Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Art Hostel-Usually We Spend Our Time In The Garden

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Fantastic place with fantastic atmosphere and people. Not the most fancy bathroom facilities but totally alright. Lockers would be nice to have though..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
2.6

Garbage hostel. I've stayed in over 20 hostels throughout Europe, and I usually aim for a hostel that looks fun, friendly, clean, and safe. This Art hostel is BY FAR the worst hostel ive ever stayed at. If you are going to Sofia, your trip will be WAY more enjoyable if you stay at Hostel Mostel. The Art hostel: unfriendly/unhelpful staff, dirty sheets, filthy showers, extremely loud bar in basement which keeps you up til 5 AM, random strangers walking thru the hostel to get to the bar. AWFUL!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
3.1

I booked a room at the Art Hostel and when I showed up I was told that I will be located in a 'alternative building, just two blocks away'. The alternative building turned out to be the very depressing 'Garibaldi Guesthouse', and two blocks away consisted of 6-8 minutes walk (which means 6-8 minutes walk from your free breakfast and social activities). My room at Garibaldi Guesthouse (WHICH I DID NOT BOOK!) was around 8 m2 and had NO WINDOW. Plus the blanket was stained all over the place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
5.1

The Good: Very bohemian vibe, art all over the walls. Very eclectic and one of a kind, the atmosphere friendly. I Recommend to travelers who are looking for alt vibe and underground experience. The Bad: Very dirty. Stayed in cheapest rooms, black mold all over the walls. Humid & Smelly. Gross Bathrooms. Shower has 2-4 min of hot water. Beds pretty uncomfortable. Severe fire hazard, only way to exit is with a key. No lockers. Very little effort put into making this place livable. Grungy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • NicoD
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
6.0

The location is very good. There are a lot of nice bars and reataurants around. The atmosphere is okay because rooms are ugly but the bar in the basement is quite nice. On the second view the hostel is very unhygienic. It is cleaned on the surface only superficially. The hostel is only suitable for guests who like to live as in the third world, but they call this art to justify their broken lives.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
8.3

The place is well located and the staffs are really nice! The invite you to a welcome drinking and the breakfast is very tasty!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jan 2017
9.1

Stayed in a couple of rooms. One of them was three blocks away from the rest of the hostel. The Other one had poor sleeping arrangements. The biggest plus by far is the social areas and atmosphere. Everywhere you go is a hidden social space and it also has a bar / dj club. The staff give you lots of information on what to do. Good location. Very good value. Overall amazing stay for me personally. But if you require luxurious comfort, this place is not for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexsouthgate
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Jan 2017
6.0

The pictures aren't really representative of this place. It is in a good location and has a decent bar downstairs. It's a weird place though, not particularly secure as doors are not locked properly and you can access others rooms. My problem is that it was not clean. And appeared to have not been cleaned for a while, it certainly wasn't during my stay! Hot water in the shower lasted 30 seconds and at this time of year it is very cold and a bit damp. Overall, an uncomfortable stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
4.6

The filthiest hostel I've ever stayed in, hadn't seemed to have been cleaned in quite a while. Some beds are mattresses on the floor, and the heating was not good enough for winter. Hot water in the showers only lasted about 30 seconds. The staff were a bit frosty, but helpful when asked. The bar was good and you get a welcome drink on your first night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
8.6

I'v stayed here a few times, good location for both the city and tube to the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.