a few hooks around, more power outlets and small lights above beds but the bed was comfortable. Food at the hostel is fairly well priced compared to town and very tasty. Overall I would recommend!


83%

The hostel was in a great location and the grounds are very nice. The gentlman in charge of tours was very nice and helpful, but you can get tours cheaper in town. However, the man that checked us in was very rude. We arrived from Monteverde early and waited till our room was ready at 2pm. It still wasn't ready at 3:30 when we decided to walk to town. The tent was nice and sheets clean, so we're restrooms. Good place to stay overall.


97%

Arenal backpackers is very nice ! There is a restaurant inside the "resort" which is good and not expensive. The dorm are clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's a good place to know some other people and have a lot of fun !

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel feels more like a spring break resort. The amenities with the pool and bar are nice but not something we were necessarily looking for when we're trying to venture out in La Fortuna. The bar constantly has party music on at all times a day. Not our vibe.


94%

Good fun, sociable backpacking hostel. It's geared towards more of a party atmosphere but it's got a great lounge / bar area to chill and chat to people.


100%

We were so impressed by the hostel we extended and stayed an extra night. A very friendly team, particularly in the restaurant/bar serving tasty and good value food, are running a great operation here. Very clean and with good facilities - would definitely recommend.

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We really only used the hostel to shower and sleep because we werw out all day exploring. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms and bathrooms very clean.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was more of a resort than any other Hostel I'd stayed out. There was a really nice bar and pool on the property. There were even two slack lines! The guys who ran the front desk at the place were kind of assholes, but overall the place was awesome.

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel was beautiful. Very open and had a great resort feeling. All of the friends we made in La Fortuna came to hang out at our hostel. We had 6 bunks in our room but there was still a ton of space and a balcony. Only issue was the staff. They were rude and pretended not to see you when you went up to the desk. The maids even went through some of our bunk mates stuff and even moved someone's entire luggage to another room when they weren't supposed to.


54%

This hostel is NOT a backpackers hostel. The staff was extremely unhelpful. They do not want you to have a good time. They only want to sell you the most profitable tours for themselves. If you don't want to do those tours they don't give you other options. They don't even have a list of tours offered or a map of the area. Additionally they were extremely unhelpful when asking simple questions like where is a good place to eat. I would not recommend to anyone as they almost ruined my time there.


60%

great hostel , there is a good vibe , huge pool, hammock , only downside is that breakfast is not included even if the room are quite expensive and there is not kitchen ... you can't being food pver in the hostel and no alccol either they want you tk buy what they sell ! at least the price for food and drinks are affordable ... staff on the other hand was not very nixe at tbe desk but the teo people in the bar/restaurent where adorable and very friendly overall everything was good


80%

We enjoyed our stay here but didn't think ir was worth 35 dollars a night to stay in a tent that was always hummid and that had a very VERY unconfortable matress. The red grabble onthe floor outside of the tents I think is also a bad idea, ir stains everything. The restaurant staff we're extremly nice with us and the pool is nice, but I think it wouls be more enjoyable if it was heated. The showers were great!

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

the front desk clerks weren't the friendliest, they only seemed to want to sell me a tour rather than give information. the common area was like a bar or a nightclub. club music was too loud. the pool was nice. the food was good and decently priced.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

The only nice thing about that place is the guy that works at the restaurant.


(92 results)


View all La Fortuna Hostels

Please give us your feedback