Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arenal Hostel Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
9.4

The hostel was really clean and perfect for family. We got there with our 1 year old baby and our room was across the street which was calm compare to where the bar is. Bar serve delicious cocktail and the pool is really nice. Staff was really helpful. The only negative point is the loud music during the night and there is no hot water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
8.3

This hostel was a great location. They gave a welcome drink and had a very nice outdoor area within the secured walls. Staff interaction was overall great except one person who was upset that we decided to go with a different tour company rather than the ones the hostel provided (mostly because we already paid for the other in advance). The room was a bit hot because one person in the dorm was "sick" and couldn't bare any cold, so it was a bit unbearable in heat and humidity.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
9.4

This place was practically perfect. Friendly and helpful staff, fun (but not crazy) vibe, a hot tub with a swim up bar, great downtown location, excellent security, immaculately clean facilities. We stayed in a 10-bed female dorm, and we were by ourselves the first night, with three other very nice girls the second. So much fun! But only two outlets (three plug ins)-all in the bathroom! We worked it out, but I can't imagine with 10 people. No hot water that we could figure out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jun 2017
10.0

The bar guy Fabio just spends his time hitting on girls so watch him.....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2017
9.7

Arenal Hostel Resort has everything you need and in a GREAT location. Dorm room is clean and convenient, you could put all your stuff in the locker, which is super safe! Staff there are super nice, and they are the best person to ask for recommendations to tour around! If one thing could be improved, it will be the social atmosphere, there is a bar, but not common area. Mostly college kids during the time of my stay. I will stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jun 2017
8.9

I really enjoyed my stay here. Great atmosphere. The place gets quite lively at night so maybe choose somewhere else if you're looking for a quiet hostel. Everyone on reception was extremely helpful and had perfect English. The rooms were clean and had very comfortable beds. The only downsides were that there was only 2 electrical outlets and they were situated in the toilet which is sort of ridiculous for a 10 bed dorm and the kitchen was filthy. Overall I would recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.4

My only complaint is that they didn't have a safe or a locker in the room. Otherwise an amazing hostel to stay at!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved the hammocks, great for relaxing. Was nice having a kitchen and restaurant available. Rooms were clean and staff was friendly and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2017
10.0

The staff were unbelievably helpful! Helped us to reorganise the next few days of our trip and booked everything for us even in different areas of the country!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2017
5.7

Hostel is overall ok but staff see you as money and that's about it. Repeatedly tried to sell us a hike for 65 which you can blatantly do yourself for 10. Place just had a tacky feel to it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.