Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Argyle Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,513 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,513 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Argyle Backpackers Located at 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont, Edinburgh.
Argyle Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH9 1JL 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont
86% 1513
55.9384090 -3.1911420
Argyle Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2016
7.4

Very friendly girl from nz on the desk. Only stayed one night. Had a private room. Only 20 minute walk through the Meadows to town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
10.0

The Argyle was great! It's a little walk from the city centre but it's a nice and easy walk, we didn't mind a all. The staff was very friendly and everything was clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
9.4

Good clean hostel. Not many power outlets and terrible wifi when it worked. Great kitchens and bathrooms. Good location, 20 minute walk through the park to the castle and main town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jul 2016
9.7

I had a great time there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
4th Jul 2016
9.4

Loved this place. I prefer the quiet relaxed atmosphere to the drunkedness of the hostels closer to the Castle so this was brilliant. Great staff, beds, kitchens, gorgeous house, a conservatory! Only there for one night but would happily have stayed there for a longer stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
9.7

Very comfortable, clean, quiet and well maintained hostel, close to the city centre. Excellent value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
9.1

I liked my stay at the Argyle. It was exceptionally quiet and my room had a view of the street below, which I enjoyed. The location is nice, although a bit of a walk to the main drag in the old part of town -- about 10 to 15 minutes, some of that up hill. I liked the conservatory off the kitchen -- also quiet with a tin roof that made the rain a special experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mauritius, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.3

I had a short stay but everything was clean and well organised. I was late for the check in but, after notifying them, they put the key in the letter box and emailed me the code to get it. I arrived around 1h in the morning and didn't have any problem to get there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
10.0

very nice indeed. good mixture of people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th May 2016
7.7

Nice , near a great place the park but 15mins walk from the centre of the city. It's wifi is ok but being refurbished so may improve soon. Cooking facilities were quite cook and the room had its own tv ,draws and sink. Would probably stay at a closer hostel next time though this was quite nice and would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.