X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arsenal Tavern Hostel Reviews

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

60%

Rating
1285 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 39%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

This was the dirtiest, smallest and least secure hostel i've ever been to. If I could attach photos I would. I paid 12.50 euro per night for a hostel in Nice France that was 100x better and this was the same cost.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The location isn’t that bad yet still far from central. With bus 4 and 19 you are within 20-40min at Waterloo or Tottenham road or bus 29 to Camden. WC and showers are just old, old clean or not clean... beds are far from great. The rooms are with big windows and high ceiling and you will not be gasping for air as in the SMART hostels 20bed bunkers. The common room is basically unused pub which gives a bit of London touch to it compared to the prison like atmosphere of the Arab owned SMART hos


94%

Thank you another very pleasant stay :)


49%

When you say facilities, what do you mean? A self to put stuff or organised space in the room, Nope there was non of that. The toilet and bathrooms are Horrible. My advise if your looking for a cheap hostel, rethink save more money, go somewhere else.


57%

Need more cleaning, in the room there was an horrible smell and showers looked horrible. Need more comfortable beds.


29%

I booked for 3 nights and I stayed 2 because of showers. WWe could not take a shower... boiled or not working at all!! Bedroom was very small for 15 bunks bed of 3... crazy! and no kitchen only a microwave.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

This hostel is a walking disaster and urgently needs renovation. The bathrooms are a mess and need to be kept cleaner: They are ancient, filthy and need a major update. The hostel's entry way is confusing upon arrival and the security is lax from the street into the hostel with the two doors it has since both act as entryways into the hostel. All the hallways and stairways need to be kept cleaner. The rooms have cool lighting, some sort of a dimmer that works well with night arrivals.


89%

I had a great stay it was just what I wanted and really close to the university. I will come back next week. Its good value for money and excellent for the price. I will come back. Thanks


86%

It was a good experience and i enjoyed the place and the people i met.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The cleanliness is a problem because the people living their dont keep it clean. The place is definately value for money. Showers are good but dont expect the surroundings to be beautiful coz they are not.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Perfect budget accommodation if you just wanna place to leave your bag whilst you party for a night. Recommend for that side of seeing London. Look elsewhere if you're a real traveller. Worth spending a few extra pounds.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Really liked the luggage room!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

your hostel is nice but the only real prolem are showers. the girls ones, near rooms 302-303, doesn't work as they should, except for the central one, which works decently. you should change them.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Familiar atmosphere, quite calm and respectful. Rooms were not amazing but not as bad as I thought because the price is just rediculious cheap! Thin madresses but ok for one night. Would recommend this place for backpackers!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I only stayed at the hostel for one night. I was looking for the cheapest hostel I could find because I was staying half the night but I think non the less that cleaning the bathrooms and keeping the rooms fairly clean is the least a hostel can do.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Could use some more cleaning in the second level bathrooms and toilets but cheap. I am booking a different hostel next time, maybe I would stay again but want to see different parts of London. Fuhere


94%

Staff where awesome, but the attached bathroom in the ensuite didn't work and the door for the common shower is transparent.!!! Rest everything was fine....

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

-absolutely no cleanliness, bathrooms disgusting -first toiletpaper found on 3rd floor -beds very hard, thin covers, not stable (shaking with every move of any of the three people sharing the 3-level bed) -far from town centre London and in an area where no girl should walk alone (and almost no girls in the hostel)

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Very cheap and good value for money, good location as well. The hostel is just not very well maintained and not very clean. Toilet is a bit dirty too.


43%

The whole place needs a major renovation in the bathrooms and showers (especially the ensuite bathrooms), an actual fully equipped kitchen and about 4 more wireless routers not to mention actually using the bleach they own.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback