X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arsenal Tavern Backpackers Reviews

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
1689 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

Most unpleasant hostel experience I have ever had. Felt unsafe and uncleanly. I have stayed in many hostels Including ones in Central America and Asia and have never had an experience like this. They only took cash for the reservation and suggested I go out in the middle of the night to grab some. When I refused they all of a sudden had a debit machine. Sketchy area, seemed like lots of guests were living there..similar to a homeless shelter. Place was falling apart. Poor bedding. Bad experience


80%

You will take from this hostel an opinion depending on what you want out of your stay in London. It is great value for money, in zone 2, and a 5 min walk to the tube. The rooms are not the nicest, but everything was clean enough if not just a little rough around the edges - but I cannot complain for the price I paid for its amazing location. The staff were really welcoming and friendly, facilities all worked, and I managed to get 2 good nights sleeps without disturbances.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the very fair and honest review!

69%

Age restricted which isn't ideal but I was allowed one night stay. No kitchen facilities to speak of. Furniture needs replacing and 3 tier bunk bed wasn't ideal. Mattresses are terrible!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for the review. Sorry about our age restriction, however we clearly state this in our description. But being the nice people we are we did allow you to stay the night.

20%

This hostel cannot improve it should be closed down.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do not tolerate aggressive behaviour at out hostel towards staff and guests. You gave us no option but to kick you out! Enjoy the rest of your travels :)

66%

Beds; the mattresses were way to thin and pillows were way to to small made it almost impossible to sleep on them without 5 pints

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the 25% discount in the bar!

100%

Good hostel, nice staff, good location and connection with central london!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeeesssss! Another happy guest!! Thanks for the excellent review my friend. See you again someday.

29%

This hostel is the worst place I have ever been in, everything from the showers that feel like they have set it on pits of hell mode. To the atmosphere that smells of defeat and high drug/alcohol consumption. To the staff team whose sole purpose seems to be getting through their day. To the clearly unkept, wall-crumbling, gloomy-looking rooms. This place looks more like the owner saw the place as a good opportunity to make easy money, very low costs and no fucks given!

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very friendly and willing to help and for that i guve top marks! The rooms are a bit sad and there are no locks to secure your personal items.

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the excellent review! We do have lockers, not sure how you missed these in your room?

83%

We were not too happy about how moist we we're in the rooms as it could be very hot at some points with so many people. We thought that there could have been a little better cleaning on the toilets and showers as they were not always good looking and clean. However staff were very friendly and helpful and any problems we reports were taken care off. This place was horribly run down and needs to be improved.

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Moist? Where? Harhar! Thank you for the top review!

100%

Very friendly and helpful staff! The hostel is conveniently located near Finsbury Park

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review! We love our Kiwi guests, we even have a really hot one working on reception.

83%

It was alright, mainly for the younger end though, pleasant enough, an old building in need of repair. Very good value though. I would stay again. Showers have no privacy.

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you had a good time. Sorry about the showers, bit like a nude beach sometimes in there. But hey travelling is all about trying new things :) Enjoy the rest of your travels.

86%

For the price you pay its a decent hostel

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Decent review by a decent guest! Thanks.

60%

Very suitable for youngsters, not good for people over 30 I would say. The mattresses are just extremely thin. The bathrooms very small and the showers are not great either.


71%

Bad: Small toilets. No personal plug/lights. Lack of railings for the 3rd bed. Windows couldn't be closed. Need to bring own locks for lockers, which are placed at the common corridor. Good: Near Emirates stadium. Cheap. Plenty of budget eateries around. Pool and PS4 at lounge. Strong WiFi throughout.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the fair and honest review! That window has been repaired.

57%

It's very old, Dont have a structure like other hostels For one night ok...more you can choose better Hostel in London, the same price or less!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Its true, we're very old. Probabaly older than Queen Elizabeth.

83%

As a solo traveller i was looking for a hostel where i could meet people in a comfortable environment. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and so were the guests. However while the common room is is very large and cool the dorms were very bad. Its clear this place is not well maintained. Saying that I Still had an amazing time and if you just use the rooms for sleep you will have a good time too. Improve the dorms and this would be an amazing hostel in London.

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So happy to read that you had a good time!

86%

Staff was really friendly on reception, except for the bar who were very rude and aggressive towards us. That area was terrible! The 6 bed room was very big and the toilettes were clean. Great location near to Arsenal football team.

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hope you enjoyed the game, 3-1 was a good result :) Thanks for the review.

100%

Very lovely place to stay and it had excellent storage and very good service including the internet.


94%

I was happy about the hostel because the location was great and staff were very friendly. The value i paid was very cheap and i wasn't even expecting those facilities such as pool table, tennis table, wifi, coffee .. but it was there and free. In general, I recommend this hostel :)

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We also now have a free Playstation 4 to use. And Chess! Soon we will also have scented 4 ply toilet paper!

94%

The hostel was an excellent location for our trip, only 5 stops from central London! Where it is located in North London is pretty cool as well with Camden and Holloway all close by.The facilities itself did not impress me but it was what we needed for our situation! If your just looking for a cheap place to lay your head at night this is the place, if your looking for 5 stars I would keep looking! Secondly, there was no easily accessible storage in the rooms. Overall it was a decent place!

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We agree North London is pretty cool, beats all that East London b******t and its sky high prices!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback