X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arsenal Tavern Hostel Reviews

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

58%

Rating
1244 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 38%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The Arsenal Tavern has the best conditions to be a nice little hostel, if it was clean - especially the sanitary is a catastrophe.


20%

Among the books of the small library inside the Hostel, you can see some texts about sicilian Mafia. Once you go in this place you realize that not only the owners are fascinated with Mafia, they also try to emulate that kind of behaviour, eventually looking just like sore loosers. Do not come in this dirty hell.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Showers were ridiculous. They were either scorching hot or no water was coming it at all. They were generally dirty showers. There was a used pad on the wall of one of them. We paid for an ensuite room but the shower didn't even work. Otherwise nothing else to complain.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place, very comfortable, two blocks away from Arsenal Stadium


34%

You should prevent your guests about the RAT in the kitchen

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Our room had no ventilation and was overcrowded with bunks three beds high. As a result, it smelled awful at night. The wireless internet was slow and the attached pub doesn't serve food. In addition, the bathrooms do not get cleaned nearly enough for how many people are using them. It took a while to adapt to those living conditions.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

luckily I stayed there for only one night


60%

You get what you pay for, everything is dirty but it is only ten quid a night, much better options out there if you spend a little more


49%

Very unclean, but cheap enough for London. Good enough for sleeping a night or two, but would not recommend showering there. A bit of a walk from any Tube stations, but checkin and checkout are straightforward, and breakfast (though small) is appreciated.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Seriously horrible showers! Bathrooms ferrel and mold ridden. The room had no ventilation at all. The booking said 9 bed dorm turned up to 15 in a tiny box room. Paid for four nights and didn't even stay for one. Stayed in much better places for the same price

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

washroom is dirty and the shower was broken. staff is helpful but cant help much of it


29%

Horrible place, probably the best hostel I have ever been at! A madhouse for desperates, run by people who don't even look at you when you talk to them. They didn't even change sheets on the beds to "save time". Never ever!


51%

the worst bathrooms and toilets of London!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

They gave my sister and I a bed that has already been rent so we had troubles for the first night finding our stuff on the ground... I didn'T feel safe letting my bags in the room with strangers charing it, but there was no option for me to lock my bags somewhere.. After all, our stuff was still there when we came back. Otherwise, the reception was nice.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Dirty toilets and bathroom

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The toilets by the rooms are tiny and you cant get in them unless your really slim but there is toilets downstairs in the bar/ lounge area that are bigger. You're assigned a bed number when you check in but the people in the rooms don't take the bed they were given so your just going to have to guess and hope you don't take a bed that belongs to someone who is going to check in after you. There's triple bunk beds in the room. The beds have clean bedding, There's a good breakfast I the morning.


37%

Very dirty, no lock on bathroom in mixed dorm, unfriendly staff. On the plus side, breakfast is a nice touch.


74%

It was an acceptable place for the price. good value for money. I was glad and it was near the station too. cool. bathroom ensuite for dormitory is good.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cameroon
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

very dirty, very loud, slightly rude staff but very very very cheap. would use for a few hours sleep, but not much else.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Afghanistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

It's so far away from metro station! It was a mess, there were panties and toilet paper on the corridor, the bathrooms outside the rooms doesn't have any privacy and were always dirty. The shower had two temperatures: burning like hell or freezing like Alaska. Doesn't have wifi in the rooms. I don't recommend it at all!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback