X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Around The World Backpackers Reviews

314 Barbadoes Street, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
873 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

One of the dirtiest hostels I've been to. The bathroom was constantly disgusting and literally didn't want to put my stuff anywhere in it. The kitchen was far too small for the amount of people in the hostel (it was full due to lack of hostels in Christchurch) and there was no living area big enough to really create any atmosphere. Felt a bit like a prison. Wouldn't stay here again. The only positive was the location which was near the intercity bus stop and town centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Yes we are small cozy hostel. Our showers are clean but the floor gets wet. You even gave the staff a terrible rating, we went our of our way to help you so I am surprised you rated us so badly. I hope you had a good flight home all the best.

71%

The bathroom was the dirtiest i have seen. Rooms were clean and tidy though

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your review, I am guessing the shower was made dirty from a previous guests. The showers blocks are cleaned everyday and are checked on every shift. All the best with your trip.

60%

Staff were a bit rude when we checked in seemed like we were disturbing them...?! Walls are paper thin so all the music and noise from downstairs could be heard quite clearly in our room right until about 5am which was not so noise. Light and socket at each bed was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Walls are concrete but windows are not double glazing so that could have been where the noise was coming in. We are a very busy hostel so our staff members can have a lot on at once. We always get great reviews about our customer service, so sorry to hear you did not receive the same. All the best with your trip.

66%

Small hostel with all the necessary facilities, but nothing extraordinary. I thought it was a bit too small. The room didn't have much space for luggage, the kitchen was over crowded, and they don't have a common area only a small separate TV and computer room. For one night it was fine, the staff was also very helpful and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, yes we are a small, cozy hostel, we hope you enjoyed the unlimited free wifi, plenty of power plugs and hooks in all the dorms. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

100%

Loved it!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying!

89%

Great hostel, friendly staff, free wifi is always a plus and the free BBQ was delicious!! Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great comments, so pleased you enjoyed the free wifi, and the free bbq, we want everyone to feel they are getting value for money while staying at the hostel. All the best with your trip.

89%

Nice small hostel. Lovely staff. Slightly out the way from town and common rooms quite small. But lovely stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review all the best with your travels.

86%

Friendly and helpful staffs...Facilities are very clean...Good place to chill out...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, and pleased you enjoyed your time at ATW.

86%

The staff was great. Aron the Hungarian guy is awesome and helped us a lot. Thanks for everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing us.

63%

the garden city need more time to recovered from the earthquakes, may god bless it and its people, really feel hurted when the first day i arrived and saw all buildings are need to be re-build. Location of the hostel is too far from the new cdb, free wifi but not working in the room, it was very quiet around the hostel at night. Staff are nice and helpfull in everything you ask.


97%

Nice hostel and staff was friendley. A really good thing was the eletrical and lamps by every bed. Thanks guyes!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review, and really happy you enjoyed the new LED bedside lights!

94%

Excellent staff! I couldn't be happier with the service! Great and friendly place! We loved it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review, all the best with your trip

100%

I was very surprised by this hostel in the heart of Christchurch. It is pretty amazing and I wish I could have stayed longer Comfy dorms, great kitchen and facilities, free unlimited wifi, nice staff and a great backgarden, where they organize barbecues with live music. Had a great time and would definitely return there when in Christchurch!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review, we work really hard to make our hostel a great place to stay, all the best with your travels.

94%

Late night check in was really easy. Showers were nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and pleased the late check in was easy. We find our late arrival instructions work well and most people find their key and dorm easily enough.

91%

This was a very nice small Hostel and we had free BBQ. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they also did our laundry. Everything is very clean and from the kitchen you have access to the nice garden. It is good if you want to relax and need some rest. We felt very welcome in this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review, we try to treat all our guests as we would like to be treated. all the best with your travels.

97%

Wonderful place. A bit far from the airport, but is probably the best hostel in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your review all the best

80%

Clean hostel with nice garden area. People using as stop off point when entering/leaving nz. Would use again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review.

83%

Great accomodation, clean rooms, bathrooms and kitchen, nice backyard and very friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately, there was no free pizza as announced, but at least a movie night with free popcorn. In general a good choice to stay at.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review. Our weekly events have been changed and I thought I had updated all online websites. Wednesday nights movie night, Thursday night live entertainment and BBQ, Saturday nights free BBQ. All the best with your travels.

74%

Small place with helpful patient staff. Not much space and the

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, yes we are a small hostel but a lot of guests like this. Thanks for staying and all the best with your travels.

83%

Small hostel. Only one female and one mixed bathroom for the whole hostel. So no privacy if you are a guy. Lots of free stuff from people leaving NZ.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we do also have the bathroom downstairs that everyone is welcome to use if staying on the second floor.

« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback