X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arsenal Tavern Hostel Reviews

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

59%

Rating
1263 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 61%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 38%Cleanliness
  • 52%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Perfect budget accommodation if you just wanna place to leave your bag whilst you party for a night. Recommend for that side of seeing London. Look elsewhere if you're a real traveller. Worth spending a few extra pounds.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Really liked the luggage room!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

your hostel is nice but the only real prolem are showers. the girls ones, near rooms 302-303, doesn't work as they should, except for the central one, which works decently. you should change them.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Familiar atmosphere, quite calm and respectful. Rooms were not amazing but not as bad as I thought because the price is just rediculious cheap! Thin madresses but ok for one night. Would recommend this place for backpackers!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I only stayed at the hostel for one night. I was looking for the cheapest hostel I could find because I was staying half the night but I think non the less that cleaning the bathrooms and keeping the rooms fairly clean is the least a hostel can do.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff where awesome, but the attached bathroom in the ensuite didn't work and the door for the common shower is transparent.!!! Rest everything was fine....

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

-absolutely no cleanliness, bathrooms disgusting -first toiletpaper found on 3rd floor -beds very hard, thin covers, not stable (shaking with every move of any of the three people sharing the 3-level bed) -far from town centre London and in an area where no girl should walk alone (and almost no girls in the hostel)

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Very cheap and good value for money, good location as well. The hostel is just not very well maintained and not very clean. Toilet is a bit dirty too.


43%

The whole place needs a major renovation in the bathrooms and showers (especially the ensuite bathrooms), an actual fully equipped kitchen and about 4 more wireless routers not to mention actually using the bleach they own.


63%

They were really kind and accepted keeping my luggage (3 big suitcases) at their luggage storage for more than 2 weeks for free. I really appreciate that! The atmosphere is nice, but they really need to improve the cleanliness for the communal areas and specially for the bathrooms.


74%

The hostel was easy to reach and the staff were all very professional. The toilets were a bit cramped, but clean. I don't know about the showers since I skipped it, a bunch of girls made it a pigsty, but everything seems to be working. Large lounge room next to the pub area and it was quiet in the sleeping areas apart from the occosional late nighter coming back.


63%

The Arsenal Tavern has the best conditions to be a nice little hostel, if it was clean - especially the sanitary is a catastrophe.


66%

Only scolding hot or ice cold showers


20%

Among the books of the small library inside the Hostel, you can see some texts about sicilian Mafia. Once you go in this place you realize that not only the owners are fascinated with Mafia, they also try to emulate that kind of behaviour, eventually looking just like sore loosers. Do not come in this dirty hell.


71%

Showers were ridiculous. They were either scorching hot or no water was coming it at all. They were generally dirty showers. There was a used pad on the wall of one of them. We paid for an ensuite room but the shower didn't even work. Otherwise nothing else to complain.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place, very comfortable, two blocks away from Arsenal Stadium


34%

You should prevent your guests about the RAT in the kitchen

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Our room had no ventilation and was overcrowded with bunks three beds high. As a result, it smelled awful at night. The wireless internet was slow and the attached pub doesn't serve food. In addition, the bathrooms do not get cleaned nearly enough for how many people are using them. It took a while to adapt to those living conditions.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

luckily I stayed there for only one night


60%

You get what you pay for, everything is dirty but it is only ten quid a night, much better options out there if you spend a little more


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback