X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Around The World Backpackers Reviews

314 Barbadoes Street, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
928 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

One of the better hostels I have stayed in in NZ. Bathrooms upstairs were very clean, if a bit small. The tv room was comfortable and plenty of channels. The kitchen was a good size and we'll laid out. The Wi-Fi wasn't working when I was there, they provided us another option but it seemed to struggle with all the people using it. Assuming the actual wifi had been working, it was free and available in all rooms.


94%

kitchen, tv room and pc room open all the time so that was awesome. beds comfortable and seemed new. power points for everyone in the room. great location short walk to cbd.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for reviewing us.

66%

We got a bad impression of this place as soon as we checked in as the girl on the desk wasn't exactly friendly. Fortunately the owner and the other staff were nice and helpful when we asked for anything. We were put in a 4 bed dorm with 2 long stayers that were cleaning at the hostel. It would be ideal if they were in a dorm with other long stay people as they tend to mix with each other more anyway so it made the atmosphere a bit strange for us. Good free wifi. Clean kitchen and bathrooms too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your room, we don't have longtermers during the summer and normally our cleaners are very chatty, all the best with the rest of your trip.

83%

Decent place to stay while in Christchurch. Free WIFI was good, had some issues with it on the last day but the staff were quick to get it sorted out which was nice. Beds were comfortable as well and had reading lights/power outlets next to each bed which was nice. Bathrooms were alright, clean but looked a little run down. Had a nice garden area out back which was nice to hang out in and was fairly close to the city centre. Overall, decent enough place to stay if you're visiting Christchurch.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and reviewing the hostel.

83%

Best beds I've ever slept in at a hostel! Very comfortable with nice sheets. Great kitchen with many useful "gadgets". Although Christchurch is not exactly the place to be... We just stayed for the night and then got up early next morning to move on but this hostel was definitely worth a stay and probably the best part of Christchurch.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear you had a good sleep, and enjoyed our facilities, happy travels.

83%

Nice place to stay in Christchurch, about a ten minute walk from the centre. It is clean and has really good facilities. Staff could be a bit more friendly but aside from that, a really well managed and comfortable place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us all the best with our travels

80%

It's a small hostel so it's very accessible and the owner is really nice! Also they have free high quality wifi, so.. awesome! Could watch all my netflix videos :D A little bit more cleaning in the showers wouldn't hurt, but overall very good hostel!

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

97%

Amazing staff and great hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely review all the best with your trip.

91%

The staff were so friendly! Everything was clean and I would gladly stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review all the best with the rest of your trip.

60%

Terrible wifi!!! Takes you lots of time to get online and keepa disconecting you all the time. By te way, the hostel just gives you 1 password, which allows you to connect only one devide at time. Not good for any backpacker.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I wish you had come to see us about it disconnecting.Its a pity you blame us for the wifi issue, the hostel pays for the free guests unlimited wifi so we would have contacted our supplier to find out why you were having problems.The wifi is available through out the hostel and in the garden.We give out as many vouchers you want for all the different device's that mayb used at the same time. We give out 1GB at a time but if you wanted 10GB that is fine a new voucher is given out when you run out.

91%

Very good hostel, within walking distance to the center. Nice garden and good rooms really. Kitchen is a bit small but that's ok. I recommand for sure.


91%

Friendly staff. Good kitchen facilities. Would be good if the rooms had storage lockers, but otherwise no complaints :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing us, hope to have lockers early next year. Happy Christmas

97%

The staff was amazing and the rooms and facilities were very clean and well kept! Only and short walk to the city center as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely review thanks so much have a great christmas

83%

Very friendly people and relaxed atmosphere.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers have a great christmas

91%

Unlimited Wifi is great! The place was very clean, comfortably small (four person dorm!), and had good facilities for cooking, TV, internet. Personable staff, only about 10-15 minutes walk from the city center. I saw a cleaner there each day, and she did a great job of keeping everything sanitary and tidy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review. Merry Christmas

86%

I was lucky, I booked the wrong day and arrived a day before my reservation, and I've got the last bed. The beds were very comfy, ok, I was road tripping for about 2 weeks before

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review nice you picked our hostel to relax.

91%

Great place to crash for a couple of nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review.

80%

Nice place with helpful staff and good atmosphere. The wifi is free and unlimited and fast! Good place to do your laundry as detergent was included in the washing price. Walking distance to city centre, parks and supermarkets.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review, enjoy your time in the South Island.

97%

Great hostel. Lovely reception lady, Connie who was very helpful and friendly. A great atmosphere in the hostel with free wifi, tea, coffee, seasoning and spices! A bit of a walk to the centre not too much though around 10-15 minutes. Supermarkets are 20 minutes away, Countdown and Pak n Save which are across the road from each other. Christchurch has some great murals and street art, lovely botanical garden and shops in some funky shipping containers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review, all the best with the rest of your trip.

77%

Overall a lovely little hostel, everyone was friendly, it was clean, beds were comfy, it was close enough to town and the free BBQ was a bonus. Very welcoming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments all the best with the rest of your trip.

« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback