Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 575 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 575 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Located at 11 Hof Street, Gardens, Cape Town.
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
South Africa
Cape Town 8001 11 Hof Street, Gardens
91% 575
-33.9330525 18.4124314
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Jan 2017
8.6

Good place to stay in capetown. Safe and secure with security guard patrolling at night. Kloof street is just a block away with really good restaurants and bars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
6.9

Nice hostel with a nice bar. But I had some problems. First, I reserved a room with double bed and got one with twin bed. The guy at the reception just said there was nothing he could do. I paid the full amount on arrival. But they said on two other occasions that I didn't. The pool, one of the main reasons I booked this hostel, was most of the time green as a swamp. I would also suggest some more variability on the Bar´s playlist: hours straight of minimalistic deep house kills every mood.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel, especially great staff: Best thing about it was the travel agency inside where Lizette kindly helps you organising trips around CT or even cars (when there are actually no cars left).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great comment s- I will let Lizette know :-)

30th Dec 2016
9.1

Great hostel within close proximity to city center. Best facilities I experienced on my trip through Cape Town staying at multiple different hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pellebthygesen143
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
9.1

So good places to stay. Not last time I will stay there, so good service and friendly people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We look forward to welcoming you back!

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Dec 2016
3.4

Very very noisy. Staff don't enforce quiet rules. And too much drugs being sold in the hostel to the point where people who don't even stay here come to the bar just to buy weed and hard drugs. That poses a security risk in itself. For the price I paid, I expected much better. And my bed was never made for more than 8 days. They don't clean the rooms if no new guests are checking in. And the kitchen is ridiculously small. The bathrooms are nice but not cleaned Ogden enough for so much traffic.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am shocked by your comments and will certainly follow up on your points - drugs are not acceptable at Ashanti!! I am sorry if you did not find aspects of your stay enjoyable... most of our other international guests are quite happy. Regards, Lisa

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
5.7

My negative rating goes to the theater going on during the night I was staying. A fight in the hall kept me awake for hours. Crazy woman shouting and crying just at our window as she apperantly had a room in the hostel ( clearly on drugs and alcohol) staff could not handle situation. Kept her shouting and fighting and waking up each one of us in the room. Felt very annoyed and no chance to sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am so, so sorry that you had a bad experience at Ashanti. Sometimes we do get guests that misbehave and it can be very difficult to manage the situation. So sorry about that! Regards Lisa

  • elkeverplancke2413
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
24th Nov 2016
9.1

This hostel has a nice location, in walking distance from many of Cape Town's highlights and vibrant streets such as Kloof Street and Long Street. Bars and restaurants all around. But quiet at night because it's off the main streets. It has a cool swimming pool and clean facilities. Solid hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good!! I am glad that you enjoyed our location as well as our facilities. Regards Lisa

18th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice hostel, amazing atmosphere, 20 min walking from Long Street (not so central). Everybody was friendly with me there and the room was very nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you enjoyed your stay - see you again soon one day?

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.1

Great staff, great location, great bar! Good place to stay!;-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much - safe travels!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.