Hostelworld.com

Argyle Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
Argyle Backpackers Located at 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont, Edinburgh.
Argyle Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH9 1JL 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont
87% 1489
55.9384090 -3.1911420
Argyle Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.1

The room on the top floor has window on the roof and which hasn't lock. I felt little unsecured due to that.Also bathrooms available on the top floor cant be used in the early morning and late night because of glass windows without curtains, so during those hours you need to use bathrooms in the ground floor or lower floors. Otherwise it was nice there. Staff was also helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
8.9

Only issues with this hostel is that it is a good 10 minute walk to most of the sights and that no one is available for checkin/out from 10 pm to 9:30 am the next morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st May 2016
6.9

There were some problems but not insurmountable and the staff got there in the end. I enjoyed Edinburgh and the location - it was quite good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
8.0

Great stay, close to everything if you don't mind a walk through the park!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Juliju22
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing place to stay. There was a sink in my room, which I found very helpful. Nice beds and a cool terrace to chill. Amazing location, you can walk pratically everywhere! It's less than 10 minutes from the old city center. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

A fantastic choice for the financially savvy. Stayed a week and it really felt like a home away from home. Everyone was incredibly friendly and the location was excellent - a short walk to everywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
10.0

Argyle Backpackers made me feel right at home! Great view of Arthur's Seat from the bedroom. Judette (sp?) happily provided me with an extra pillow. Everyone who works there was so nice, and went above and beyond the usual hostel service. I saw Tamsin offer to carry other guests bags to their room! I met lovely fellow travelers in the casual sitting room, and in the conservatory, where I was able to get a lot of work done with their fast wifi network. Fantastic neighborhood location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
9.7

It's a very good location, even though we have not met any of the staff they were very friendly over the phone. The rooms are quiet cozy (also a little messy-not the hostel problem really) the bathrooms are fine as well. Overall an enjoyable stay !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
7.7

This hostel was a lot of fun for meeting other travelers. Kinda far from center of town but not so far that you can't walk. Wifi was good, showers were clean, there was just some weirdo guests who wrapped up their poop to throw it away instead of flushing it. Very strange.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.6

Great people, grrat stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.