X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arthy's Guesthouse Reviews

Avenida Montes N� 693, La Paz, Bolivia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
484 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Arthy's is located between the bus terminal and historical centre, and is walking distance to both. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. A bit plus is the fantastic smoking terrace with a view of the street up to the hills. If you're not put off by the midnight curfew and unisex showers I would highly recommend staying here. One of the best places I've stayed in South America so far.


74%

Nice place in good location. Lots of traffic just outside, but very quiet inside. Showers had hot water, not a lot of pressure but enough to wash long hair. Small kitchen with fridge. Wifi ok most of the times, but sometimes wouldn´t work (connect) with our phones (just laptop). Room basic but ok, and had some hooks on wall (which most hostels seem to lack!). Toilet upstairs often ran out of toilet paper (ended up buying our own). Nice atmosphere, would stay here again. Staff Ruben=excellent!


100%

Amazing place, nice and clean, felt like home. The owner has a huge heart and he really cares aboute he's guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Tack så mycket. Ha en trevlig resa!

49%

Okay room, realy poor beds! Got a decent velcome. We were told that we could extent our stay, of se told Them in the vending. Se did, but suddenly it was NOT possible any more. The staff were very unhelpfull to helt us concerning solving this problem, we were just told is was our problem!,, This ment that we had to chance hostel, which complicated our stay in La Paz a lot! So if you like unrealible staff, dont og there!


77%

Twin room was nice and clean, shared toilet facilities and bathroom were not that nice and clean (nevertheless ok). Community area looked great, but there were only few travellers when we stayed. Location is near the Bus terminal on the main and busy La Paz road, hence location is quite good.


94%

Good hostel close to the bus station and a short walk to the centre of town. Quiet with a laundry around the corner. Breakfast options are very limited.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff very helpful but rooms a bit gloomy as no windows. Common area nice and a great idea to have a few essentials on sale..


80%

Showers always seemed to be only warm, never hot. Common room is quite comfortable and welcoming. Staff are very friendly and quite helpful. There is the option to buy drinks and snacks at the hostel which is handy.


97%

Great hostel if you are not up for partying all night (midnight curfew). Staff is the best! I got robbed at the bus terminal before checking in, the manager took care of myself driving me through the city to make charges at the local police office, which would have been very difficult with my little Spanish. Can heavily recommend them!


94%

Wifi was not stable but that's common throughout Bolivia...


91%

The staff was amazing and we had a great time staying here! It would be perfect if it had a double bad. A part of that, totally recommended!


86%

This is a pretty standard, not-too-fancy hostel, but it was perfect for what we needed. They offer free luggage storage even if you check out early, and have a variety of foods and drinks available for purchase if you don't want to troop out to find a local cafe/grocery store. It was a little chilly in our room, but besides that, we really appreciated the friendly service and available kitchen!


86%

As ever it is the staff who make our break a hostel and the guys at Arthy's were amazing. In a mental City like La Paz it was very nice knowing you could shut the orange door after a day out and relax. Thoroughly recommended.


94%

The best bit of this hostel is Arthy :) All the staff are very helpful but Arturo, the owner, is really friendly and informative. The hostel is located a stone's throw away from Plaza Murillo and Iglesia San Francisco. It is very clean, safe and quiet. Perfect for a good rest on your way to and from Uyuni and other wonderful places. I definitely recommend it!


83%

Great central location and easy to get to all the main attractions! Internet is really quick, staff are extremely helpful in every way including getting up at 4am to wait for our taxi! Not much atmosphere but if you are after a couple of quiet nights with a warm bed then this is perfect.


94%

Arthy's was a great quiet hostel to stay at. It's not the cheapest, but it is well organized and clean. The best part of Arthy's was definitely the staff. I have not met a more friendly, helpful staff. They are amazing. Overall, not a party hostel as it is quiet, but a wonderful place to stay to get a good nights rest if you have an early tour the next day.


80%

Good place. Not a party hostel (Doors close at 12). There is a lounge but it is more a laid back place so if you are need of rest or space this would be the place for you. Location is good as you can walk to most everything. 5-10 mins. Staff is helpful and friendly with info and tours. (They speak both Spanish or English). Good place to stay if you are not into the party scene and need a safe place for your things.


86%

Nice place, the staff speak great english and the location is perfect :)


89%

Very nice place, definitely a guesthouse and not a hostel. Maybe a little bit pricey for rooms that have shared bathrooms but everything is very well kept and the lounge is like a hotel business lounge. Very good English with the owner.


89%

Had a nice stay. Staff spoke fluent English


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all La Paz Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback