Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Around The World Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1094 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1094 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
9.1

Great little hostel and everyone was friendly. Much needed after a couple of nighst in a large and unsocial hostel. The beds were very comfortable and the hostel was super clean. They even let me store my bags for a week 😊 Only one thing as an improvement is the light in the hallway. With it being on all night, the light shines in onto the bunk beds when you open the door in the night. I did feel I was interrupting my dorm mates sleep when arriving late and leaving early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
7.4

Nice hostel, good kitchen, garden and knowledgeable staff. Quite a social hostel but noise from staff quarters late in the evening was annoying in our room. Generally a decent hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
9.4

Heidi was so sweet and helpful, really helped me figure out my plans while in Christchurch which was very much appreciated! Great to have a computer room to get some travel planning done! The kitchen was nice and clean and there's a lovely outdoor area to chill. People staying in the hostel were also super friendly and easy to get along with. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.9

Lovely small and friendly hostel with nice kitchen and garden area. It is a bit of a walk into town but not too far to the centre. Bathrooms very clean and staff helpful. Would stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
7.1

A bit far of a hike with your backpack on. The rooms were small, but individual power outlets beside each bed. Carpet on the floor, which I never get because there was a lot of dirt on it. Female only bathrooms, as well as mixed which was nice. Tv room and computer room downstairs. Computer room essential because wifi didn't work most of the time. Big outdoor area in the back to hang out in, as well as lines to dry clothes. Pretty small kitchen for the amount of people in the hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad you appreciated the power outlets beside the bed, each bed has it's own bed light and pouch as well. We get our carpets cleaned regularly by a professional company. Our kitchen can be a bit small when all the guests are around at the same time but luckily people tend to spread around in our spacious back yard. Safe travels!

  • emmavanwees1682
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.4

Best hostel in NZ!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Dec 2016
9.1

Best hostel I stayed in NZ. Staff were super friendly and helpful. The garden is an idyllic little paradise where you can chill in the hammocks or socialise depending on the mood you're in. Lots of small things make the hostel great, a plug and light for each bunk bed, the herb garden, having an iron, hairdryers and straighteners at the reception. Would loved for this to have been a hostel where I stayed long term if I was staying in Christchurch. Great to meet people too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2016
7.7

Nice hostel. Location not the most central.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
7.1

I stayed only for a night. It is a nice place but a little away from city centre. Staff is friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Nov 2016
9.4

I was very happy in this hostel. The staff were very friendly and there are loads of free extras such as telephone calls, excellent wifi and lots of tourist flyers. There are also plugs for each bed, located beside where you sleep. Very impressed!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.