Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Arenal Hostel Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 707 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 707 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Arenal Hostel Resort Located at 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna, , La Fortuna.
Arenal Hostel Resort
Costa Rica
La Fortuna alajuela 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna
89% 707
10.4709676 -84.6459822
Arenal Hostel Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.1

We stayed for 3 nights and had the best time. Christian the manager was super helpful in organising tours for us and recommending stuff worth doing. Hammocks were a great place to chill out and we also had a balcony where we could see the main square. Beds were clean and rooms were large. Big lockers provided and they helped us immediately with any issues (AC remote ran out of battery) only negative is that the showers were cold and there was nothing that could be done. Would stay again for sure

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Probably the nicest hostel I've stayed in. The pool, bar, hammocks, and common area are awesome. Right downtown in La Fortuna. Really clean hostel, it's huge. And the A/C worked great. Staff was really helpful and the whole hostel had a good atmosphere. Definitely the place to be in La Fortuna.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
9.1

Wonderful hostel with a great staff. They were very helpful. Only issue would be the kitchen. It was too small and the number to supplies and tools were limited (no strainer, some pots rusted and unusable).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2016
10.0

We had a great time there. The staff is very nice and helpful. Plus the breakfast buffet offered a big variety and was really good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
10.0

Literally the most perfect place if you like being where the action is but appreciate room to do your own thing too. Get your "welcome" drink from Fabio at the bar, where you can also immediately make friends with anyone/everyone staying while you are there. Super helpful staff, security all night for you to come back whenever, smoking in the back, extra plugs to charge under counter at the bar, clean, location, BEST BREAKFAST, not enough space 4 all the posi things about this awesome place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome place, great vibe and friendly staff. Dorm room was great other than the fact that the AC was either really cold or not working despite several requests to get some help with. Loved it here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.9

The good: Amazing social area. Loved the communal area: hammocks, pool, plent of seating. Breakfast The bad: Showers consistently cold regardless of time of day I used them. Too many beds in the 10 bed dorm. There was no room to put your bag without someone having to step over it. No where to hang wet stuff (considering how many wet activities there are in the area) so everyones wet clothes are just left dripping in the room. Room had no window so it just consistently smelt damp.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
7.4

The pool was a lot smaller than we expected. We planned a pool day and it ended up being a hammock day. We ended up having to sleep in another building so if we wanted to go to the pool, we had to walk to the place. Overall it was nice. We wouldn't recommend this place unless you are planning to go out for the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
5.7

Tourist trap. The self claimed 5 star hostel probably had its best years in the 1980's. Everything is quite old uninviting. The staff is nice to you when they are trying to sell one of their tours. I don't know if La Fortuna has any nice hostels but this ones surely isn't a 9 out of 10. I've been traveling for weeks through Costa Rica and have seen amazing hostels. The good thing is that you have AC in the room and it's included.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
10.0

The Staff were phenomenal and went out of their way to make sure my boyfriend and I were happy with our staff. We told them we'd checked out of another hostel and they allowed us to check in way before normal check in time, allowed us to store our stuff, and completely helped us get situated. The buffet breakfast they sell for $6 per a person is DELICIOUS and well worth the money, you won't be disappointed! If you get an opportunity, book the rafting tour through the hostel, it's the best deal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.