Hostelworld.com

Arthouse Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 640 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 640 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Feb 2017
7.4

Better than the average hostel .good location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.0

Location was better than expected. Beds are quite uncomfortable and the kitchen could be better equipped but there is a lot of space to hang out and lounge around and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
6.0

This hostel is in one of the most beautiful buildings in Launceston. It has a nice common area and a big kitchen. The inside is charming but the bathrooms desperately need a deep cleaning and some maintenance work. There is also almost no atmosphere, they don't put on any events even though it would be so easy (group dinners, game night, etc.) so it's a little hard to meet people. The rooms need lockers, especially the ones off the balcony as anyone can walk into them. I would stay again though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
6.6

Only met one member of staff who was very friendly. Quite a comfy bed for a hostel No atmosphere as no one talking unless they already knew each other. Not a fault of the hostel necessarily as it depends on who you get at the time. Short walk to the centre. Would recommend for a passing through visit like I had just 2 nights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.4

The hostel is very cosy and located in a quiet area, just a few steps from the city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
3.7

Rarely write bad reviews and it's been a month since I stayed here but had to share this. The kitchen is absolutely vile, you can't cook in it and the ovens look like they need skipping. We ended up eating pasta pots from the supermarket. It's such an amazing building but it just needs either refurbishing or knocking down entirely. Go upstairs to shower. Sorry to be harsh but we were pretty disgusted by the state of the kitchen / appliances / sink / bins / dirty wet laundry on the floor

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
4.9

Classic example of you get what you pay for. 10-25 min walk to town centre. The kitchen facilities were a mess. One of the stoves did not work and was located in the same room as the laundry facilities. The bathrooms were okay but had a lot of insects buzzing around. I suppose that could be attributed to just being in Australia. The room I stayed in had holes in the floorboards with a small brick layer across horizontally as if to stop a foot from going through. Overall: mehhh

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jan 2017
6.0

Overall felt the place needed some tlc. The dorm room was tired: lack of plug sockets, no lockers, holes in the floorboard and not particularly clean. Bathrooms were clean but the kitchen was awful, far too small and dirty. Staff were friendly, but this wasn't good value for money and I probably wouldn't stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
9.1

Staff were absolutely lovely, clean bathrooms, my room was right off a balcany which was really nice to relax around in the evenings. Excellent kitchen and common areas. Really can't fault this place, would definitely stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
7.1

The building is very quaint looking from the outside and is located overlooking the river. Inside however it is very dated and basic, although clean. Bedding is provided but both my friend and I thought the mattresses were uncomfortable (could feel the springs). Wifi is free. Communal areas are in desperate need of refurbishment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.