Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Art Hostel-Usually We Spend Our Time In The Garden

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Denmark, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2017
4.3

Run Down and Worning out. Toilets are few and some are not working. Showers the same. The electrical systems looks like something that had been made by an amateur and not safe. One toilet had no light at all. Beds were worn out, no lockers in the room. But wifi was working very well everywhere. The garden was nice, but all the people there were smoking constantly. The only place to sit quiet with no cigarette smoke was the reception. Staff was at best excusing, others just giving up.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jun 2017
9.1

I stayed in the second, new building of the hostel. It was perfectly clean and comfortable. Only the shower was tiny and combined with the toilet with a semi-transparent door which made my showers really speedy. The old building is older and more atmospheric. The guys at the reception were really helpful. Sofia turned out to be surprisingly tourist-friendly generally. Take the cartoon map of the city at the reception, it's a great guide to the blossoming young local scene.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
7.4

Bog-standard hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
10.0

Really funky awesome hostel in Sofia. So much character, great location, easy to get to, good security. It rained while we were there, but the garden would be an awesome place to hang out at during the summer. I will say that this is probably more of a young traveler place than a family place what with the bar in the basement. Wished we could have stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Fantastic place with fantastic atmosphere and people. Not the most fancy bathroom facilities but totally alright. Lockers would be nice to have though..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
2.6

Garbage hostel. I've stayed in over 20 hostels throughout Europe, and I usually aim for a hostel that looks fun, friendly, clean, and safe. This Art hostel is BY FAR the worst hostel ive ever stayed at. If you are going to Sofia, your trip will be WAY more enjoyable if you stay at Hostel Mostel. The Art hostel: unfriendly/unhelpful staff, dirty sheets, filthy showers, extremely loud bar in basement which keeps you up til 5 AM, random strangers walking thru the hostel to get to the bar. AWFUL!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
3.1

I booked a room at the Art Hostel and when I showed up I was told that I will be located in a 'alternative building, just two blocks away'. The alternative building turned out to be the very depressing 'Garibaldi Guesthouse', and two blocks away consisted of 6-8 minutes walk (which means 6-8 minutes walk from your free breakfast and social activities). My room at Garibaldi Guesthouse (WHICH I DID NOT BOOK!) was around 8 m2 and had NO WINDOW. Plus the blanket was stained all over the place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
5.1

The Good: Very bohemian vibe, art all over the walls. Very eclectic and one of a kind, the atmosphere friendly. I Recommend to travelers who are looking for alt vibe and underground experience. The Bad: Very dirty. Stayed in cheapest rooms, black mold all over the walls. Humid & Smelly. Gross Bathrooms. Shower has 2-4 min of hot water. Beds pretty uncomfortable. Severe fire hazard, only way to exit is with a key. No lockers. Very little effort put into making this place livable. Grungy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • NicoD
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
6.0

The location is very good. There are a lot of nice bars and reataurants around. The atmosphere is okay because rooms are ugly but the bar in the basement is quite nice. On the second view the hostel is very unhygienic. It is cleaned on the surface only superficially. The hostel is only suitable for guests who like to live as in the third world, but they call this art to justify their broken lives.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.