X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Arts Factory Lodge Reviews

Skinners Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
763 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great place to stay, was told it may be really "hippy" but there was a great mix of people from all over and the place is big enough for anyone to do anything they like! Lots going on, great pool! Rooms where perfect had lockers comfy beds hot showers, everywhere was kept clean and tidy, staff very helpful we had a little tour after being picked up from the greyhound explaining where things where then shown round the hostel! Great experience would definitely stay again! Oh and it's byo booze !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey. Thank you for writing a review. We are so glad to hear you loved your stay at Arts Factory. Great! We are looking forward to welcome you again sometimes! Happy travels :)

57%

I found staff members to be rude and unhelpful; the guy who picked me up in the van was lovely but he was the exception. I asked for some information about Byron the sales rep tried to flog me things for the rest of the east coast when it became clear that I was only interested in Byron she was very rude! I went into the room after it had been cleaned and the staff had kept the door open, my room was next to the bathrooms so it made it perfect for any opportunist thieves! I was not impressed!


51%

Unfortunately this hostel was not by the beach. However, it had a great atmospere. The only reason I would not stay again is because the facilities are disgustingly dirty. We reduced our stay, because no one ever cleaned the bathrooms or rooms. We had three punchmarks on our bedroom walls, a puddle on the floor upon check in and the bathrooms were just absolutely horrendous!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for writing a review. We really appreciate it. The beach is only 15 minutes away, and we have a bus driving into town every hour, this will only take you 5 minutes. We feel sorry it's was very dirty during your stay, but we actually have cleaners during the day who clean many times and even at night time. Normally guests don't complain about the cleaning situation. Happy travels

77%

Nice hostel, a very chill vibe. The lockers we had in our room weren't all working.

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for writing a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Arts Factory. We are sorry for the lockers, but we are working on it. Happy travels!

71%

Very cool hostel and setup but was extremely packed when I stayed there. It was very difficult to meet people if you are traveling alone because there are many cliquey groups. You have to pay for wifi and it's not that great. It's cool to be secluded but it was a bit of a walk to town and the beach. It would probably be really great during off season when it's not as crowded.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for writing a review about your stay. Especially in summertime it is getting very busy in the hostel and it is very populair among young groups of people. There are also backpackers who travelling alone. We offer a free bus running into town every hour, so you don't have to walk to town and back. Happy travels :)

83%

This place was pretty cool, there's lots going on and a nice atmosphere, and there's a really inexpensive cafe on site which is great!


97%

By far my favorite hostel in Oz! I wish i could have stayed longer :) The lagoon with lizard n tukeyseverywhere, everyone was so friendly , the staff looks like they loved theres jobs:) a great family atmosphere. Something going on every night and many workshops during the day, good cheap food and very good travel desk;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nancy. Thank you so much for writing a review. So glad to hear you loved you stay at Arts Factory! We do actually love our jobs:) We are looking forward to welcome you again!

80%

Rooms are decent enough, bathrooms could do with being cleaned more often. Staff are lovely and very helpful and the hostel is in a really good location just a short walk to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for writing a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We feel sorry you had bad experience with the bathrooms. Our cleaners are cleaning the bathrooms many times a day and even at night time. Happy travels:)

57%

Enjoyed staying here. Big hostel with lots going on. Room were cramped but didn't really matter. Bathrooms weren't very clean, but with so many people using them, I'm not surprised. About 10 minute walk to town. Had to pay for wifi which didn't really work. Good to have cafe on site but quite expensive. Have to give deposit for kitchen stuff which is a hassle. Good buzz about the place at night and lots of activities during the day. Worth a stay!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mark. Thank you for writing a review. Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay at Arts Factory. We are sorry for the bathrooms. Our cleaners are cleaning them several times during the day and even at night time. Unfortunately we have to ask for a deposit other wise all our stuff will disappear. We experienced that in the past. We hope to welcome you again! Happy travels :)

86%

Beware when booking more than one bed you may not be in the same room. Seems to be an ongoing problem and they didn't really care either. No apology and seemed content arguing all night. Bit lame. Apart from that, facilities were great and location was good. The atmosphere is worth staying in itself. People are great and most of the staff (jasper, Denny) are really good people. The dorms near the swamp are the best I've stayed in aus. Bit loud but meh would stay again as it's not too bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Scott, thanks for writing a review. We feel sorry you didn't slept in the same room as your friends. We always do our best to make your wish come true, but sometimes when it is really busy we cannot place you in the same room, but sure you can always ask if we can change something. Our night staff will always make sure it is quiet after 11pm and at night time. We hope to welcome you again. Happy travels :)

86%

Good value.... need to renovate toilets though ,they are pretty average.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , thanks for writing a review, we really appreciate that.

97%

So lovely! We were very impressed, will definately be back. The shuttle to and from town is awesome!

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Arts Factory. Happy Travels!

71%

Loved this place. Sometimes hard to meet people because there's a lot of long term groups but people are friendly enough. Staff are hit and miss. Some were amazing others dreadfully miserable. Tried to extend and was told no space twice even when I found a booking online I was told not to book because that was 'a fake' which wasn't true because I extended. That's the only let down. Good activities but not too much on over the weekend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Arts Factory. The busy season has started and it is hard to extend guests on the weekends especially. That's great that you extended on line, you probably got it because there was a last minute cancellation. We have plenty of activities during the week and on the weekends we get the guests to do the activities in town as there are so many.

80%

One of the best hostels I've stay in for atmosphere. Could have stayed there forever!


83%

Best hostel in Byron Bay!! So difficult to put into words the atmosphere, was only supposed to stay 3 days and ended up being here for 3 weeks!!! From bush walks, to drumming to talent night, this place has such a cool vibe.... Jasper was an absolute star... Will return one day 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for writing a review about your stay at arts factory. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you again! Happy travels :)

94%

Easily the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, heaps of activities, clean rooms and beautiful coffee! I will definitely try come back here for another stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mark. Thanks for writing a review, we really appreciate that. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Arts Factory! We are looking forward to welcome you again. Happy Travels :)

74%

suitable for late night parties, not sleeping

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing a review Andrew. The Arts Factory has a lot of young travellers who are in for a party! Hopefully you enjoyed it! Happy travels!

69%

Hostel atmosphere was fun and enjoyable, the events were great and loads of cool and down to earth backpackers. The staff on the other hand were largely unhelpful and often rude. Did not supply blankets, merely one small sheet which would have been fine if we hadn't been staying in a freezing tent-like shack, disguised as a dorm. Needless to say, the walls were screens and the hostel didn't have enough blankets to loan out. When we all enquires about this, we got a "too bad" answer.

  • 22nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Courtney for writing a review. Especially now in summertime it is getting busier in the hostel, so it may happen all blankets are already borrowed. It is also possible to borrow a sleeping bag if the blankets not there anymore. I would chose another type of room the next time. We hope to welcome you again!

74%

Great extra activities on at the hostel by donation; yoga and the bush walk with cockatoo Paul definitely recommended! Location isn't the best, bit far out from the main town. No wifi and even when it was purchased wouldn't work in our room so bit pointless/waste of money?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Yasmin. Thanks for writing a review. So glad to hear you liked our activities! There is a bus going into town during the day, so you do not have to walk every time you want to go into town! Even in weekend the bus in going till 4pm! Actually we do have good working Wifi! Happy travels!

63%

Very very noisey could not sleep at all

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi James, Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry you couldn't sleep at all. Unfortunately, we do our best to control the noise, but we are a big hostel and especially in weekends it is very busy. Happy travels!

(42 results)


View all Byron Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback