X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arsenal Tavern Backpackers Reviews

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1577 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Very welcoming staff, and sufficient space given to guests. Flexibility in terms of time is also great- a nice stop on any journey

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location and easy to find! No lockers in the rooms, but outlets near most of the beds. Staff were brilliant!!

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The light, we asked twice to fix it. But none came until we check-out. Overall, staffs were friendly and helpful.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great service and assistance, very fast wifi. No kitchen and rooms were very, very run down.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The hostel had little or no facilities, the bathroom where horrible and so tiny.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the review. Very sorry to read that you did not have a good stay with us but happy to see you gave staff and our location top marks. Take care.

43%

I did not enjoy my stay. The upkeep was extremely poor. Tears and holes in couches and chairs. Common rooms, and bed rooms were dirty. The staff was ok, although they did not introduce themselves, which is a big deal. Overall i wasn't pleased and will not be going back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to read that you had a poor time here. Our vintage look doesn't appeal to everyone! Take care.

83%

This is a decent hostel, and definitely fine for the price. The best part was the awesome bar. The rooms were a bit crowded and the the beds uncomfortable. The showers lack privacy and you had to change with the door open. However, the staff were really helpful and friendly throughout our stay so that's a definite plus!

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the excellent review. We have now installed privacy screens in the showers so it doesn't feel so much like taking a shower in the wild!

97%

The people staying at the hostel were really nice and fun!! The guys at the reception were really nice as well and really helpful :D Good hostel and i felt at home

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the excellent review!

100%

Had a great stay despite being a spurs fan :)

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Showers could be a lot better. Helpful staff, good to have a fridge available. Overall, a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Showers could be a lot better and we are going to be ripping them down and starting again with them soon. Thanks for the top review my friend and we hope to see you again.

89%

they need to add breatfash for backpakers!!

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do have a breakfast?! All you can eat buffet just like they have at Wombats hostels, except we only charge £2 and not £4! Yay!!

91%

Everything was great, except for the bedrooms (which is kind of the most important thing when it comes to accommodations). The mattresses were poor, the duvet was not breathable, and the rooms were very stuffy. The showers and toilets were perfectly adequate, and the common room was splendid!

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Points noted about our dorms. We have big plans for them but for now they do the job. Thats for the top review.

100%

this is the second time ive stayed here the staff are so very helpfull and enjoyed my stay i would use it again keep up yhe good work regards callum

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the top marks Calum! Enjoy the rest of you trip pal.

100%

This hostel = awesomeness

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Welcoming staff member, smiley and made an effort to give a good welcome for this tired guest, who arrived late in the evening, after a long bus ride. When i had to leave in the early morning, a different receptionist was even more smiley. I suggest these kind of people get big bottle of vodka

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very cool hostel and especially for those solo traveling. The staff was very helpful when I had some last minute booking issues. The wifi was incredibly fast. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Rooms were very clean until the roof came down! Bar downstairs was fun to meet others. Lounge area was comfy and relaxing. Location was fantastic, we walked everywhere. Breakfast in the morning was delicious! (Although not included)

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed in a dorm. It was spacious and clean. The location of the hostel is the best thing about it. The common area is also big and cozy. The bar has some good offers and breakfast is really good for the prize.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I think Arsenal Tavern Hostel is a good choice for everybody, who want a good stay and fun. Location is really excellent, just a cross the street from Station. The staff is nice and helpful if you need anything. Most of all I like the private bathroom in the room. But there is just one thing i didn't like it so much and that was a bar downstairs, for a hostel it closes to early and is expensive

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our bar is actually cheap for London prices, but maybe not for binge drinkers like yourself! Very happy to read you had a good time here and we hope to see you again.

69%

The staff was very nice and helpful. I felt like my stuff was safe when i left it and I didn't have any problems with theft. Overall, the place was sort of dirty and there was little personal space to spend time in. The bathrooms were OK. Hot water worked, but again a little bit grimy. Many of the toilets didn't work. Luckily the place was close to the Finsbury Park Tube stop and it was easy to get to the center of the city from there.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(123 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback