Hostelworld.com

Argyle Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,501 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,501 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Argyle Backpackers Located at 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont, Edinburgh.
Argyle Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH9 1JL 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont
87% 1501
55.9384090 -3.1911420
Argyle Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jun 2016
9.1

I liked my stay at the Argyle. It was exceptionally quiet and my room had a view of the street below, which I enjoyed. The location is nice, although a bit of a walk to the main drag in the old part of town -- about 10 to 15 minutes, some of that up hill. I liked the conservatory off the kitchen -- also quiet with a tin roof that made the rain a special experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pacal_ed
  • Mauritius, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.3

I had a short stay but everything was clean and well organised. I was late for the check in but, after notifying them, they put the key in the letter box and emailed me the code to get it. I arrived around 1h in the morning and didn't have any problem to get there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
10.0

very nice indeed. good mixture of people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th May 2016
7.7

Nice , near a great place the park but 15mins walk from the centre of the city. It's wifi is ok but being refurbished so may improve soon. Cooking facilities were quite cook and the room had its own tv ,draws and sink. Would probably stay at a closer hostel next time though this was quite nice and would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
9.4

I had a wonderful stay at Argyle Backpackers! Located in a quiet neighborhood only a 15 minute walk from Old Town. Don't miss the Meadows park one block away! Spacious kitchens and a lovely patio out back. Not ideal for rowdy groups, guests were generally quiet and respectful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.1

The room on the top floor has window on the roof and which hasn't lock. I felt little unsecured due to that.Also bathrooms available on the top floor cant be used in the early morning and late night because of glass windows without curtains, so during those hours you need to use bathrooms in the ground floor or lower floors. Otherwise it was nice there. Staff was also helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
8.9

Only issues with this hostel is that it is a good 10 minute walk to most of the sights and that no one is available for checkin/out from 10 pm to 9:30 am the next morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st May 2016
6.9

There were some problems but not insurmountable and the staff got there in the end. I enjoyed Edinburgh and the location - it was quite good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
8.0

Great stay, close to everything if you don't mind a walk through the park!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Juliju22
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing place to stay. There was a sink in my room, which I found very helpful. Nice beds and a cool terrace to chill. Amazing location, you can walk pratically everywhere! It's less than 10 minutes from the old city center. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.