X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Arenal Backpackers Resort Reviews

350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
677 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Very noisy at night due to the rockoco pub across the road, especially in the tent. This was not made clear on arrival.

  • 8th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

this backpackers makes we want to turn right around and go back just to stay another week. the pool is so clean and relaxing, the food is good, the vibe is laid back. its like a social club for everyone is chilled out and friendly. some hostels are a but loud and crowded but this backpackers felt more like a resort. the staff were very friendly and had loads of patience for loads of questions. the music was even fantastic. thanks for such a nice visit. i highly suggest it.

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We stayed in one of the tents and really enjoyed ourselves. The pool was beautifully maintained and there were sunbeds available, although expensive the food and smoothies were good. The lockers provided for bags were a little small and the hostel was quite noisy until quite late at night. The bathrooms were very clean. The staff were very helpful when we wanted to book outings and the hostel prices for the outings were reasonable.


100%

This is by far the nicest hostel i ever stayed at. The rooms have air conditioned, hot water, free wifi, the restaurant is really good and pool area is lovely. Freddy & Allan are very helpful and kind. These dudes know everything about Arenal. I spent 3 nights at the hostel and i didn´t want to check out. We booked the white water rafting and canyoning and hotsprings through them because they have the lowest rates in Arenal. I would recommend this hostel to everyone. THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!!


63%

The hostel was well located. It was clean and the A/C was really appreciated. Unfortunately, staff was uninterested and unfriendly.


77%

The website is misleading. Said "all private rooms have... 2 double beds" then lists the 2 types of private rooms they have. Turns out only private room W/bathroom have 2 beds. My friend

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place. I was surprised that it really was like a 5 star hostel. Dorm rooms had nice mattresses. a/c and hot water. Pool was beautiful. Only negative was that the staff was a little snobby.

  • 27th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Couldn't possibly recommend this hostel any more - it felt like a resort paradise. Pool with swim-up bar area, good little bar/restaurant on site, close to downtown La Fortuna. They run TONS of tours out of their front desk at discounted prices (highly recommend canyoneering - that was our favourite day in CR!). No breakfast, but lots of options close by. Towels for $1. We stayed in a room (awesome), there were tents but could see how those would be really loud at night time.


89%

Overall was good and we appreciated to 11pm quiet time. only issue with the hostel is that the pillows were like sleeping on a bag of cotton balls. one issue out of the hostel's control is the noise late into the night from the surrounding bars.


91%

This hostel was amazing. We stayed in a canvas tent with a double bed, which was really nice (has two outlets, a ceiling light, and a trash bin), but the bar across the street (Rockocos) was so loud it was hard to sleep unless you were drunk or had earplugs. So I would recommend the dorm over the tent. The staff was amazing (Alan and Freddy rock and have impeccable English- I didn't speak a lick of Spanish). The pool is great and there is this great in pool bar. Great activity suggestions


97%

Had a great time and had no trouble getting anything we needed. Great food great atmosphere and very safe. Also step out of the front gate and get a beautiful view of Cerro Chat to and Arenal Volcano...priceless.


91%

We stayed in the tents here. They were cool. It's a little on the edge of town but not a bad walk.


51%

We were extremely disappointed with this "Resort." It is entirely not worth the money. While the room was clean, the staff was uninterested, unhelpful, and unapproachable. They play loud obnoxious music (popular American music) starting from 8am to 10pm-there is no quiet, tranquil place on the grounds. This was not what we thought a resort would be and spent our time away from the grounds as much as we could. Save your money and stay at a real hostel!


49%

Front desk staff was unfriendly. The tour director guy had no interest in talking with you unless you had a vagina. They charged me 10 dollars for a shuttle that they arranged but was not at the airport to pick me up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We didn't´t charge you $10 for a shuttle, we helped you arrange a taxi to pick you up and claim to be there! Our staff is willing to help our guest regardless if they are boys or girls. Hopefully next time you can see we will are as friendly with you too! ;)

97%

What makes this hostel so great is the guys in the front. They are so helpful and hysterical. They really want you to enjoy your trip and La Fortuna. The owner is lucky to have them because they are key to the hostel's success. If you are on a bit of a tighter budget, try to ask Freddy about what to do (all of them give great advice, but he really knows what is worth the money and won't lead you astray). It is super clean and a great place to chill after hiking or whatever in the morning.


89%

The bar/restaurant staff were sour and unfriendly

  • 10th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The bathroom for the dorm style room was dirtier than most other hostels I've been too. The staff was not especially friendly or even availible to talk to late in the evening.


91%

This hostel provided information for easy booking of tours and transfers. The pool area is really relaxing and the food in the restaurant was good. I stayed in tent which was ripped on the bottom therefore I was unable to fully close and lock the tent itself. The mattresses in the tent were directly on the somewhat open platform- would have been nicer if the three single bed tent mattresses were elevated like the beds in the other tents.


94%

Allen at the front desk is awesome!


100%

This was the best hostel I have ever stayed at! It truly is a 5 star hostel! I would give it 10! The staff was great and the place was clean and just amazing! I would recommend this hostel to anyone!!

  • 5th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(507 results)


View all La Fortuna Hostels

Please give us your feedback