X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Arthouse Hostel Reviews

20 Lindsay Street, Launceston, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
281 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The staff there are really friendly. It was really nice of them to leave me a room key and all sheets needed with a candy. The staff there are really helpful and would like to give advises for your trip.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Pete (the receptionist) was an amazing help. We had a loose itinerary for things to do around Launceston but he really helped provide us with a realistic itinerary/ the best places to see not only around Launceston but around Tasmania. He would be the reason why i stay there again. The free WiFi was also awesome too. The only negative was that the heater in the room did not do much. It often got really cold at night.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, thank you so much. It is a real pleasure for me (Pete!) to help with itineraries. I travel around Tasmania as much as I can and I get a real kick out of sharing experiences and stories with people like yourselves. Thanks for the comments great ratings - and I have heard you with the heater and placed a 2nd heater in both Room 13 (yours) and 16 (lots of windows there too). They should be toasty now.

97%

Thanks to the friendly staff, Deb who gave us many useful information. The house and facilities are beautiful and nice. Really enjoy staying at Art House.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the great ratings and lovely comments. We are very happy to have helped you enjoy your Tasmanian journey.

86%

located close to down town and tourist attractions. Rooms were large and clean, so were the bathroom cabins, however, the kitchen and common dining area's cleannes was below average. My room was a bit too noisy at night being close to common areas where people stay up till late and make a fair bit of noise. Overall good place to stay and value for money.


97%

The staff are helpful! Very friendly! Location is ok. I mean, its a small city of Launceston, so you can never live too far away from the town centre. Clean.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

This hostel is good in general: Friendly staff, good location and even have bike for hire and a coffee machine! But the kitchen and the laundry facilities are rather messy, with too many stuff crowding in a small area. But what can you ask for with such low cost?! :)


60%

This was an ok hostel. The beds were comfortable and the bedrooms and bathrooms were clean. I felt the kitchen didn't have enough pans to cook with a could have done with another oven as every night there was a queue to cook unless you like to eat dinner before 5pm. The main problem was actually the other guests. And the lack of hostel etiquette. People not washing up their things, and then just leave them around dirty, and a lack of respect to other guests trying to sleep.


74%

It's a beautiful historical building, but live in there is a whole different story. Anyway, it's enough for a backpacker. The kitchen is kinda messy and the room's dark even though you turn on the light. The bath is clean. Generally speaking, it's a good place for staying one night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments on the bathrooms. They are excellent with the gas hot water that never runs out! Just so everyone knows, the lights are energy efficient flouro lights that take a couple of minutes to warm up, but when they do, there should be plenty of light. Sorry for the messy kitchen - we clean and/or tidy 3 times a day.

77%

Cute old building, not in the city centre but close to commerce and with lovely view on the river. Friendly staff and greatb people but the kitchen was a bit of a jungle :)

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The floor was pretty noisy when people walk on it and this especially has affected the room on ground floor. I've got Room 3 which is next to the kitchen and it was very noisy. And also the bunk beds that make lots of noise. Staffs are very friendly and helpful though.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments. We will tighten the bunks in room 3 today to stop the noise. Sorry you got noise from the dining room - we are very upset with a few people who decided to have a party on premises - we stopped it, but obviously too late for you. Thanks for the compliments on the staff - we really enjoy what we do

83%

Nice place. Has a very homey feel. Cleanliness is decent. Rooms aren't too crowded. Staff is helpful. It's a little outside of town, but it's close enough to walk in 5 minutes. Most of the people I met here were on working holiday, so it was tough to find people to go on outings with. But it's a great place to chill out and chat. Gold star for the showers! They are warm, clean, private, and have good water pressure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, thank you for the comprehensive review filled with compliments. We really appreciate it. It's great to hear when people enjoy the efforts we make on a daily basis.

89%

Spend only one night but it's defenitly a nice hostel and can recommend staying there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for joining us for the one night, and we hope to see you again one day. Thank you for the high ratings, compliments and recommendation!

77%

Quiet rooms and beds (it gets a little warm upstairs however) in a pretty building, plenty of evening parking spaces. The kitchen got rather grimy, though I can't tell if it's the fault of the other guests or just the way things are.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments and ratings. I assure you that the kitchen is cleaned and/or tidied 3 times a day, but can get quickly dirty when we are full (as we were when you stayed). Thanks for staying with us, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

49%

Actually a lovely building but very dirty rooms. Didnt get cleaned for a few days. Very disappointed as the rating on hostelworld was very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Every room in the hostel gets cleaned every day. The 2 lounge rooms cleaned every day. The kitchen and dining room gets cleaned 3 times per day. Sometimes female dorms (like yours) are so messy it is very difficult for housekeeping to do their job, but they are not paid to pack girls clothes into their bags for them.

74%

Arrived pretty late in the evening and left early the next morning. Beautiful building and nice buildings. Staff were great. There were a lot of long-termers there which, as is usually the case, made it hard for guests who were just passing through to make friends. People were also terrible at cleaning up after themselves in the kitchen. But on the whole a good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a comprehensive review, and thanks for the compliments. We were inundated with 2nd year visa guests and we were taken by surprise at how messy they got. We have pretty well caught up on them and the tidiness in general has improved greatly.

91%

I had a beautiful stay in Arthouse. The place is so nice. Wall is a bit thin so I could hear when people walked up and down the stairs or even when they sang a song in the shower, but very pleasure stay though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the high ratings and taking the time to comment. You are the first to comment on hearing singing in the showers! I was amazed, and thanks for letting us know. We are relining those showers this winter and I will see what we can do about it ... I hope the singing was good? :-)

86%

The kitchen was too dirty as many people didn't clean their dishes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the high ratings. Yes, we have been frustrated ourselves this summer with more people than normal who don't respect other peoples stays. We do clean the kitchen 3 times per day and wash/dry/put away all the dishes each time. We will have security cameras in there fairly soon that we can monitor at reception, so hopefully that will help motivate people to respect fellow guests.

94%

Please set a camera in kitchen to ensure everyone wash their dishes after use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the high ratings and comments. Yes, we do have cameras on the way that we can monitor at reception. The dishes problem has been a phenomenon this summer that has us frustrated too. We clean, wash, dry and put away 3 times per day and still it seems to get messy within minutes. Sorry for that in your stay with us, but we are certainly working on it.

86%

IT is very grandios. The people on the reception was nice and veryhelp full.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the compliments and great ratings. We absolutely appreciate the comments about us - it helps us enjoy what we do. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and trust that you enjoyed Tassie too!

91%

The builiding itself is an Art, it's a beautiful old builiding. It's really romantic to see the sun setting from the balcony. The staff are helpful and friendly at this hostel. The kitchen is well equipped. Pros and cons about the heavy locks on the doors: they are very secure and safe and locks well BUT can be loud.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much. We love our building too and have spent a lot of time and effort to enhance the charm of the 1888 architecture. Thanks for joining us for drinks on the balcony - I trust you enjoyed a $2 beer! We hope to see you again.

« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Launceston Hostels

Please give us your feedback