Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Argyle Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
9.7

Excellent location, new keysafe box at the door which worked brilliantly. We'll be staying here anytime we need somewhere in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Very nice place! Good if you want a quieter place to come back to after a day out. There is two full kitchens, a living room, and dining area. A mini market is across the street and a grocery store a few minute walk a way. There's a big park nearby with lots of families and dogs. with the Old town just a few minute walk away. If you're planning on coming I recommend the 35 bus from the airport. This one comes the closest to the hostel and is the cheapest option. Overall it was a cozy place!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • huntsean5666
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.7

Was a nice clean friendly hostel with a warm atmosphere, though we didn't find reception particularly helpful or informative when we arrived, we weren't expecting much as it was the cheapest place we could find available for new years and we had a pleasant stay in small yet comfortable and tidy room next to a bathroom and shower. Was ok. Probably wouldn't recommend at the price we paid but for it, but it was a new years premium, maybe at other times of year it is much more reasonable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.1

The hostel is a little bit of a walk away from the city centre but its a nice walk through the Meadows and cobbled streets to get there. Value for money was good and the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was difficult to lock and we could tell it hadn't been hoovered for a while so we had to ask for this to be done as it was quite gross. The staff sorted it straight away though. The atmosphere was good in the hostel with several communal areas and the bathrooms were kept really clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
5.4

Stayed here for 3 nights and it wasn't great. They actually have two hostels .. one is the actual backpackers and the other is located just down the road - it's rooms above the owner. The beds were so uncomfortable and soooo squeeky.. I mean I could hear the people above us moving around in their bed. Got bare any sleep! There is one bathroom for 3 floors! There is no kitchen in the 2nd hostel and there is zero atmosphere. I wouldn't recommend this hostel if you want to sleep & meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.6

As the Hostel was sully booked we were taken to the second house which is about 7 doors down the road from the main hostel. The facilities here were not the same. Also on arrival our check in took a very long time even though we were not queuing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2016
10.0

Lovely staff...clean..great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
9.7

Great room and the kitchen is well organised and equipped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
7.4

Just stayed for a night because had another hostel booked. It was good. Walking distance from royal mile, nice common room. Beds were ok, could have more washrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
7.1

Hostel was clean, staff were friendly, beds were comfy, but the location and atmosphere were not the best for me. Also this hostel was considerably more expensive than its main competitor Castle Rock even though it didn't have any social events or places to bring all the guests together. It was far too quiet for my liking. Location was ok...20minutes to walk into town. Also very quiet neighborhood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.