X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arsenal Tavern Hostel Reviews

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

58%

Rating
1250 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 61%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 38%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

-absolutely no cleanliness, bathrooms disgusting -first toiletpaper found on 3rd floor -beds very hard, thin covers, not stable (shaking with every move of any of the three people sharing the 3-level bed) -far from town centre London and in an area where no girl should walk alone (and almost no girls in the hostel)

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Very cheap and good value for money, good location as well. The hostel is just not very well maintained and not very clean. Toilet is a bit dirty too.


43%

The whole place needs a major renovation in the bathrooms and showers (especially the ensuite bathrooms), an actual fully equipped kitchen and about 4 more wireless routers not to mention actually using the bleach they own.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel was easy to reach and the staff were all very professional. The toilets were a bit cramped, but clean. I don't know about the showers since I skipped it, a bunch of girls made it a pigsty, but everything seems to be working. Large lounge room next to the pub area and it was quiet in the sleeping areas apart from the occosional late nighter coming back.


63%

The Arsenal Tavern has the best conditions to be a nice little hostel, if it was clean - especially the sanitary is a catastrophe.


66%

Only scolding hot or ice cold showers


20%

Among the books of the small library inside the Hostel, you can see some texts about sicilian Mafia. Once you go in this place you realize that not only the owners are fascinated with Mafia, they also try to emulate that kind of behaviour, eventually looking just like sore loosers. Do not come in this dirty hell.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Showers were ridiculous. They were either scorching hot or no water was coming it at all. They were generally dirty showers. There was a used pad on the wall of one of them. We paid for an ensuite room but the shower didn't even work. Otherwise nothing else to complain.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place, very comfortable, two blocks away from Arsenal Stadium


34%

You should prevent your guests about the RAT in the kitchen

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Our room had no ventilation and was overcrowded with bunks three beds high. As a result, it smelled awful at night. The wireless internet was slow and the attached pub doesn't serve food. In addition, the bathrooms do not get cleaned nearly enough for how many people are using them. It took a while to adapt to those living conditions.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

luckily I stayed there for only one night


60%

You get what you pay for, everything is dirty but it is only ten quid a night, much better options out there if you spend a little more


49%

Very unclean, but cheap enough for London. Good enough for sleeping a night or two, but would not recommend showering there. A bit of a walk from any Tube stations, but checkin and checkout are straightforward, and breakfast (though small) is appreciated.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Seriously horrible showers! Bathrooms ferrel and mold ridden. The room had no ventilation at all. The booking said 9 bed dorm turned up to 15 in a tiny box room. Paid for four nights and didn't even stay for one. Stayed in much better places for the same price

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

washroom is dirty and the shower was broken. staff is helpful but cant help much of it


29%

Horrible place, probably the best hostel I have ever been at! A madhouse for desperates, run by people who don't even look at you when you talk to them. They didn't even change sheets on the beds to "save time". Never ever!


51%

the worst bathrooms and toilets of London!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

They gave my sister and I a bed that has already been rent so we had troubles for the first night finding our stuff on the ground... I didn'T feel safe letting my bags in the room with strangers charing it, but there was no option for me to lock my bags somewhere.. After all, our stuff was still there when we came back. Otherwise, the reception was nice.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Dirty toilets and bathroom

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback