Hostelworld.com

Arthy's Guesthouse

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 634 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 634 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6
Arthy's Guesthouse Located at Avenida Montes N 693, , La Paz.
Arthy's Guesthouse
Bolivia
La Paz Murillo Avenida Montes N� 693
90% 634
-16.4918923 -68.1379151
Arthy's Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th May 2016
8.9

Lovely place to stay, very convenient to the train station as well as the central sights of La Paz. Reception was very kind and allowe'd me into my room when I arrived at 6am the day of my reservation. The only (slight) drawbacks for me were the location on a fairly loud street, and lack of a communal "hostel" feel. This is more of a budget hotel--but a lovely one, with great value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
9.7

Rodrigo and his father were both extremely kind. My room was off the TV room so it could have been noisy but the other guests were respectful and didn't stay up late talking or watching a movie. I was in La Paz for less than 24 hours between buses so the location was perfect for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2016
7.4

Pros: hot(ish) shower (although means that you can't have a lot of water flow), separate room of 6 showers and separate room for toilets and rooms are spacious. Location is decent. Towels and soap provided which is nice. Cons: Wifi was terrible, doors lock at 11pm so if you plan to go out then don't stay here and no real atmosphere. No breakfast!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for you comment. As for Wifi, we depend on the Internet Infrastructure of the city (slow & expensive) and on the consideration of guests to not use torrent softwares, vpn's etc. As for the when doors lock up, it is at 00:00 hrs (not 23 hrs.), which is clearly stated on our HW microsite as Midnight Curfew. So if you plan to go out, feel free to book some other Good Hostel that La Paz offers. And finally as breakfast goes, no, it is not included as it is also stated on our HW microsite, but you can order a continental bk for B$ 10 of the hands of Lady D. Or you can prepare yourself one in the guest kitchen.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

Clean, warm(ish) showers with heaters in the bathrooms. A reasonable sized kitchen, which had most basic necessities. Breakfast is very basic - bread and jam. The rooms were warm and spacious. The beds were comfortable. Roughly a 5-10minute walk from San Francisco church. I would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
8.9

Great location right by the bus station, safe with a door that you need to ring to enter. Nice hot showers with a good breakfast for additional 10 bolivianos. Helpful staff and good information.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • StevoP
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Apr 2016
9.1

This place has everything you need, and I would recommend it to anyone as long as they are not after a party hostel. It is ridiculously clean, I think there are like three live-in cleaners that just chill out and clean all day (I turned around once to see them scrubbing the leaves on a pot plant). The x-factor is the staff are just so damn friendly and polite. Ended up extending our stay with Arthys, then booking again when we came back through a week later.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Apr 2016
6.9

I'm sure this place had its heyday but 2016 isn't it. Cold (though very clean) rooms, common room with the atmosphere of a funeral parlour and a freezing shower room. Arthy's was great for the first night when we just wanted to sleep but, after that, the lack of atmosphere was crushingly depressing. And I know you can rarely get a hot shower in Bolivia but, honestly, the shower room here is SO SO COLD despite the decent water temperature. Saving grace= great staff. Do not book long term.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. About the common areas, it's a pity you missed the paintings made by one of the owners and the children of a family staying with us running around and asking questions while they´re mom made them do their homework. As for the shower room, the only thing you had to do was to ask in reception (as the sign displays) to turn the heater on and in 15 minutes the room would of been warm.

14th Apr 2016
7.7

The staff were friendly but the breakfast wasn't good at all !!!! Clean and very tidy place but the room needed updating!!! Awesome sun terrace and very quiet hostel ☺️ Great location as well, would def recommend 😊

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Apr 2016
7.7

Location was on a horribly busy and poluted main road, however, was fairly close to walk to the main tourist areas. Wifi was rubbish. The place was very clean with good showers. I didn't have a window in my room, that felt slightly weird but overall really good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.9

Nice hostel. Wr ended up staying an extra night because of illness and it was fine. Staff really nice and very secure. On a main road but set back so not too noisy. Not a party hostel at all. Would stay again if in La Paz.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.