Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Hostel Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.4

It is located right in middle of town. Every thing is very accessible. Staff is also very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpsavoie18
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Mar 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've ever been in! Party or relax it is perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2017
3.7

I do not complain lightly but was very upset when I made it to this hostel. The presentation and pictures look great but once you arrive, you are shipped off to a building across the street that is not nice. My dorm was crammed, it was very damp, the AC was broken and the back nook of the room had no window. There is no "hostel vibe" and it made it harder to meet others. As for the staff, I complained multiple times in vain. Moreover they will tell you anything/lie so you buy their activities.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
9.7

Great location. Party vibe! Will stay here again on future visits in Costa Rica

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
10.0

Simply amazing. Warm wmmingpool bar, hamocks, clean, great staff... initially we book for 2 nights.... we had to extend 2 more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.0

Great place, location and facilities. Would sure go again. The only thing that really annoyed me is that the staff would say just about anything to sell you a shuttle or a tour, even if that required them to lie to you about the costs of a taxi or the usage of public transport. So be warned when they give you some 'advice'.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
9.4

Pros: PERFECT location in the heart of La Fortuna, awesome courtyard area with lots of hammocks and great vibes, staff is very nice and accommodating, pool bar with delicious drinks, great breakfast for $6 USD, very clean rooms with lockers, awesome balconies, good prices on tours, air conditioning all day. Cons: Has both a heated and cold pool, but the cold one is across the street. They don't take credit cards at check in. Lots of construction going on right now.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Very clean rooms and a great location on the main street

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.4

The hostel is kind of two hostels across the street from one another. One is more of a party atmosphere (resort) while the other is more chilled out (towers). We thought we were going to be on the resort side, but ended up on the towers side. We didn't mind though as it was quieter, the pool was cooler in temp, and the hammocks were always free to use! Plus when we wanted to party, we just walked across the street and hung out at the bar. Staff were friendly and very helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
5.4

The room was clean and location is close to the airport. Other than that... there was not anywhere to get food. No common area in the hostel. There was nothing positive about staying here, returning to Alajuela I was much happier with an air bnb.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.