Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Hostel Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 884 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 884 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2017
10.0

Great hostel! Clean rooms, helpful staff and a fun bar area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2017
10.0

Simply amazing! The place itself, the staff, the accomodations, the atmosphere... everything is great! We loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kellyrutland414
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.0

Little security guard decked out with gun, holster, baton, walkie talkie, knife etc greeted us at the locked gate. He got us a fenced in parking, didn't know English but we figured it out. The room was nice and air conditioned, they offer discount breakfast with the wrist band but we didn't get one. The breakfast was good and thankful they had someone to let us in late at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st May 2017
10.0

Honestly, so much more than I had expected. Staff was wonderful, and helpful. The place was beautiful, clean, and made it just as easy to chill as it was to party. Also have some dedicated staff to help plan your stay and rout afterwards. I'm impressed with this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2017
10.0

Really fun hostel - nice enough that I spent a full day just lounging in the common area. Crowd is hit or miss... there are lots of private rooms so there are a lot of families/older couples. Staff is helpful about sorting out tour bookings, but make sure you negotiate the price or you will get ripped off. Decent kitchen. A/C in the dorms was amazing :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2017
4.9

The attitude of the owner. I needed a quiet room I asked her if it would be quiet. I was told the music would be turned off at 2200hrs. At 2230 when it was still very, very loud I asked when the music was going to stop the owner said "When people stop buying drinks, if you want to ask them to be quiet you can"! The music went on till past 2300hrs. In the morning I asked for a refund. 'No' was the reply because Saturday was party night bar open until 2300hrs. Why did they feel the need to lie?

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2017
9.4

Great place- clean and well managed! Note that this hostel is less social than those that I would usually seek when travelling but I chose this place as I was looking for some quiet time during my stay. Good if you want some solitude with no pressure to be social, not so great if you're looking to meet others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
9.7

Awesome place! Would stay again for sure if I return to La Fortuna. Between the bar and organizing excursion and transportation, in additional to the decor and hammock area and pool area, it was a pretty sweet place. Staff was great too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
9.4

I loved this hostel! The vibe of the place is great. Our room was right by the bar, which was actually kind of nice. The bar shut down each night around 10 or so, so you could still get some sleep if you wanted it. The staff is friendly, and were really helpful on giving directions. People might complain because they try selling you tours, but I expected that. You can negotiate prices on all of the tours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Great stay. Stayed in 10 bed female dorm which was a bit cramped but beds were comfortable. Lockers provided. Clean. Great ambience, loved the pool which was warm and clean! Bar was great also played fun music. My favourite hostel whilst in Costa Rica! Met some awesome people and staff were super fun also!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.