Hostelworld.com

Arenal Hostel Resort

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Arenal Hostel Resort Located at 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna, , La Fortuna.
Arenal Hostel Resort
Costa Rica
La Fortuna alajuela 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna
89% 657
10.4709676 -84.6459822
Arenal Hostel Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • nicolebury
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel! Room 117 is the best. The owner is super friendly and the staff were so helpful. Heated pool and swim up bar. Right in the centre of town. Excellent hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alysehiggins
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2016
10.0

Arenal Hostel Resort is one of my favorite hostels I've ever stayed in! It really is like a resort and so reasonably priced. I loved the outdoor hammocks and swim up bar and that really gave it a great atmosphere (although the bartender Fabio hits on girls a lot). The only thing I didn't like was that on the second night I stayed there the AC was cranked really high and they only gave us a thin sheet so I was cold all night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
9.4

I was very happy and comfortable in this hostel. I loved the outside gardens with hamocks everywhere, a lovely pool and fun staff. The breakfast in the morning is pretty delicious too! I came as a solo traveler and immediately made several friends. Its conveniently locate in the central part of the charming town of La Fortuna. This little town is magical and the hostel left a good impression on me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
10.0

My girlfriend and I had a great time during our stay in La Fortuna, largely because of how simple the staff at Arenal Hostel Resort made things for us. The staff was incredibly welcoming and extremely helpful in making sure we made the most of the few days we had in town. The atmosphere of the hostel was great and the location was perfect. We could walk just a few blocks to some great restaurants, which became extremely important when trying to squeeze in meals between adventures.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th May 2016
9.4

The type of hostel where you can chill there all day with the pool, bar and hammocks. Loved it! Great location too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel, definitely recommended! Lots of hammocks, pool w/ swim up bar, great night atmosphere, very clean, good air conditioning, gated parking, and very friendly and helpful staff. Centrally located to everything in town, about a 10 minute drive to the free hot springs, and within walking distance to lots of shops and places to eat. We stayed in the 6 bed dorm and would totally stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd May 2016
8.0

Great place, fun and with a heated pool. Looks a bit like a paradise. On the pricey side for a hostel, but then I suppose you are paying for the pool. No kitchen which was annoying. Staff really rude.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
8.0

Overall, this was a decent experience, and very affordable. Hostel was beautiful inside, but very small and crowded. Wasn't much of a nightlife- bar closed at 10. However, this was a nice feature, as well as the pool (but WAY too hot!), $6.00USD breakfast, and gated parking. The staff was nice, with the exception of the bartender, who was overly perverse (making gross comments and being very unhelpful and rude). I would return, however, the crowding and rudeness were a huge turnoff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
10.0

We loved staying here. In a great location with an amazing staff. The atmosphere and the look of the hostel were great. Had lots of fun, would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.3

The good: great activity recommendations; location; the hammocks/pool/bar area is awesome and relaxing; big private rooms; staff are friendly enough. The bad: loud at night and in the morning because the rooms surround the hammock/pool/bar area where people were partying every night we were there; no hot water; two cockroaches in our room. Overall I'd stay again but if you want to go to bed before 11 I might stay elsewhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.