X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arts Factory Lodge Reviews

Skinners Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
761 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Worst hostel I've stayed in after nearly 2 years traveling, couldn't leave quick enough. Very highly priced for facilities lower than a basic campsite. Staff were rude and unorganized expecting checked in guests to swap room every night when extending rather than taking 2 minutes to move unarrived guests on the computer screen even when extending stay by a week or more. Drug taking is actively encouraged which leads to a very hostel environment for people that don't want to be high 24hrs a day.

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A really enjoyable hostel. If you get to know people in different areas (eg camping zone, teepee's, etc) the Arts Factory can feel more like a mini-resort. I booked for two nights but ended up staying for six. I note that some people grade down this hostel because its location is a 10 minute walk from Byron Bay centre, however the hostel has a free shuttle which literally goes back and forth all day. TOP TIP! Buy booze from town before 10pm. Not available at hostel :) A great stay. Thanks guys!


26%

It wasn't what we expected. Not our style really. Was recommended to us by a travel advisor and we will not make the same mistake again. We didn't stay we paid for one night as we cancelled and went down to the holiday village in town. That was very nice.

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately, our funky laid back vipe isn't for everyone. Glad to hear you still enjoyed Byron. Happy travels :)

83%

Amazing hostel, really different and good atmosphere. Lots going on every evening and easy to make friends. I would say that this hostel is more about the experience than anything else. So if you're wanting somewhere really clean with lots of facilities this might not be the place. But if you want a great expert I'd recommend this place.


63%

Really quirky and can be quite fun but not that clean and very cramped

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for writing a review, we really appreciate this. Our housekeeping team does their best to clean the property 3 times a day and even at night time. So it should be clean. As we are a really big hostel, it's can be really busy especially in summer time. Happy travels

86%

Great hostel to stay in. We were in 6 bed dorm- the only thing I'd say was an additional fan would have been great. It was so hot at night it was crazy! But everything else was great. The bush was great & Harj at the Mad Travel desk couldn't have been more helpful. We booked the whole of our east coast trip with her!

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for writing a review, we really appreciate your opinion. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We love our mad travel expert hardcore! Happy travels :)

74%

Didn't like that we had to pay for wifi and put deposits down for so many things, e.g. towels, pots and pans etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for writing a review, we really appreciate this. Unfortunately our wifi is not free anymore, but it is only $4 for 24 hours and $12 for a week! The reason why we ask for a deposit is because we had a lot of stealing experiences. People just keep the things if we don't ask for something like a deposit. We had some bad experiences in the past. Happy travels :)

60%

Good hostel. It's large so never going to be always clean and was a little dirty (showers not cleaned three days I was there). But what they provide in terms of entertainment (cockatoo Paul - legend) and tour agency make up it. Okay for solo travelers but too many people to really make friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for writing a review. We are a really large hostel, as it is really busy during summertime. Although, our cleaners are cleaning the bathroom facilities 3 times a day, and even at night time. We feel sorry that is was still dirty during your stay. We do a lot of entertainment in the hostel, and that's really worth to join :) Glad to hear you liked the bushtucker walk! Happy travels!

63%

Dorm rooms were fine. No lockers. Not much space for bags etc. Pool is fine and area to play volleyball etc. Showers and toilets could be cleaned more often. Reasonable priced food on sale in the main area. Lively at night with lots of back packers. Bit of a walk to the main part but shuttle bus is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, First, thanks for writing a review, we really appreciate your opinion. We feel sorry you had bad experiences with our bathrooms. Although, our cleaners clean the bathrooms 3 times a day and even at night time. Our bus is great, you don't have to walk, just take the free shuttle into town! :)

100%

amazing place!! daily events!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for writing a review. We love the Arts Factory :)

100%

Fantastic Hostel would highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey. Thanks for writing a review, much appreciated! Happy travels :)

51%

THE HOSTEL ATMOSPHERE IS DIRTY


37%

Stayed here for 4 nights the other guests are out for themselves or on drugs as had so much food stolen. The hostel make you pay for all utensils in the kitchen which is bad for how much it is to stay. The cleaners leave your dorm rooms open and walk away while cleaning which is so unsafe and tbh I watched her move the Hoover all down the veranda and not use it in one room!The kitchen is disgusting with cockroaches in...just not worth the money at all!!


60%

Hostel has really good vibes and loads going on everyday, had a mix up with our booking so was in a bigger room. Wasn't a massive issue but those rooms don't have curtains and few windows so was quite loud every night and early in the mornings. MAD travel staff really friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rosanna, thanks for writing a review. We feel sorry this happened to you. If I read this , I think at the end you had a really nice stay, in a bigger room :) During summer it is really busy and our night security do their best to keep the noise during the night to a minimum level. Our mad travel staff is awesome! Happy travels :)

57%

The atmosphere was great but I would have expected more for that price. Rooms verybasic, no free lockers or free wifi, the kitchen is too small for so many people and it's location is not the best. The free shuttle service is a plus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Clarissa. Thanks for writing a review, we really appreciate your opinion. We do provide free wifi when our guests arrive, after that the wifi cost $4 dollars a day, which is quit cheap, compared to other hostels. It is especially in the summer really busy in the hostel and all our guests like to cook at the same time. Although the kitchen is open from 7am till 10pm and between these hours there is for sure a quiter moment to cook. Happy travels!

91%

Absolutely loved my stay here! The staff were helpful and the atmosphere was great. A bit of a walk into town, but there is a shuttle provided. Kitchen got very crowded and it was an effort finding fridge space! But so much space to hang out and relax. Would love to stay here again!


89%

The kitchen was dirty most of times and don't really know how often the pool was cleaned.

  • 22nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Very dirty and messy in the room, ok for one night no more

  • 19th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Bertrand. Thanks for writing a review. We really appreciate that. Our housekeeping does their best to keep the property as clean as possible. Unfortunately it is hard for our cleaners to keep it that clean after 4 times cleaning a day when it is so busy. Normally people do not complain about this subject, but we feel sorry that you had bad experiences. Happy travels :)

66%

Not far from Byron Bay, you still need to walk a little bit. But there is a lot of noise and bathroom are not clean. I don't think I will come back.

  • 16th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tuan-Long. Thanks for writing a review, we really appreciate your opinion. Do you know we offer a free bus running into town during day and night time? That is great, you do not have to walk. We are sorry it was noisy during your stay. We have night staff who control the noise and bring it to a minimum. Also the bathrooms are cleaning several times a day and night. Not a lot of guests complain about this. Sorry for your bad experience during your stay. Happy travels :)

100%

Great place to stay, was told it may be really "hippy" but there was a great mix of people from all over and the place is big enough for anyone to do anything they like! Lots going on, great pool! Rooms where perfect had lockers comfy beds hot showers, everywhere was kept clean and tidy, staff very helpful we had a little tour after being picked up from the greyhound explaining where things where then shown round the hostel! Great experience would definitely stay again! Oh and it's byo booze !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey. Thank you for writing a review. We are so glad to hear you loved your stay at Arts Factory. Great! We are looking forward to welcome you again sometimes! Happy travels :)

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Byron Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback