Hostelworld.com

Arenal Hostel Resort

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 676 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 676 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
Arenal Hostel Resort Located at 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna, , La Fortuna.
Arenal Hostel Resort
Costa Rica
La Fortuna alajuela 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna
89% 676
10.4709676 -84.6459822
Arenal Hostel Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.7

Fantastic staff! Everyone was incredibly friendly and open. The bathrooms was clean and so were the mattress and sheets. Common area was beautiful. The Internet is incredibly spotty but worked well enough for looking up the info we needed. No hot water or strong water pressure but at least it wasn't super freezing cold. I can't say enough great things about the staff! They should include breakfast :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
8.9

I really enjoyed this place. My only gripes were we had no hot water while we were there, maybe just bad luck, and breakfast was great, but not included in the price. The wifi could have been a tad bit better... but all things considered it was a nice place and the owner/manager Christian was super nice and helpful with advice and good laughs. One more thing, the light bulbs should be changed to a more yellow, warm lighting, the bright white felt a little industrial. The heated pool was great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
9.7

Great atmosphere. I was traveling alone but met lots of cool people here at Arenal Hostel Resort. The common area was really great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2016
10.0

This is like a 5 star hotel!!! Seriously I have stayed in worse places for 10 times the price. The staff are amazing. I did 4 of the tours they ran and all were amazing! If you are headed to the Caribbean or San Jose then do the rafting tour and they drop you for free!!! It was too easy! Great reception service. Two hour laundry. Best bar staff ever. Amazing pool. Onsite kitchen. What did this place NOT have!!! Thank you!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
9.7

By far some of the most friendly and helpful staff! Location is great! Can get anywhere just by walking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

Loved the atmosphere, clean and comfortable! The staff were helpful planning trips, bar and pool area were very nice after daily excursions. Would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rustyleeleonard3033
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st May 2016
10.0

This is easily the best hostel I have ever stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mcmillan11
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
10.0

Everyone was super friendly. Christian the owner made you feel right at home and was very helpful. The bartender Fabio always kept his bar clean and was very friendly to everyone. We met amazing people there and it's definitely the spot to party or just chill in the heated pool or in a hammock. Loved it and hopefully will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay at Arenal Hostel, I decided to go to Monteverde last min and they were kind enough to switch my paid night to their sister hostel at Monteverde without extra charge. Great helpful staff, comfortable facilities. They keep the A/C on in the rooms all day long which not all hostels do, which can be good or bad depending on personal preference. The only negative thing is theres only two outlets and both are above the toilets in the ensuite bathroom. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
10.0

My friend and I stayed at AHR for one night and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The hostel is in the heart of La Fortuna, a 10 min ride away from Paradise hot springs and La Fortuna waterfall. Staff is very helpful, the gated parking lot is very nice if your driving a rental car, and you get a free drink at the bar upon arrival and the bar food was pretty good. Be aware there is a $10 deposit for each towel but you get $ back upon returning the towels. Great experience overall!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.