X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arenal Backpackers Resort Reviews

350 meters west of central park, towards volcano, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
809 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Its an amazing hostel to stay.. Best value for money I have ever experienced, so clean, just great! Will recommend it to everyone who travels to la fortuna ;)

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice hostel, they should include breakfast in the rate though, at least for private rooms.


89%

Great location with an epic pool surrounded by palm trees. Food and drinks at the bar/restaurant were really pricey, had to go in town for cheap breakfast. Overall vibe was great in the common areas.


97%

Very good hostel. Came just as advertised! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely come back stay here on my next costa rica trip.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Lediglich die fehlende Küche führte zu Abzügen. Das Personal ist super freundlich und wahnsinnig hilfsbereit.


80%

Toller Pool und Aussicht auf den Vulkan, sofern es nicht bewölkt ist. Die Zimmer lassen sich allerdings nicht mit der Kreditkarte bezahlen und bei den Ausflügen verlangen Sie bei Bezahlung mit Kreditkarte 5% Zuschlag. Ansonsten alles gut.


97%

The wi-fi connection was a bit poor. It didn't work in our rooms and somethimes in the bar. Besides that i recomend it for it's facilities and location.


83%

We stayed in a double room and it had excellent views of the volcano. Really chilled out nice pool and communal area. Staff were lovely and helpful. The pizza place a few doors down was delicious and we did the Bahai spa which was worth doing so thanks for the recommendation


100%

Just an amazing place to stay. Everything from the facilities, the grounds and especially the of the volcano were fantastic. The most impressive part is the staff who make you feel at home the moment you arrive until the second you leave. They were all wonderful , friendly and knowledgable people.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Im not sure if it was the time of the year, but this hostel has the potential to be one of the greatest and it was a big flop. There was no helpful staff, they worked very selective hours. Secondly, the atmosphere was very poor. But the time of visit was late october, not exactly prime season, but still I thought the atmosphere would have at least ok. it was so quiet, too quiet.


100%

air conditioner worked incredibly well and cooled the room down very quickly. just a warning (not a complaint), there were ants in the room but they stay away unless you have unsealed food...a bit of a learning curve since we're not used to that up north, so just make sure your food is all sealed and you'll be fine. great hostel!


94%

Really nice hostel, stayed in one of the tents which was cheap but very small. Wouldn't recommend staying in a tent for more than one night, novelty wore off pretty quickly!


89%

Ein sehr schönes Hostel mit einer großen Anlage, einem Pool, einer Slackline, einem Trampolin, einem Basketballkorb und einem Volleyballfeld. Sehr sauber und freundlich. Alles in allem ein gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis, nur das Frühstück ist recht teuer, aber für Fortuna nichts Außergewöhnliches, eine Küche zum Selberkochen gab es, glaube ich, nicht.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It was a great hostel! Perfect location, relaxing atmosphere, awesome friendly staff, delicious breakfasts and convenient facilities! I would go back and stay there again! It was recommended to me to stay in and I would continue to recommend it to others :)

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The common areas to hang out and the pool were great, and the staff was very nice and accommodating. They helped me pick and book activities for the next day, giving both suggestions and directions. The food and drinks were also pretty good and decently priced. I stayed in a private room which for the price, left a little to be desired. The room was generally clean, but we did had ants in the bathroom and it would have been nice if there was at least some hand soap.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really helpful staff sorted out a transfer to Tortuguero when our tour company let us down. Stayed in the tents which were really comfortable, although can be subject to some background noise at night as by the pool. Really nice hostel and bar area.


80%

Great hostel but the staff is far too laid back and in cahoots with tourism companies. If you have them book a shuttle DEMAND Greyline (free wifi on) or Interbus. DO NOT let them tell you it's all the same and that shuttles run all day or they will call their friend's crappy service Arenal ABP Tours (which they get a kickback on) and you'll end up on the most uncomfortable ride ever. Be sure to clarify who you want to book through before asking the front desk to book anything on your behalf.


86%

Cool hostel, with hotel facilities. Pool was great, slack line across it even better. It was raining when we were there so couldn't make the most of everything on offer. Dorm was nice, only problem was the lockers were in the bathroom...? So if you need your cash or anything else in your locker you may have to wait. Food was good, shops only a 2min walk if you want to eat elsewhere. This hostel looked better than the other one in town with similar name.


94%

This hostel is awesome. The staff are great and super helpful. They go out of their way to help you, above and beyond. Some people on here complain about the music being too loud, I disagree. Although I wasn't staying next to the pool. If you can squeeze it, try getting a private room which are further away from the bar, less noise. Food great for a hostel, and their drink specials are awesome. They have a great environment which socializing is encouraged but privacy is respected. Staff Great

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff was so friendly and the atmosphere was great! We stayed in the tent and I would recommend it to anyone! Definitely would stay there again!

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all La Fortuna Hostels

Please give us your feedback