Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arthouse Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 678 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 678 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
9.1

Fantastically clean. It is also quiet if you're looking for a good night's sleep. Will definitely come back again if I am in Launceston.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much. It's great to read that we have helped someone have a great holiday.

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
10.0

what a nice place to stay. beatiful view and near with hot place. if i go back to launceston, i will stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow. Amazing. Thanks so much for taking the time to rate and review us. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that the rest of Tassie was even better.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2017
9.7

Very friendly stuff. Great value , good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great rating and lovely comments. We appreciate you taking the time and trust you enjoyed your Tassie adventure.

  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th May 2017
8.6

Nice cozy hostel with good facilities and friendly staff. Unlimited good wifi! Lacked atmosphere but visited off season so it was quiet in general. Without a car it would be hard to access.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great rating and lovely compliments. During winter it is a bit hard to create atmosphere, but we do try. :-) We are only a 15 minute walk into the centre of town, and 5 minutes walk from the Seaport and QVMAG, and 8 minutes from City Park. It's also a lovely walk to the Cataract Gorge via the Seaport - even in Winter!

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.3

A nice quiet hostel very close to the centre of Launceston. Good facilities. We checked in late and there was an issue, but this was resolved instantly with an off site member of staff coming to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
9.4

The internet was really strong and included in the price which if you have been travelling Australia for a while you will know that is almost impossible to find. Nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes, our WiFi is completely FREE & unrestricted. We are on the NBN and paying for the fastest access available in Tasmania which is a reliable ~100Mbps download. Thanks for the great rating and compliments.

11th Apr 2017
9.4

I loved this hostel. It is in a big old heritage house. Big rooms, lots of common space, ok kitchen though a bit small. Staff was super helpful. When I arrived late with no booking, the girl at reception stayed to check me in. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great rating and lovely comments. We are happy to help. It's easy when we love what we do and our guests.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Apr 2017
6.6

Nice spacious rooms. No lockers. Limited plug sockets. Only stayed here for one night, and realised there really isn't anything to do in Launceston. Lady at the desk very nice and helpful though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the compliments. We do not have lockers but are happy to look after anything at reception for free. There are definitely enough things to do in Launceston for a day or two without a car, and plenty with a car. If anyone reads this - feel free to send us an email enquiry before booking. We will be happy to let you know what to do in advance.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Mar 2017
6.9

Nice sized hostel with nice common area space! 10/15 minute walk to bars etc. Rooms and kitchen decent size, free tea and coffee is great! Free washing machine is also nice. Double bed very old and uncomfortable, could feel the springs sticking in your back! And bed sheets were covered in stains :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to comment and review. We will check the sheets but it would have been easier if you let us know at reception. Obviously 'covered' is an exaggeration and it is hard for us to notice marks on Queen sized sheets. I will find your room and check & replace the mattress if needed. Refreshing our beds & mattresses is an ongoing process.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
8.0

Comfortable accommodation, good security, central location and lovely old (renovated) building. My only comments would be that the showers nd stoves could have been cleaner. Otherwise an enjoyable stay and excellent value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to comment and rate us. The bathrooms are about to get a spring (autumn) clean and I will let housekeeping know to have a good look at the ovens. Thanks for the input.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.