Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arthouse Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
10.0

what a nice place to stay. beatiful view and near with hot place. if i go back to launceston, i will stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2017
9.7

Very friendly stuff. Great value , good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great rating and lovely comments. We appreciate you taking the time and trust you enjoyed your Tassie adventure.

  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th May 2017
8.6

Nice cozy hostel with good facilities and friendly staff. Unlimited good wifi! Lacked atmosphere but visited off season so it was quiet in general. Without a car it would be hard to access.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great rating and lovely compliments. During winter it is a bit hard to create atmosphere, but we do try. :-) We are only a 15 minute walk into the centre of town, and 5 minutes walk from the Seaport and QVMAG, and 8 minutes from City Park. It's also a lovely walk to the Cataract Gorge via the Seaport - even in Winter!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
9.4

The internet was really strong and included in the price which if you have been travelling Australia for a while you will know that is almost impossible to find. Nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes, our WiFi is completely FREE & unrestricted. We are on the NBN and paying for the fastest access available in Tasmania which is a reliable ~100Mbps download. Thanks for the great rating and compliments.

11th Apr 2017
9.4

I loved this hostel. It is in a big old heritage house. Big rooms, lots of common space, ok kitchen though a bit small. Staff was super helpful. When I arrived late with no booking, the girl at reception stayed to check me in. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great rating and lovely comments. We are happy to help. It's easy when we love what we do and our guests.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Apr 2017
6.6

Nice spacious rooms. No lockers. Limited plug sockets. Only stayed here for one night, and realised there really isn't anything to do in Launceston. Lady at the desk very nice and helpful though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the compliments. We do not have lockers but are happy to look after anything at reception for free. There are definitely enough things to do in Launceston for a day or two without a car, and plenty with a car. If anyone reads this - feel free to send us an email enquiry before booking. We will be happy to let you know what to do in advance.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Mar 2017
6.9

Nice sized hostel with nice common area space! 10/15 minute walk to bars etc. Rooms and kitchen decent size, free tea and coffee is great! Free washing machine is also nice. Double bed very old and uncomfortable, could feel the springs sticking in your back! And bed sheets were covered in stains :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to comment and review. We will check the sheets but it would have been easier if you let us know at reception. Obviously 'covered' is an exaggeration and it is hard for us to notice marks on Queen sized sheets. I will find your room and check & replace the mattress if needed. Refreshing our beds & mattresses is an ongoing process.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
8.0

Comfortable accommodation, good security, central location and lovely old (renovated) building. My only comments would be that the showers nd stoves could have been cleaner. Otherwise an enjoyable stay and excellent value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to comment and rate us. The bathrooms are about to get a spring (autumn) clean and I will let housekeeping know to have a good look at the ovens. Thanks for the input.

10th Mar 2017
9.7

Great stay at the Arthouse, only suggestion would be lockers. As usual, minority of guests unclear on the hostel concept and don't clean up enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great rating and comments. Yes, it is only a few few people who don't clean up after themselves, but we do understand that it impacts the majority. We work on that continually.

25th Feb 2017
4.3

The staff was one girl with minimal interest. The locations was a walk to anything you would want to see/do and the entire hostel was filthy. When I first got my bed I noticed it was really dirty and the girl just assumed it wasn't cleaned yet!!! She was less than thrilled to get me clean sheets. they also gave away beds to new arrivals when the previous guest hadn't even checked out yet, which left at lest one person without a bed each night is my stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.