Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Hostel Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Very clean rooms and a great location on the main street

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
5.4

The room was clean and location is close to the airport. Other than that... there was not anywhere to get food. No common area in the hostel. There was nothing positive about staying here, returning to Alajuela I was much happier with an air bnb.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel, the best I've stayed at so far in Costa Rica. And amazing hot showers and comfortable bed. Loved it, didn't want to leave.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
7.7

Looks nice but not a budget friendly environment. Money definitely gets you comfort and safety but do not expect it to be cheap

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.9

Definitely a resort hostel. Building seems like a converted hotel so there's some nice amenities. Breakfast is a full buffet of food and is 6USD which is nice if you're a lazy riser. There's definitely a social vibe given the full bar and pool area, but still shuts down at 10 or 11. The only issue is trying to get a warm shower. You will not get a warm shower and if you talk to the staff, you can tell that this is an issue that will not ever be resolved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

Great place to stay in la furtina. Staff very helpful and nice. Warm atmosphere with a combination of a party atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
9.4

Social vibe here. Pretty grounds with fountains, hammocks & pool. The 10 bed female dorm had lockers, 2 bathrooms/showers, and wasn't full, so it was comfortable. But would probably be a tight fit if it was. Only outlets were in the bathrooms! Danny, in reception, was very nice. But the staff will aggressively push you to book tours with them. Don't pay the original prices. You can find them cheaper on the street, and get the hostel to match those prices. Breakfast was good, but not included ($6

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Top notch, I've stayed at dozens and dozens of hostels and this one is close to or might even be the best. Helpful staff, clean rooms, great breakfast buffet available, awesome pool bar too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
5.1

This was the second visit to this hostel in the past 3 years. VERY DISAPPOINTED this time. The front desk Staff put our reservation for 6 person dorm into two separate dorms. We had to bribe guests to move rooms. Staff were extremely rude. The Biggest complaint is that they over charged me by $75US on an excursion, told me they would look into it and have a manager message me. I have sent 6 emails with no response, it has been almost a month. I have sent copy of the billing too. :(

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! Great atmosphere with tons of hammocks and a swim up bar. The bartender Fabio was the best! The front desk helped us pick out adventure activities and booked them for a great deal (don't book online in advance, use the hostel!) The hostel is located next to tons of restaurants and shops. Would definitely recommend this place!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.