Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 1,787 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 1,787 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.1
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers Located at 175 Blackstock Road, , London.
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers
England
London N4 2JS 175 Blackstock Road
70% 1787
51.5609596 -0.0984235
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Aug 2016
8.9

I was pleasantly surprised with this hostel, especially since it's only £9 a night! It is a 10-minute walk to an underground station, so the location is pretty good. The staff is really nice and helpful as well! Be prepared for triple bunks and a mat instead of a mattress.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
6.9

The rooms wall were terrible,the must to fix it. The dubets very old. The shower very good because they renew it. Congratulations for that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
6.0

To be fair, the place is in a good location close to the underground station and has a nice common area (table tennis table, pool table and even a PS4). The shower has a good water pressure what is good as well and it was clean (so was the toilets). However the rooms were dirt. I can't even say they had a mattress because it was more like a bedroll. They didn't have plugs enough for the beds so people can charge their phones or laptops which was pretty annoying. You can't bring beer to it either

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review my friend. We don't allow people to bring their own beer as we have a alcohol licence; its against the law. Very happy you enjoyed our common room and the free facilities we provide. We are well aware that our dorms are not to a decent standard but this will be resolved with a planned refurbishment in the near future. However, this is also reflected in the bargain rates we charge.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
7.4

First night was rough, smelly small room but that's what was expected, beds are simply a gym mat on a metal frame bunk. Bathrooms are really small and awkward to get in and out off. I settled in after the first night. A+ wifi This place has wonderful staff, and a lot of character. I would stay again, cheap and close to the trains and park

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
2.6

READ FOR HONEST OPINION. The reason for our stay was bc it was so cheap.. Big mistake! The bed sheets were clearly really old, stained with holes. There's no kitchen, I was at the top and walked all the way to the bottom just to use the toilets bc the ones of my level were so gross. Someone in our room went through my bag, didn't bother telling the reception girl bc she was so disinterested and just wanted to go back to playing on her phone. Better off spending an extra £10 for somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We strongly recommend you inform staff of incidents of this nature regardless of their mood, which normally is high. We don’t advertise as having a kitchen. I can only apologise for the condition of the top floor toilet. However, the walk is not that far to the ones on the bottom! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel, I would definitely return. Fun atmosphere and friendly staff. Cheers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the excellent review!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
8.9

This hostel is great if you just want to do your own thing, there wasnt a lot of communication between the other people staying in the hostel. But the hostel is great, fairly clean showers, beds are comfortable, location is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
5.4

You get what you pay for, which is very little. It was easily the smelliest room that I have ever entered. The showers were cramped and the frosting had been scratched off in places.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We disagree. You get a lot for what you pay for here; free Wifi, free computer to use, free tea and coffee all day, free pool tables, free table tennis, free playstation 4, free cinema, amazing location, 25% discount in the bar on already cheap drinks, dirt cheap breakfast, cheap laundry, free water cooler, free towels, free luggage storage, free overnight parking ... the list goes on.

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
8.3

Good enough for one night stay. The bed is uncomfortable though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
9.1

I had no problems staying here. Perhaps the bed itself was a little uncomfortable but I've slept in worse.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the kind review. We hope to see you again.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.