Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Argyle Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
9.7

It was a lovely, quiet, (bit of vintage) place with nice staff and people. We really enjoyed our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.0

Feels like a large cosy house. There's a conservatory and back garden (a little collective gardening could transform it from shabby to beautiful in a weekend) and I like that the toilets are individual. Security not great at back of house as broken fence and door locks into house are inadequate. Also in the absence of bunk bed ladders in dormitories there should be chairs/stools to make access to top bunks safer and easier, especially at night when you're half asleep and need to go for a wee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
10.0

Great place and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Decent hostel located in a nice area of Edinburgh. Perfect if if you are looking for somewhere quieter to stay. I really like the Marchmont neighbourhood because it is close enough to the center that everything is walkable but far enough from the Royal Mile that you are not surrounded by tourists.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.4

Clean and organized but if they ask for a £10 deposit for the key and have no one at the desk eary in the morning to return your deposit if you leave early. Otherwise great location and facilities. Would use this place again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
8.9

I think it should be my best hostle experience . the house is incredible good, and the key as well !! the guy in the reception is so hot even smocking !! But the location is kinda far away, and the Telly is not working. So if you don't mind walking some more and don't watch Telly. I strongly recommend . hopefully the hot guy is on duty when you check in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.0

A lovely half hour walk from pretty much anywhere, argyle backpackers was a great little hostel. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
4.9

We were 3 friends booked the 4 dormitory room and 2 of us we had to sleep in the upper bed.There were NO STAIRS to the beds as should be. So we climbed to reach the beds.The solution provide by the reception was to use a chair or a side table.The solution was ridiculous because it was dangerous and actually we put ourselves in high risk climbing to the beds. I have been in many hostels whole over Europe and Asia and never saw something like that. We were lucky not to be hurt. I don't recommend

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.9

It's not the slickest hostel, but I absolutely loved my stay here. It felt homely, relaxed and like a sharehouse. I spent a lot of time hanging out in the lounge and sunroom. I loved how the 2 kitchens were open 24/7. They were spacious and well equipped. Location was in a nice quiet neighbourhood right by the Meadows and University of Edinburgh. It's about a 15-20 min walk to Waverley Station. It was annoying though to walk from New Town back to the hostel after a long day out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
5.7

The facilities are not that good. Not enough plugs in room. The reception is not 24 hours, only working until 10:00 pm, really inconvenient.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.