X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arthy's Guesthouse Reviews

Avenida Montes N� 693, La Paz, Bolivia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
492 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Friendly, English speaking and very friendly stuff, quiet rooms, clean facilities and a well equipped kitchen.


91%

Achter een stalen gedeukte deur aan een drukke straat gaat een fijn rustig hostel schuil! Echt een verassing, je merkt amper iets vd drukke straat. ( wij hadden wel een kamer die drensde aan de binnenplaats) dichtbij t centrum, behulpzame engels sprekende staf.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel located very close to bus terminal. Very clean inside. I believe all rooms are twin with shared bathrooms but these are large facilities and more than adequate for the size of the hostel. Staff were very friendly and spoke English which was a big help for us as my Spanish is still very weak. Nice common areas with large DVD selection if you feel like staying in.


97%

A really great hostel on all fronts, except it is shown incorrectly on all maps we looked at - Google, Lonely Planet etc. Make a note of the address and number and don't look at the map because you will walk straight past it. Once inside though, it is really nice.


94%

Arthy's is located between the bus terminal and historical centre, and is walking distance to both. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. A bit plus is the fantastic smoking terrace with a view of the street up to the hills. If you're not put off by the midnight curfew and unisex showers I would highly recommend staying here. One of the best places I've stayed in South America so far.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we appreciate you reminding any future guests that we do have a Midnight Curfew which is very strict. If any traveler is seeking to go out late or to party (birthdays included), La Paz has several good alternative lodging options.

63%

Pros: hot showers, ok beds, good location. Cons: atmosphere, midnight curfew, staff where a bit absent Summary: pretty average I would stay in line with most places in La Paz, we ended up moving to a much nicer place paying a bit more.


74%

Nice place in good location. Lots of traffic just outside, but very quiet inside. Showers had hot water, not a lot of pressure but enough to wash long hair. Small kitchen with fridge. Wifi ok most of the times, but sometimes wouldn´t work (connect) with our phones (just laptop). Room basic but ok, and had some hooks on wall (which most hostels seem to lack!). Toilet upstairs often ran out of toilet paper (ended up buying our own). Nice atmosphere, would stay here again. Staff Ruben=excellent!


100%

Amazing place, nice and clean, felt like home. The owner has a huge heart and he really cares aboute he's guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Tack så mycket. Ha en trevlig resa!

49%

Okay room, realy poor beds! Got a decent velcome. We were told that we could extent our stay, of se told Them in the vending. Se did, but suddenly it was NOT possible any more. The staff were very unhelpfull to helt us concerning solving this problem, we were just told is was our problem!,, This ment that we had to chance hostel, which complicated our stay in La Paz a lot! So if you like unrealible staff, dont og there!


77%

Twin room was nice and clean, shared toilet facilities and bathroom were not that nice and clean (nevertheless ok). Community area looked great, but there were only few travellers when we stayed. Location is near the Bus terminal on the main and busy La Paz road, hence location is quite good.


94%

Good hostel close to the bus station and a short walk to the centre of town. Quiet with a laundry around the corner. Breakfast options are very limited.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff very helpful but rooms a bit gloomy as no windows. Common area nice and a great idea to have a few essentials on sale..


80%

Showers always seemed to be only warm, never hot. Common room is quite comfortable and welcoming. Staff are very friendly and quite helpful. There is the option to buy drinks and snacks at the hostel which is handy.


97%

Great hostel if you are not up for partying all night (midnight curfew). Staff is the best! I got robbed at the bus terminal before checking in, the manager took care of myself driving me through the city to make charges at the local police office, which would have been very difficult with my little Spanish. Can heavily recommend them!


94%

Wifi was not stable but that's common throughout Bolivia...


91%

The staff was amazing and we had a great time staying here! It would be perfect if it had a double bad. A part of that, totally recommended!


86%

This is a pretty standard, not-too-fancy hostel, but it was perfect for what we needed. They offer free luggage storage even if you check out early, and have a variety of foods and drinks available for purchase if you don't want to troop out to find a local cafe/grocery store. It was a little chilly in our room, but besides that, we really appreciated the friendly service and available kitchen!


86%

As ever it is the staff who make our break a hostel and the guys at Arthy's were amazing. In a mental City like La Paz it was very nice knowing you could shut the orange door after a day out and relax. Thoroughly recommended.


94%

The best bit of this hostel is Arthy :) All the staff are very helpful but Arturo, the owner, is really friendly and informative. The hostel is located a stone's throw away from Plaza Murillo and Iglesia San Francisco. It is very clean, safe and quiet. Perfect for a good rest on your way to and from Uyuni and other wonderful places. I definitely recommend it!




View all La Paz Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback