Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Argyle Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1695 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1695 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jun 2017
9.7

Overall, great stay at a clean place right near the Meadows. Only minor issue was that the wi-fi had issues in the room I was in. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
7.7

Service could be improved. Arrived at 21:55, 5 minutes before reception closes, and was given a key to the front door and a key to a room and asked to check in tomorrow as it seemed the staff member could not be bothered with checking us in at that time. Had to go back to ask for a locker key and was only given one, as well the front door key did not work so we had to stay in. Was told we should have called the emergency number which states only in EMERGENCY such as fire, theft, etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

Comfortable, Loved the location, and Friendly. We enjoyed our stay. In addition, we are thankful to the staff for going out of their way to make our visit to Edinburgh that much more relaxing and enjoyable! Thank you!, Heidi :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
9.1

Great location that actually had a couple bars close by. It's a bit of a walk from the touristy spots in Edinburgh, but it's in a nice, quiet neighborhood. Staff was friendly and it was clean. The also have laundry service, which was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2017
8.0

clean, comfortable beds, spatious rooms. our room door didn't lock but we had a small locker so we had a place for our valuables. water pressure in the bathrooms sucked, some bathrooms were nicer than others - not every one had a shower with a detachable shower head which is something i like so i can wash myself properly. free coffe and tea in the kitchen, big garden where you can smoke. street was pretty quiet and a short 10-minute walk through the meadows brings you into the old town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
9.1

I booked here to stay for a couple of days in Edinburgh for the marathon. The atmosphere was really good, had everything you needed and also a good location (near the University and just a few minues walk to the city center). Will highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2017
8.3

When they say free tea and coffee.... They don't provide the milk. Just fyi. Also I distinct lack of cutlery, we had to take turns to eat. Enjoyed my stay and met some lovely people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • erinwohlgemuth
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th May 2017
5.7

We only stayed at this hostel for 1 night and had a late check in. Unfortunantly the staff left us the wrong key to get in. Because of this we were stuck outside at 1 am until a staff member woke up. The showers were dirty. The hostel was cheap but low quality.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th May 2017
8.9

Lovely and spacious kitchen and garden. Our private room was great and luminous. The hostel is walkable from the city centre. The hostel had several recycling bins but we saw the staff collect all of them into one garbage bag. We felt a bit disappointed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
8.6

Nice two day stay. Thanks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.