Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Hostel Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 726 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 726 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Arenal Hostel Resort Located at 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna, , La Fortuna.
Arenal Hostel Resort
Costa Rica
La Fortuna alajuela 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna
89% 726
10.4709676 -84.6459822
Arenal Hostel Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Aug 2016
9.4

Great experience. The water shut off randomly during my shower (and didn't turn back on for a long time) but I think that was a city problem (out of the hostel's control). Great atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
10.0

LOVED OUR STAY HERE!! The pool, hammocks, bar/restaurant, atmosphere, and staff were all awesome! Christian at the front desk was great upon checkin. Rooms were a little small but we were barely in the room obviously. Hostel was right in the middle of town. If there's any complaint is that the water was turned off randomly a few times but we just used bottled water to brush our teeth, wasn't a big deal. Would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michellelee6293
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.6

Awesome common area. Girls bathrooms were broken when we arrived, ac in the rooms was a deff plus. Over all good time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Aug 2016
8.6

The hostel had a great atmosphere. Breakfast was good and easy, the pool was nice in the evenings since it cools down and the pool is pretty warm. The bathroom had mould on the ceiling which I would think is an easy fix but would require regular maintenance to do it. The shower had hot water for a couple minutes which was usually sufficient. We found that if you don't book your adventures with them though, they can be quite cold which is uncharacteristic of Costa Ricans we found.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mtprud2176
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent facility, fast check-in, centrally located to everything. I highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
9.7

this place was ALMOST perfect. everything was awesome from the free drink at the bar to the hammocks everywhere to its convenient placement in the middle of town which offers a great view of la fortuna on clear days. the only complaint i have is that the wifi didn't reach my room, this could have been because of the evening storms. other than that, this place was perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

Great hostel with great staff. Very clean house keeping does a great job and i always felt welcome. Book anything you want through the people at the front desk and theyll help you out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
8.0

I liked it, this hostel really did seem like a lot of fun with the hammocks and the pool. The kitchen that guests could use was a sad excuse though. You could tell they would prefer for you to order from their restaurant. I was EXTREMELY disappointed this place didn't accept credit cards... "cash only" works extremely well for quite off the beaten path places, this hostel is in the center of a very popular town that could very well accept credit cards they just refuse not to. And no hot water!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2016
8.6

Really friendly hostel! The garden/pool area is amazing and the staff are very helpful. Breakfast was also very good on the one day we had it. The only downside was the lack of plug sockets in the dorm rooms and that the hostel overcharges hugely for booking tours (but didn't matter as tour companies on the Main Street outside charge normal prices so just book through them - two volcanoes hike worth doing)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.6

Pretty good hostel. Wifi not great though, which was a bit of a nuisance, and the beds only so so. But perfect location and lovely people. Great for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.