X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Arthouse Hostel Reviews

20 Lindsay Street, Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
265 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

It's a beautiful historical building, but live in there is a whole different story. Anyway, it's enough for a backpacker. The kitchen is kinda messy and the room's dark even though you turn on the light. The bath is clean. Generally speaking, it's a good place for staying one night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments on the bathrooms. They are excellent with the gas hot water that never runs out! Just so everyone knows, the lights are energy efficient flouro lights that take a couple of minutes to warm up, but when they do, there should be plenty of light. Sorry for the messy kitchen - we clean and/or tidy 3 times a day.

77%

Cute old building, not in the city centre but close to commerce and with lovely view on the river. Friendly staff and greatb people but the kitchen was a bit of a jungle :)

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The floor was pretty noisy when people walk on it and this especially has affected the room on ground floor. I've got Room 3 which is next to the kitchen and it was very noisy. And also the bunk beds that make lots of noise. Staffs are very friendly and helpful though.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments. We will tighten the bunks in room 3 today to stop the noise. Sorry you got noise from the dining room - we are very upset with a few people who decided to have a party on premises - we stopped it, but obviously too late for you. Thanks for the compliments on the staff - we really enjoy what we do

83%

Nice place. Has a very homey feel. Cleanliness is decent. Rooms aren't too crowded. Staff is helpful. It's a little outside of town, but it's close enough to walk in 5 minutes. Most of the people I met here were on working holiday, so it was tough to find people to go on outings with. But it's a great place to chill out and chat. Gold star for the showers! They are warm, clean, private, and have good water pressure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, thank you for the comprehensive review filled with compliments. We really appreciate it. It's great to hear when people enjoy the efforts we make on a daily basis.

89%

Spend only one night but it's defenitly a nice hostel and can recommend staying there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for joining us for the one night, and we hope to see you again one day. Thank you for the high ratings, compliments and recommendation!

77%

Quiet rooms and beds (it gets a little warm upstairs however) in a pretty building, plenty of evening parking spaces. The kitchen got rather grimy, though I can't tell if it's the fault of the other guests or just the way things are.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments and ratings. I assure you that the kitchen is cleaned and/or tidied 3 times a day, but can get quickly dirty when we are full (as we were when you stayed). Thanks for staying with us, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

49%

Actually a lovely building but very dirty rooms. Didnt get cleaned for a few days. Very disappointed as the rating on hostelworld was very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Every room in the hostel gets cleaned every day. The 2 lounge rooms cleaned every day. The kitchen and dining room gets cleaned 3 times per day. Sometimes female dorms (like yours) are so messy it is very difficult for housekeeping to do their job, but they are not paid to pack girls clothes into their bags for them.

74%

Arrived pretty late in the evening and left early the next morning. Beautiful building and nice buildings. Staff were great. There were a lot of long-termers there which, as is usually the case, made it hard for guests who were just passing through to make friends. People were also terrible at cleaning up after themselves in the kitchen. But on the whole a good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a comprehensive review, and thanks for the compliments. We were inundated with 2nd year visa guests and we were taken by surprise at how messy they got. We have pretty well caught up on them and the tidiness in general has improved greatly.

91%

I had a beautiful stay in Arthouse. The place is so nice. Wall is a bit thin so I could hear when people walked up and down the stairs or even when they sang a song in the shower, but very pleasure stay though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the high ratings and taking the time to comment. You are the first to comment on hearing singing in the showers! I was amazed, and thanks for letting us know. We are relining those showers this winter and I will see what we can do about it ... I hope the singing was good? :-)

86%

The kitchen was too dirty as many people didn't clean their dishes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the high ratings. Yes, we have been frustrated ourselves this summer with more people than normal who don't respect other peoples stays. We do clean the kitchen 3 times per day and wash/dry/put away all the dishes each time. We will have security cameras in there fairly soon that we can monitor at reception, so hopefully that will help motivate people to respect fellow guests.

94%

Please set a camera in kitchen to ensure everyone wash their dishes after use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the high ratings and comments. Yes, we do have cameras on the way that we can monitor at reception. The dishes problem has been a phenomenon this summer that has us frustrated too. We clean, wash, dry and put away 3 times per day and still it seems to get messy within minutes. Sorry for that in your stay with us, but we are certainly working on it.

86%

IT is very grandios. The people on the reception was nice and veryhelp full.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the compliments and great ratings. We absolutely appreciate the comments about us - it helps us enjoy what we do. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and trust that you enjoyed Tassie too!

91%

The builiding itself is an Art, it's a beautiful old builiding. It's really romantic to see the sun setting from the balcony. The staff are helpful and friendly at this hostel. The kitchen is well equipped. Pros and cons about the heavy locks on the doors: they are very secure and safe and locks well BUT can be loud.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much. We love our building too and have spent a lot of time and effort to enhance the charm of the 1888 architecture. Thanks for joining us for drinks on the balcony - I trust you enjoyed a $2 beer! We hope to see you again.

97%

A pretty good hostel, the free wifi is consistently good. The only real issue is that the kitchen is set up in such a way that many flies can get in. As we all know, flies can be a disease vector (they like to land in poop, then they like to land on dishes). The owners of the hostel may want to consider some stronger anti-fly measures to make the kitchen a little more friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving comments and the great ratings. We have installed fly screens and are trying very hard to encourage guests to keep them closed! So far people are leaving them open, and we are probably going to install those old-school dangly bead things to keep the flies out. :-) But the flies will be beaten (although the season is very short and in 2 weeks they will be gone anyway!)

71%

Staff were absolutely fantastic!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving such a nice comment. It really makes our day! :-)

94%

My second stay there, loved it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the lovely comment and high ratings. We loved having you here - twice! :-)

71%

Only one laundry machine... Spent the night for others to finish drying their stuffs Noisy room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for taking time to rate us and leave comments. Normally 1 dryer is more than fine because we have a clothes line and 2 clothes racks for drying clothes. But we have had LOTS of people coming off the Overland Track lately that has made the washer/dryer congested. Sorry that you experienced that and the noisy room. Room 20 is a dorm, and normally highly complimented, but rarely we do get some guests who don't respect others. Again, sorry, there's not much we can do about them.

100%

Beautiful hostel with super-helpful staff. Bedding isn't included unless you request it - something to watch out for if you arrive after-hours.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow. Thanks for that. Much appreciated. As to the linen (and thanks in part to your comments) we have it listed in several places on Hostelworld and in the confirmation emails we send out. But for everyone reading this - if you are arriving after 7pm and staying in a dorm, please let us know if you need a top sheet and blanket! :-)

94%

Staff make this place feel like home!!! Loved it. Especially the 2 dollar beer !!

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
$2 beer would make any place seem like home! haha. Thanks for the great ratings and comments. Very glad you enjoyed the $2 beers, and hope there was no hangover to go with it ... :-)

89%

I had a great time staying at the arthouse. Its a comfortable hostel with very friendly staff. My only problem was staying on the ground floor near the kitchen meant getting to sleep was difficult with the noise from other guests. But other than that I had a good stay.

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the high ratings and compliments. We had a couple of nights there where we had noisy and disrespectful guests. My apologies for that. It happens very rarely and took us a couple of days to get on top of it - but we did! Thanks for staying and hope to see you again.

« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Launceston Hostels

Please give us your feedback