Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arthouse Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
Arthouse Hostel Located at 20 Lindsay Street, , Launceston.
Arthouse Hostel
Australia
Launceston Tasmania 7250 20 Lindsay Street
79% 630
-41.4302833 147.1369636
Arthouse Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.4

The hostel is very cosy and located in a quiet area, just a few steps from the city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
4.9

Classic example of you get what you pay for. 10-25 min walk to town centre. The kitchen facilities were a mess. One of the stoves did not work and was located in the same room as the laundry facilities. The bathrooms were okay but had a lot of insects buzzing around. I suppose that could be attributed to just being in Australia. The room I stayed in had holes in the floorboards with a small brick layer across horizontally as if to stop a foot from going through. Overall: mehhh

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2017
6.0

Overall felt the place needed some tlc. The dorm room was tired: lack of plug sockets, no lockers, holes in the floorboard and not particularly clean. Bathrooms were clean but the kitchen was awful, far too small and dirty. Staff were friendly, but this wasn't good value for money and I probably wouldn't stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
9.1

Staff were absolutely lovely, clean bathrooms, my room was right off a balcany which was really nice to relax around in the evenings. Excellent kitchen and common areas. Really can't fault this place, would definitely stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
7.1

The building is very quaint looking from the outside and is located overlooking the river. Inside however it is very dated and basic, although clean. Bedding is provided but both my friend and I thought the mattresses were uncomfortable (could feel the springs). Wifi is free. Communal areas are in desperate need of refurbishment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

friendly staff good atmosphere close to town very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

The staff were very helpful in working out a group booking and ensuring we got a room to ourselves

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • JamieNorris
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Dec 2016
6.0

The staff were nice and helpful. The kitchen is small and disgusting. The dishes are all burnt and black. The laundry is simply a single washer / dryer that the hostel uses most of the time. Bed in 4 bed dorm was pretty good. I'd stay again but wouldn't highly recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying. We clean the kitchen and wash the dishes 3 times a day. You can thank other guests for not doing dishes, and stealing new pots and pans within days of putting them out. The washer and dryer is a guest-use priority and all anyone needs to do is let reception know they want to do washing.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.0

We stayed here after a day hiking cradle mountain. I needed quiet and I got it. the place doesn't really have an atmosphere but I didn't need one. Beds were fine, hang out areas were fine, I had no issues. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to rate and review us. We normally have a lull before Christmas where there is not much atmosphere, but it makes for a good night sleep! :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2016
9.1

Feels like home

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.