Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arequipay Backpackers Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1772 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1772 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2017
9.4

Loved this hostel! Good breakfast (oatmeal, bananas, bread and jam) and free tea all day. Social vibe so you can meet some really cool people but also have your own time if you want. Lots of bathrooms and they always had hot water. The staff were very helpful. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2017
9.1

Good hostel, laundry service, wifi, good breakfast. Good location and quiet at night. Tv room is rad for chilling in the evening but smells of sweaty people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2017
9.4

Good cosy hostel, has it all except for power sockets in the lockers and curtains for the top bunk. I would also attach the beds to the wall and install reading lights for all beds. Positive things are: Good kitchen, clean bathrooms, enough power sockets, helpful staff, good WiFi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2017
7.4

The bed was really comfortable here and I loved having the curtains to pull around for total privacy. The kitchen was very clean and easy to use. Breakfast was average. Bathrooms v clean. Overall I liked my stay here but wouldn't say it's particularly special. The staff were ok and it was all fine but not really a fun atmosphere and often that's down to the staff in a hostel. Fine for a quiet stop.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Sep 2017
8.9

Great hostel; helpful staff, good clean kitchen and bathrooms, secure storage for luggage before check in. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
9.1

Awesome and cute place. Very clean, they were cleaning several times a day. Staff was very helpful; even let me use the facilities after checking out coming back from a tour and going onto the night bus. Maybe as recommendation: individual lights and power outlets on the beds, as well as a little shelf were you can place a water bottle or your phone overnight. Apart from that: i would go back anytime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
10.0

Great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Aug 2017
7.1

Overall, our stay at Arequipay was good but not great. For our first night's stay, we were in a 6-bed dorm that only had ONE OUTLET by one of the beds (which was not our bed and so we were unable to use it). It also is a bit of a party hostel so can be quite loud, especially if you choose to sleep early because of an early tour the next day. The breakfast is also very standard (bread, jam, butter, and oatmeal). It is also a pretty larger hostel with not very many bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

ABOUT THE OUTLETS. Thhis comment is true but they stayed 1 week ago, since the 1st of september we have install in all our dorms enough sockets for all the beds. We are not a party hostel. Our breakfast includes: Oatmeal, bananas, bread, jam, butter, coffe, te and coca tea.

25th Aug 2017
7.7

Staff were generally friendly and helpful, showers were hot. Wifi was abysmal, especially in the rooms--even the computers were slow. Our 8 bed dorm only had two plug ins, which were ridiculously loose and it was a struggle to charge anything properly. Ping-pong table, pool table, and all the other amenities were quite nice though. We got laundry done (4soles/kg) but items that came back weren't all that clean. Lockers in our room were also small, but other rooms had even smaller ones.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

About the size of our lockers is importnat future guest knows that we have big lockers size 35 cm x 82 cm! and the loockers of all our dorms are the same size so we dont understand why this person wrote this comment considerating that our lockers are big and all are the same size. About the plugs is true, that is why right now we are putting enough plugs in all our dorms. About the wifi this guest anly stay one day ufortunatelly that day the supplier of internet had a big technician problem in all arequipa so this was a problem that was out of out hands. We offer a excellent laundry service.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
8.6

Quiet but nice hostel if you're looking for some sleep. I liked the friendly atmosphere and the kitchen was good. The staff were helpful and happy to help when we arrived really early on a night bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×