Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ariki Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Mar 2017
8.3

I stayed in the 10 bed-dorm which was split up in two sections. The beds were comfy, there was two showers (but both of them had problems with the drain). The location is really central, but it means it can be loud at night especially on karaoke night. Bring ear plugs. Wi-fi did not work in the room. Kitchen is big but not much sitting room. The terasse and TV room are quite nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
8.6

The location is great because it's so close to town, but that unfortunately means that it's really loud at night on the weekends. There's a karaoke night going on at the pub below the hostel on Saturday nights, so the loud off-key singing is unpleasant. The rooftop patio area was the highlight. The ventilation was poor in the room, but because of the loud noises, we didn't open the windows. Plus, the bunk bed was very unsteady and shaky. Staff was very friendly though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • avinashddutt
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Feb 2017
7.4

The hostel itself is in a central location, and is quite close to the centre of town and main attractions. The staff member rob was quite friendly. A homely feel with a kitchen and lounge, the place is clean and WiFi is good. The biggest problem is the noise, there is a bar or two right underneath, I was there on a Saturday night and it was noisy until about 3am, I couldn't sleep even after climbing the mountain. So if you want sleep on a weekend maybe not the best option.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.7

My favourite hostel in NZ so far. Really friendly atmosphere and good facilities. Rob was super welcoming! Cheap laundry, clean ensuite shower. Perfect location and good wifi. Most importantly: toastie maker in the kitchen and free tea and coffee!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
24th Jan 2017
7.7

A superbly located hostel with a very old-fashioned decor. The rooms were quite cramped, and the showers had no locks. It was acceptable but I'm glad I only stayed for one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.9

One of the best hostels in NZ wohoo! Super close to bus, seems kinda eh at first but it's very social and homely

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
15th Jan 2017
8.9

Brilliant location, right in the middle of town and 10 second walk from bus station. Very secure as well, with keys needed to access two different doors before entering building. Nice balcony area to enjoy in the evening as well, would return!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels in NZ! Brilliant location ❤ definitely recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Dec 2016
8.3

A bit old facilities but besides that everything ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bendufeu2116152
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
3.7

The hostel is above a nightclub. the music stopped at 3am. worst hostel ive ever stayed in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.