Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Around The World Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,035 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,035 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
Around The World Backpackers Located at 314 Barbadoes Street, , Christchurch.
Around The World Backpackers
New Zealand
Christchurch Canterbury 314 Barbadoes Street
84% 1035
-43.5290890 172.6458549
Around The World Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Sep 2016
9.1

Staff is very warm, welcoming and helpfull. Hostel has a nice kitchen that serves as a meetingpoint for all hostelguests. Garden is big and sunny. 4p Dorms are a somewhat small but beds are really comfortable. Shower is nice, hot and clean. Great atmosphere!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.3

Nice place to stay! Free parking! Bed was comfy and clean! Staff were friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
6.3

A lot of long term stays, people mostly kept to themselves. A bit older, In a very quite part of the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sammibath
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jun 2016
9.1

I would definatly stay here again, there isnt much going on around Christchurch so there wasnt much atmosphere cause most people are working. But the staff were really friendly and close to the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd May 2016
9.7

Really good hostel. Only stayed for a night but it was a good one. Clean, friendly and small place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great review! I'll pass your feedback on to our cleaners who do a great job every day again. All the best for your travels.

27th Apr 2016
7.4

I only stayed one night but hostel overall okay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We would love to hear from you how we could have scored more points. I noticed the 6 point for security, we do have a CCTV security system operating in the hostel. All the best for your trip.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.0

Great hostel. Kitchen a little small! TV room was nice. Hostel location was a little walk to get to supermarkets and town about 20 mins.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great review! Glad you enjoyed our TV room with the Sky TV and lots of DVD's, hopefully you were here for the movie and free popcorn night. The bigger supermarkets are about a 20 minute walk and there is a SuperValue 10 mins away. Most central city locations like the bus station are only a 10/15 minute walk away. Thanks for your stay with us!

11th Apr 2016
8.6

Nice hostel with clean rooms and good facilities. It's not to far from a bus stop but it's better to walk to the centre. From the hostel to the I-site (where most activities is) is a 10-15 minute walk. The nearest supermarket is 15-20 minute walk. Christchurch is still being rebuilt so remember that. Nearest food is fast food (Wendy's) 5-10 minute walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your nice review. I'll pass your feedback about the cleanliness on to our cleaners who do a great job every day. You might have missed a few nice cafe's, restaurant and the subway in the hostel's area. With the Rebuild lots of new places open up, lucky us to explore them all.

29th Mar 2016
9.1

I loved it here. Friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms. Nice size communal kitchen, garden and places to sit outside. And bike rental too- we made getting around Christchurch much easier.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great review! Exploring Christchurch with one of our bikes is the best way of seeing a fast changing city. Safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.