Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Argyle Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Aug 2017
9.1

A cute little hostel, located in two old houses, in a calm suburb. It's a bit far from the city center, but you can reach it easily with the bus or by walking through the park. The staff are kind and helpful. I found it a bit dangerous that they were no barrier on some of the upper beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
4.0

We stayed three nights at the hostel and were not really happy. Most of the staff did not seem to care at all if we have a good stay. The reception was only staffed certain hours, there is almost no security and the wifi did not reach to our room. In our room someone left the window open before, so the old disgusting carpet was soaked in water and had a horrible smell for days. The beds were ok though. The toilets and showers were not really clean but ok. I would not recommend this place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.4

Staff were the most helpful that I have met in Edinburgh - so willing to give information and answer questions about anything. Also very prompt with email responses. 5 minute taxi ride from Waverley station and a 15-20 in walk to the city centre. Really clean bathrooms with a lot of space in them and other travellers are pretty friendly here. Only stayed one night but met at least 5 other friendly solo travellers, which was really nice. Good pubs and restaurants for food around the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
8.0

The hostel is well located near the old town, in a quiet residential street, and there are a few shops nearby. The room was nice, although my bed sheet didn't seem to be very clean, so I asked at the reception to have it changed and it never did, which is highly unprofessional in a hostel. The bathrooms were ok (clean but a little old, it could be nice to refresh them and put a real wash basin where you Can wash both hands at the same time). The kitchen was well equipped, which is a good point.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mnunuk7653
  • Slovakia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Jul 2017
5.7

Limited space so I need to redo this. 1,no key for lockers?! - why not install hooks on them instead? 2, electric show on ground floor - jammed drain. bad temperature regulation 3, they don't assign bed to you so my bed at second night was taken by someone else and no other left. Need to call guy to sort this out Otherwise good, close to city and shops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
8.9

Great location - an easy 15 minute walk from the old city. Beautiful building in a stunning area. Good kitchen facilities and fantastic living room. Quiet hostel and area and perfect for families. The family room was a bit small with no room for luggage. Only one real gripe - the bunk bed had no safety rail on top and would be risky for smaller children. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jul 2017
9.1

Staff was nice but was talking in Spanish to each other which was sometimes irritating. Great facilities, well-equipped kitchen! A nice venue with good location in the City!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
7.1

The hostel is generally good, although they should consider having more toilets. The room was spacious, but the cleaning staff needs to be more careful as there were some mnm's on the floor under the bed opposite to ours for nearly a week! I can't say too much about the staff, since I've barely seen them during my stay. As for the location it's good for someone who prefers to stay somewhere quiet. It takes only 10 minutes to walk to Grassmarket and the city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
9.7

I really loved staying at Argyle's Backpackers. I've stayed in many hostels in different countries and this was one of my favorites, especially for the price. It was cozy and homey; staff was friendly and helpful; it's well located -- safe, short walk from city centre, quiet, and near shops & cafes; it was clean; and the kitchen was well-equipped. It has a lovely sunny sitting room and garden -- really enjoyed relaxing there in the morning and evening. Overall, very comfortable and welcoming!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2017
9.4

The hostel is lovely and clean, the rooms are big, the kitchens and bathrooms are great. I had an incident that made me feel very unsafe with another guest and in the morning the hostel staff were incredibly helpful and kind and helped to sort out the problem immediately. I was really impressed by their actions, and would recommend this hostel to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your feedback. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Veronica

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.