Hostelworld.com

Arenal Hostel Resort

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
Arenal Hostel Resort Located at 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna, , La Fortuna.
Arenal Hostel Resort
Costa Rica
La Fortuna alajuela 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna
89% 639
10.4709676 -84.6459822
Arenal Hostel Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.3

The good: great activity recommendations; location; the hammocks/pool/bar area is awesome and relaxing; big private rooms; staff are friendly enough. The bad: loud at night and in the morning because the rooms surround the hammock/pool/bar area where people were partying every night we were there; no hot water; two cockroaches in our room. Overall I'd stay again but if you want to go to bed before 11 I might stay elsewhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel to stay in when in La Fortuna. You are made to feel really welcome as soon as you arrive. You can book your excursions at the front desk which makes it all super easy. We really enjoyed our stay here!! Thanks Christian and co!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • markham89
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
6.6

It was more of a party hostel. I like to have fun maybe on a Friday or Saturday but every night of the week... Not so much. The showers were lacking, hot water non existent! Lockers but had to buy locks and no towels or blankets. For the price those things should be included!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
7.4

I felt that the rating of this hostel was a little overstated. The dorm room had a lot of street noise and we could hear everything going on outside in the courtyard or hallway. The rooms were very small and the beds had no element of privacy, like a curtain. No extras, like towels, soap, etc. Also, shower did not stay warm for long the two times I used it. Just things to consider. The A/C was a big plus, but otherwise just an average stay for me - I've had much better with ratings like this.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
9.7

We had a private twin room that was directly in front of the bar. The bar was loud at night, but that is normal and not too disruptive. Bar and pool were awesome. The room itself was very clean. The AC worked great and it was helpful having a fridge in the room. Bathroom was clean, roomy and the water was hot. My only complaint about the room was that there was only one, dim overhead light that left the room in semi-darkness all day. Needs another light in there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cwmeight8666
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2016
10.0

Solo traveller, 33, male, english, stayed in many a hostel, stayed in a 6 bed dorm. This was a great chain type hostel. Very secure, welcoming, clean & a nice mix of guests. Beds were fine, room the right size & big bathroom. Staff organised tours & looked to be same prices as people on 'the street'. Not a PARTY hostel but a nice bar / small pool area, but La Fortuna is for doing stuff not getting drunk so not what was looking for anyway. All in all, a top place & I'd recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
9.1

I stayed in the 10 bed female dorm and actually got a good night's sleep! Liked the hammocks in the garden. Pretty mellow and respectful travelers staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cjdomene8783
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Mar 2016
10.0

This place was phenomenal. From the friendly staff to the free spirited atmosphere. It was right down town but you didn't feel like it. If you stay in rooms with lockers bring your own lock and possibly your own blanket in the girls dorms, it got really cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
8.3

It´s a nice place, but it´s to quit, if u want to rest, it´s the perfect place to go

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2016
7.7

Great atmosphere, staff and very helpful. Theres a pool, pool bar, food to order, lots of hammocks and great common area.Stayed in 10 bed female dorm first 2 nights that I wouldn't recommend; facilities weren't great, low water/cold, 4 plugs only in the bathroom. Stayed in 6 bed mixed 3rd night and it was 10x better! I would come back for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.