Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arequipay Backpackers Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1766 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1766 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kemi_g4699
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Aug 2017
9.4

Perfect size hostel - not too big and not too small, so easy to meet people and socialise. The bathrooms are amazing and spacious, feels like being back at home. The lounge areas outside are super comfy and sociable. Everything is incredibly clean, and the staff are so kind and friendly. One complaint is the lack of enough plugs to charge phones etc (2 plugs in an 8 bed dorm). Could easily put extension cables in each room so people can keep an eye on their things whilst they charge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samanthablundell
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Aug 2017
8.0

Good hostel and super friendly staff but the wifi isn't great which was difficult for booking onward travels. I stayed here before and after Colca Canyon. I told them a tap wasn't working during my first stay and they had replaced the whole tap two days later - very impressive. A nice quiet stay if you're looking to relax and a good mix of travellers (ages and nationalities).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • annettellilley1213
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
15th Aug 2017
8.9

I strayed here for 3 nights in total, either side of the Colca Canyon trip. The beds are comfortable. There was only 1 plug socket in the room though. And no individual light for each bed. However good communal areas and nice way to meet people. TV room and pool table and lots of hammocks. Nice to have porridge for breakfast too! I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are putting right now enough plugs in all dorms for all our guests, thanks for the comment!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Aug 2017
9.1

We stayed in both a private room and 6 bed dorm. The decor is a bit dated but beds are comfy and warm. Wifi in the rooms is a bit temperemental (we were on the top floor). Showers were always hot but the pressure is a bit lacking, however they are constantly cleaned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2017
7.4

The stuff are very friendly and helpful. There are hammocks and Netflix and billard tables which helps to create a great atmosphere. Bathrooms weren't working pretty well, one was blocked the other one only had burning water to shower. There are other bathrooms in other floors I didn't try

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Is important our future guest know that we have 7 baths in the hostel. In all we have hot water and cold water, it the water is too hot you can mix with the cold water to have the ideal temperature.

13th Aug 2017
7.1

The atmosphere was nice. They have way too few bathrooms for the amount of people there - there was constantly a wait for the bathrooms most times of the day. The bunks in the dorms have curtains which is nice. There is hot water in the showers, just expect to wait a while to use one!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have 7 baths in the hostel for 38 guests.

  • liambanerji
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Aug 2017
7.7

Not a bad hostel by any means, there are hammocks to chill out in, a book swap, lockers in all the rooms and a kitchen you can use if you want to cook. It is VERY quiet and there is no noise allowed after 1`0 pm. The main issue was a lack of plugs in the rooms, people were crowded round a couple of plug sockets in the tv room, pool room and kitchen to charge their phones. It is located about a 15 minute walk away from the Plaza del Armas in a very quiet street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
10.0

The warmest and most friendly hostel I have stayed in -- ever!! Not just in South America, not just in Peru. This is my favorite hostel of anywhere on the planet. Yes, there's plenty of hot water, good wifi, and everything is very clean. But the staff is what makes this place so special. It feels more like visiting your favorite relatives than being a stranger at some random hostel. This is a very, very special place. Cannot recommend highly enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
9.1

Really great hostel, super close to town, the staff were very friendly and amazingly helpful. Good breakfast not just your usual bread and jam. Beds super comfy and it's warm. Hot water all day and they clean the bathrooms several times a day. Even a lovely pooch at he doorway to welcome you in. Plenty places to chill in hammocks and enjoy the sun. The tours they offer are very reliable and great value for money. Booked in two nights stayed for four in the end it was so nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
9.1

Really friendly staff! Good breakfast, happy for us to eat the morning we arrived before check in. Location a little further out of town but not a long walk. Bathrooms clean, could use a couple more though. Really affordable and well run hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×