Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ariki Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
Ariki Backpackers Located at 25 Ariki Street, Taranaki, New Plymouth.
Ariki Backpackers
New Zealand
New Plymouth Taranaki 4342 25 Ariki Street, Taranaki
87% 171
-39.0571505 174.0727686
Ariki Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Jun 2016
9.4

Staff is incredibly helpful and friendly! Nice facilities and large kitchen with lots of fridge room. Other guests didn't seem too friendly, but we were only there for a night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.7

Stayed in a private double it had a TV! Nice fresh linen and towls with soap and shampoo. Kitchen was large and quiet :) would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Apr 2016
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay at ariki backpackers. We stayed only one night and I can't say much about the location as we mainly used it as a stop to taranaki but the staff was nicest one I met so far during my travels through NZ. Definitely worth going!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
9.4

Great stay. Would recommend to others

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
7.7

Nice hostel. Not as exciting as portrayed on their website. Convenient location close to Skycity. Not a bang for your buck for sure. Staff were very indifferent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2016
6.0

Worst bed I've slept in after about four months in NZ. Did I say bed? Sorry, I meant earthquake simulator. My room-mate checked out the same night because she was too scared the bunk bed would collapse. In the second night another person joined, and whenever the person on top of the bunk bed did the slightest movement, the whole bed was shaking and there was no way of sleeping. Also: right above a bar, hence noisy; holes in roof and wallpaper coming down the wall; location of hostel is however +

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
9.1

The staff were very helpful and welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Feb 2016
7.1

Loud! Karaoke bar next door. Our room was permanently open and then there was a key stuck from the outside so everyone could let themselves in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Feb 2016
10.0

The hostel was very well placed in New Plymouth and to the bus stop. When using Google Maps before leaving Australia it got lost and sent me behind the bus shelter, but I did find where I was meant to go when physically there. People were very friendly and helpful. The room was warm due to it being summer, but the hostel depending on where you are can be quite cool. I would recommend others to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Feb 2016
8.9

Really good hostel except the nightly karaoke outside which didn't let us sleep until really late at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.