Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Argyle Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1616 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1616 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Mar 2017
8.6

Cute place. Just outside the main parts of the city. Best sleep at a hostel. Shower didn't work very well. Nice people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Mar 2017
10.0

All I can say is that this place is great. It is very well located, despite you have to walk about 15 minutes to the main attractions, the location in my opinion is great. But the best of this place is the staff. I had the chance to speak with some of them and they all were really friendly, but Adrian was just great, friendly and very helpful, he did a really good job! The place has a really nice and friendly atmosphere and was clean at all times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Argyle Backpackers is one of the best hostels I've had the privilege of staying in. The staff were helpful and friendly and they made the whole experience very enjoyable. The location is amazing, as it's just on the edge of the meadows, and close to convenient shops. Argyle Backpackers was one of the cheapest options in Edinburgh so my expectations weren't high, but the value for money is incredible. I will definitely be returning. 10/10. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Really great hostel, chilled quiet vibe, beautiful big building, nice big kitchen, it was like having our own place but with nice people popping in and out. The staff were super-helpful and friendly. Really happy we chose argyl backpackers id definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
8.0

The hostel is a bit of a walk from Edinburgh city center, but you can't beat the price. The low score on security is simply because the lockers were too small to actually put much of anything in. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.7

I had a great time at this hostel. Of course I will be back there!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
9.7

Excellent location, new keysafe box at the door which worked brilliantly. We'll be staying here anytime we need somewhere in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Very nice place! Good if you want a quieter place to come back to after a day out. There is two full kitchens, a living room, and dining area. A mini market is across the street and a grocery store a few minute walk a way. There's a big park nearby with lots of families and dogs. with the Old town just a few minute walk away. If you're planning on coming I recommend the 35 bus from the airport. This one comes the closest to the hostel and is the cheapest option. Overall it was a cozy place!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • huntsean5666
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.7

Was a nice clean friendly hostel with a warm atmosphere, though we didn't find reception particularly helpful or informative when we arrived, we weren't expecting much as it was the cheapest place we could find available for new years and we had a pleasant stay in small yet comfortable and tidy room next to a bathroom and shower. Was ok. Probably wouldn't recommend at the price we paid but for it, but it was a new years premium, maybe at other times of year it is much more reasonable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.1

The hostel is a little bit of a walk away from the city centre but its a nice walk through the Meadows and cobbled streets to get there. Value for money was good and the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was difficult to lock and we could tell it hadn't been hoovered for a while so we had to ask for this to be done as it was quite gross. The staff sorted it straight away though. The atmosphere was good in the hostel with several communal areas and the bathrooms were kept really clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.