Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Arts Factory Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2017
6.9

A super hip hostel. It's quite a walk from town and far from the beach. The staff is helpful. It's expensive considering you have to pay for wifi, lockers, breakfast. The bushman tours are great and he's the coolest guy you'll meet. The kitchen is huge.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for sharing your experience @the Arts Factory ! We hope you have enjoyed your time with us. :)

  • Richtravel
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.6

Really cool hostel with a great vibe, and great location. Don't worry that its 5-10 minutes walk from the beach, the hostel is in a really nice jungley location anyway, and the the walk to town/beach is easy and nice. Backpacker/adventure vibe is up there with the best hostels i've stayed in. Only downside, really, is the bathrooms, which are old, and kinda gross. They aren't offensively gross i.e they are clean enough - but you'd really wanna wear flip flops in the shower for this one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experience, we are happy that you enjoy your stay at the Arts Factory ! We constantly looking for ways to improve our facilities, we will mention your issue to the housekeeping.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Apr 2017
7.4

Hostel room that doesn't close. Also no cups or glasses in the kitchen. Great atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for sharing your experience at the Arts Factory ! We noticed those issues and fixed them. Nevertheless we hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
6.3

good plan e but overcharged. far away from everything.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment. The hostel is 10 min away from the city center but we provide to our guests a free shuttle bus all day and we have a night bus service as well for more comfort. Unfortunately Byron Bay is a little more expensive than other parts of Australia, however our prices are inline with all the other hostels in the area.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.9

Great place - Nice chilled vibe, location is great 5 min walk to the town. Staff were very friendly and helpful they also offer free shuttle buses into Byron town. I Will definitely be back to Byron and would 100% stay at the arts lodge again. Great value for money and overall great spot

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the high rating and your comment ! We are trying to offer to all our guests a great experience with us. We are looking forward to see you again at the Arts Factory !

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
9.4

Had an amazing stay at arts factory as a solo female traveler in my early twenties I met so many fun people who I enjoyed spending my time with

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thansk for the rating and lovely you enjoyed your stay.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.1

Amazing place to stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review and rating. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Mar 2017
3.7

This is a dirty party hostel marscarading as a hippy paradise. The staff were incredibly rude and dismissive. The rooms were dirty and the lock on the door was broken, which is very secure.... The outdoor kitchen was unacceptably dirty, as were the toilets. What is nice about this hostel was the cafe, the proximity to the town and the markets and all the cool wildlife walking around. It was clear from the art and vibe that this hostel was once lovely. But it's well passed that point.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the property.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Mar 2017
7.7

The pool was great but the rooms were so hot and a fan just didn't cut it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your request. Unfortunately, non of our rooms has airco. Although the room was hot, we hope you enjoyed your stay.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
6.6

A very unique hostel which I always stay in when in Byron. It's a shame there is not any organised events so a place that has the potential to be really social doesn't really deliver, but for variety of both accomodation and people there isn't much better. The bar next door is also quite good and has a lot of free entertainment during the week.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks you very much for your feedback. It is depend on which day or days your staying. On Tuesday evening we have an open stage, where you con listen to the songs people made. On Wednesday evening it is triviant night. Furtermore, there are free and paid activities you could join, like Didgeridoo lesson, yoga, African drumming, and etc. Safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.