Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Hostel Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 783 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 783 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
Arenal Hostel Resort Located at 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna, , La Fortuna.
Arenal Hostel Resort
Costa Rica
La Fortuna alajuela 100 m al Oeste de la Plaza de La Fortuna
89% 783
10.4709676 -84.6459822
Arenal Hostel Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Loved my stay! The staff were very helpful, awesome tours to go on through them. I was in a large dorm, ten bed. The only outlets to charge your phones/computers ect were in the bathrooms which were in the room - that was kind of crappy. Also, one of the shoers didn't actually shut/stayed closed. The breakfast was good though and a decent price. The location was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.7

We had a great experience staying there ...very comfortable and friendly. We would stay there again in a heart beat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel with great atmosphere and pools. Staff was super helpful when planning our activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rbarringt58
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.7

Great place to meet people as a solo traveller. A bit of a party atmosphere but that was fun and it calmed down fairly early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
9.7

This was my first solo female hostel stay. 3 nights in a private room. The hostel was incredibly clean (the dorms as well where some of my friends stayed). The staff (Andre and Luis, specifically) were wonderful and simply genuine. They immediately made me feel welcomed, assisted me to book any tour I was interested in, and honestly befriended me. The hostel had its own swim up bar open to 11pm, and very close to the local bar. The breakfast was an awesome buffet, but not included. Awesome place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jan 2017
8.9

Interesting place for sure- college spring breakers mixing with the families. Hot showers and working AC in room!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
2.9

DO NOT STAY HERE unless you want cold showers (and nearly no water pressure - I'm talking drips!), awful smelling rooms (we stayed in private room that caused all my clothes in my suitcase to suddenly smell awful!), poor wifi, shady and rude staff, and very loud music until past midnight most nights (we stayed for 4). ONLY stay if you want to party and are not depending on the staff to make you reservations to do any activities (they messed up two of our reservations).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hostel itself is top notch. Major points for the hammocks and other comfy sitting options as well as the excellent pool and poolside bar. Only complaints would be that the $6 breakfast they offer is not a great deal (esp given that the kitchen is pretty decent otherwise) and that the wifi didn't really reach the room. Definitely the place to stay in La Fortuna.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.1

The hostel itself was great but I definitely would stay away from the guided tours that they arrange for you. It wasn't worth it. You could go alone to all the places they took us and it would've been free. Google "free natural hot springs Arenal." That specific hot spring made the tour worth it but you could have done it alone. Great place to meet people too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.1

This is a very cool hostel with a swim up bar and great breakfast buffet. Christian is a great host and everyone was friendly and helpful. Thanks so much!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.