Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Argyle Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,534 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,534 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
Argyle Backpackers Located at 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont, Edinburgh.
Argyle Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH9 1JL 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont
87% 1534
55.9384090 -3.1911420
Argyle Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Aug 2016
6.3

Hostel would be ok if not for this price (it was Fringe festival). Twin room is extremly small and the bunk bed was broken and noisy! Also, window only opens very little and no fresh air gets into the room. Living room looked very nice but there was nothing going on at all (there is more going on in a hotel). Bathroom was very clean and compared to other hostels above average. Rating would be higher if it would have been cheaper. For this price (£100 a night) try to stay in a better place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
9.4

Great hostel, there was a problem with our dorm so one of the staff members gave us access to a flat instead, it was great. We stayed three nights in one of the most comfortable hostels we've been too, it was very calm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.0

Apart from a very very squeaky bed this place is pretty good. Nice staff, close but not too close to the centre (great for fringe fest) didn't have to que for showers which always had good pressure and hot water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rachturpin4437
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
9.1

Kitchen was nice but we didn't use it Bathroom was really clean Room was fine - TV worked and felt cosy Noises at night on the Saturday night Til early hours kept my partner awake

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
7.7

Had a really lovely stay at the Argyle. It has a lovely homely feel to it and the staff were accomodating with every request. The place itself was clean, with great facilities. Judging by the patrons entering and leaving this place, the Argyle seems to attract a more mature crowd which was more suited to quiet travellers like me. It's not a party hostel! It would also be great for families. The location is a tad out of the way from the city centre, however. Great stay thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ehoesly7012
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
9.1

The location is perfect, as it is in a quieter area of the city, yet only a 10 minute maximum walk from the main attractions. It's a block from a large city park (The meadows), which made going for a run easy and convenient. The facilities were very nice and we especially appreciated having access to bathrooms on each floor. The staff was incredible: very helpful on site with everything from looking after our bags at reception once we'd checked out, to helping us call a taxi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bpibernat8561
  • Spain, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Very clean and safe. Met wanderful people. A bit of a walk from the station or the center, but next to a beautiful park.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
9.7

It. Was. Perfect. The atmosphere was...amazing. I haven't felt so relaxed at another hostel as I did while staying here. Outside of of the kitchens is a piano and every day I was there, soft music could be heard floating around through my bedroom window. I loved it so much, and was incredibly sad to go! The only set back, for me, was the bed. I usually sleep on really soft beds with squishy pillows and these were harder than I was used to. Other than that: sublime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
9.1

Enjoyed my stay at Argyle backpackers. Great location and a nice relaxed ambience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jul 2016
7.4

Very friendly girl from nz on the desk. Only stayed one night. Had a private room. Only 20 minute walk through the Meadows to town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.