Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arthy's Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jul 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay at Arthy's! The location is perfect for walking around La Paz, and the hosts are very friendly and helpful! The showers were hot, although low pressure. The common area is very cozy and inviting, with a fireplace, TV and tables to eat or hang out. This is a quiet hostel where you will get a great night's sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jul 2017
7.7

An alright place to stay in the middle of the busy La Paz. You go inside an orange door in the busy, trafficy street of La Paz, and all of a sudden your in a more quiet hotel environment - which is nice. You can still hear the street, so make sure to get a room away from it. The atmosphere is like being in a hotel, so as backpackers we found it a little sad and dark, without too many to talk to. Still it is a nice place to relax and recover, with alright beds. It is COLD, as rest of La Paz.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nvlowensteyn5573
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
7.7

Arthy's huestgouse is sort of a no mondende guesthouse. Rooms are simple and clean, the overall location is OK, close to central square, ans the service is friendly, including a nice breakfast. Do not expect loads of atmosphere and also the showers are a little cheap (very little water if you want it hot). However, for a short La Paz stay it is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

Amazing staff. I lost my Fitbit tracker in the previous hotel. The staff from Arthy's Guesthouse were very patient when I told them about the situation. Robo, the owner of the hostel, was very helpful. Given that I do not know any Spanish, he spent 4 hours with me dealing with the police in order to obtain a police report which is required for insurance claim. Though it was an unfortunate incident, I was grateful that I have met such nice people at Arthy's.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2017
9.7

While we did not have a great time in La Paz because my boyfriend and I were sick and had to go to the hospital while we were there, we enjoyed our stay at Arthy's Guesthouse. The owner is very helpful and friendly and his son who is a doctor helped us out a lot when we were sick. Hot showers and the wifi is good when it works! Recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Jun 2017
9.7

This place is an oasis in a crazy city. Great location, very clean, and excellent security. Didn't like la Paz that much but this hostel was a blessing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.3

The rooms are alright, the location is perfect to walk around, close to the bus station as well. The staff is friendly and every one speaks English. But the showers are terrible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
8.3

All areas of the hostel were very cold and no heating. The staff are friendly and helpful but there is not much atmosphere. A cheap place to stay and convenient for the town, bus station, etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2017
9.1

Arthy was really nice and willing to help. Good location. Nice hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
7.1

Reasonably well-located, particularly for bus travellers (5 min walk from main terminal, 10 mins to central tourist action.) I'm not sure about the dorms, but the private single (the only one) isn't good; right next to kitchen so you get to hear others' late night chats while they cook, light from main area shines in, and there is an unpleasant smell in the room. Maybe one for dorm stayers only; it seemed social.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.