Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Argyle Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,577 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,577 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
Argyle Backpackers Located at 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont, Edinburgh.
Argyle Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH9 1JL 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont
85% 1577
55.9384090 -3.1911420
Argyle Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.9

The place had a great character to it! had to climb high windy stairs to the third floor to get to the room , but it was very cosy!. The place is far from being brand new, but is kept extremely clean and tidy! Did not like that one had to use toilet and shower on the ground floor between the hours of 11.30pm and 7.30am- not practical at all! No heating in the room either,the duvet was very warm and the mattress was super cosy! Staff are very friendly.Manager was slightly tight to my taste:)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
10.0

Great place great location very relaxed area good bars places to eat and shop in coming on my next trip in November the lady running the place was very helpfull this place had the feeling you could move in for three months and not wont to leave .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Oct 2016
9.4

Chilled out, super cosy hostel located at a perfect distance from the city centre. Not a party hostel but not cloistered or boring either. Fantastically comfortable, totally warm in the colder months, lovely helpful staff who go above and beyond. Well located for a stroll into the old town or new town for sightseeing or a night out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
8.0

The rooms were clean and neat, exactly as described. The key was left for us which was helpful as we were arriving late though perhaps a text to tell us the location of he hidden key instead of a note on the door might have been a bit safer! We arrived late and left early so didn't meet any staff in person but they helpfully called to arrange payment for the outstanding amount.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Oct 2016
8.6

This hostel was great! It felt more like a home and I slept like a rock in my bed, which isn't often the case at hostels. The kitchen facility was nice and clean, with full use of the stove/oven, microwave, and fridge. Bathrooms were great too! My only disappointment was that they didn't inform me of their front desk hours (they're not open 24 hours like most hostels), so I never got my 10 pound key deposit back. They did offer to credit it back to my card though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
4.6

It was way too expensive. Double the price of many Edinburgh hostels, and much less appealing. The beds were old and squeaky, with not much room between the bottom and top bunks. The location was okay, but not as central as I would have liked. The kitchen was nice, the bathrooms were nice. But I would at least expect breakfast to be included for such a high price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Sep 2016
8.0

Staff was friendly. Sometimes u have to ring the desk phone if the hours r past. Manager/owner was nice. I felt very at rest and home in the common areas. It's quiet and peaceful. I enjoyed the kitchen area and backyard for dining. Each bathroom/shower is unique which I liked. Most showers are great-one was not temp controlled. The dorm I stayed in was spacious enough and comfortable. It is just across a nice refreshing walk through The Meadows and close to Arthur hill. Definitely liked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Sep 2016
5.7

Pros: clean, quiet, good kitchen, nice common areas. Cons: awful security, bad wifi, clueless staff, awkward bathroom facilities, uncomfortable/broken beds, inconvenient location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
8.0

Argyle Backpackers is a great location near Edinburgh university but not too far of a walk from Edinburgh Castle. It's also a quaint, clean and cozy place to stay. Wifi is on all floors of the hostel. There is no 24 hour receptionist like the other hostels I stayed in so you have to be weary of that if you are a late night check-in traveler like myself

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
8.3

Was there for only one night but the staff were quite friendly and the beds were extremely comfortable! The hostel was very homey and only about a 15 min walk to old town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.