Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Argyle Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
Argyle Backpackers Located at 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont, Edinburgh.
Argyle Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH9 1JL 14 Argyle Place, Marchmont
86% 1550
55.9384090 -3.1911420
Argyle Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Sep 2016
8.3

Was there for only one night but the staff were quite friendly and the beds were extremely comfortable! The hostel was very homey and only about a 15 min walk to old town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2016
7.4

Pleasant staff, good central location, relatively quiet, a bit shabby, few shops and cafes near by, and a beautiful park, not too expensive for Edinburgh.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
5.7

I had stayed here before and it was much better than this last visit. The staff seemed unorganised. I was disappointed with the room they provided for the price. However the kitchen facilities are good and there is a lot of really good chill out space.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I have ever been to. The staff are awesome and very helpful. Bathrooms are clean, showers always with hot water available. The hostel in general is clean and quite. I highly recommend it to anyone wants to enjoy Eduinbrugh with a reasonable accommodation price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
8.0

This hostel was not right in the heart of the city, but just on the other side of The Meadows (a really beautiful park). This was ideal for me and my bf since we had just stayed in downtown Dublin and were looking for something not quite as vibrant. The neighborhood has a bar on the corner a few restaurants and a grocery store vert nearby. It's only a 5-10 min walk to downtown. There are two great kitchens and friendly staff. Great place to stay for private rooms, but no AC :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.0

Argyle Backpackers is in a beautiful house that is set away from the busy city centre but is also and easy walking distance. A very nice place to stay with small lockers in the room for your important item.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
8.0

This was a pleasant hostel in a lovely area. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen reasonably equipped. However, the rooms have no bedside lights so you either have to have the room light on or be in complete darkness . There was no obvious stash of labels, pens and boxes for food in the kitchen, though labelling is required. And the receptionist was in a meeting during the one hour advertised for checkout, and annoyed at being disturbed. A decent hostel but could be improved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
9.7

Well located hostel with friendly and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
10.0

Great location, keeping it simple and feeling like home and very nice, helpful staff make for a great travel experience. I was lucky to be sharing a room with polite people too, but overall you can have your space and hang out in the living room. A lot of amenities were offered, such as wifi, basic cooking supplies, fridge, storage space, TV. I never saw the bathroom dirty and generally, considering I had to stay much longer than I planned, everything went over smoothly. 10/10 would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.7

Homely and comfortable in a nice quiet location. Nearby parks and supermarkets, eateries and a lovely pub

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.