Hostelworld.com

Argyle Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,476 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,476 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
Argyle Backpackers Located at 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont, Edinburgh.
Argyle Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH9 1JL 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont
86% 1476
55.9384090 -3.1911420
Argyle Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Apr 2016
8.0

Great stay, close to everything if you don't mind a walk through the park!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

A fantastic choice for the financially savvy. Stayed a week and it really felt like a home away from home. Everyone was incredibly friendly and the location was excellent - a short walk to everywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
10.0

Argyle Backpackers made me feel right at home! Great view of Arthur's Seat from the bedroom. Judette (sp?) happily provided me with an extra pillow. Everyone who works there was so nice, and went above and beyond the usual hostel service. I saw Tamsin offer to carry other guests bags to their room! I met lovely fellow travelers in the casual sitting room, and in the conservatory, where I was able to get a lot of work done with their fast wifi network. Fantastic neighborhood location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
9.7

It's a very good location, even though we have not met any of the staff they were very friendly over the phone. The rooms are quiet cozy (also a little messy-not the hostel problem really) the bathrooms are fine as well. Overall an enjoyable stay !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
7.7

This hostel was a lot of fun for meeting other travelers. Kinda far from center of town but not so far that you can't walk. Wifi was good, showers were clean, there was just some weirdo guests who wrapped up their poop to throw it away instead of flushing it. Very strange.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.6

Great people, grrat stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
8.9

Great location, large room, small shower but worked fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
8.9

Had a lovely stay in this cosy little hostel, was lovely and quiet, rooms a good size and we LOVE the breakfast room and kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Feb 2016
8.6

The hostel was in a quiet location but close enough to the city. The doors locked at 10pm which made it feel very safe. The rooms were clean and it was a very quiet hostel. The wifi worked perfectly too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2016
7.7

Clean and very quiet, it's practically in the city center just in front of the nice Meadows park. my only complaint are the beds, too squeaky and with a paper thin pillow. but overall it's a good hostel, not for partying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.