X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Around The World Backpackers Reviews

314 Barbadoes Street, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
841 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

We got little help from the staff regarding anything! The kitchen was well stocked with equipment though. Carpets and linen were dirty and bathroom on bottom floor horrid. Had to wait 2.5 hrs to use the laundry facilities as they use same facilities (!washer and 1 dryer at $$$$) to wash the hostel things.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kylie very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I will look into the issues you brought up. regards managment

100%

Great location, friendly staff, clean and new place, well equipped kitchen, fast internet and 1GB limit on it, the best option in town (I tried 3 hostels in this area during my stay).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your rating Tomasz, happy travels.

77%

Romantic mood, very kind of staff


83%

Nice backpacker, Nice staff, cool garden! I'd recommend it to anyone who needs a place to stay in Christchurch!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Julie, happy travels

77%

We really enjoy our nigths but we had bed bugs at our first nigth. Something sould be done for the smell in the showers. There was a unpleasant smell because of the mould.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review Rocco, we will check all those matters you mentioned asap! happy travels.

77%

Really friendly staff. Internet is free and superfast. Shame that bathrooms get a bit messy and the water is either too cold or way to hot. Not the closet to the city but still in a nice location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments Samantha, happy travels

74%

Shawn is doing a great job

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Patrick thanks for you comment! we appericiate it.

100%

Great hostel for chilling and meeting people, just meet ans have predrinks in the funky kitchen and then head out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you comments Benjamin, happy travels!

80%

Great place to stay if hostel is not busy. Street noise can be a bother at night and in the early morning. Wifi was fantastic and the staff was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Luke! Great having you stay, happy travels!

1 2 Next » last »
(29 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback