Hostelworld.com

Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Located at 11 Hof Street, Gardens, Cape Town.
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
South Africa
Cape Town 8001 11 Hof Street, Gardens
87% 524
-33.9330525 18.4124314
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2016
10.0

Great place to stay in Capetown! Staff was just amaaazing, in a quiet corner yet close to the action, and a really cool social bar upstairs. The pool is probably a big bonus if the weather is warmer. Thanks for a really awesome week!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
8.0

Definitely a party place on the weekends so it can be loud late but the bar area is great and there's a great outdoor area. If you want to be close to Long Street but not on it this is the place to be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Great housing, amazing stuff! One of the best hostels I've ever been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great review - I am so glad that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer! Hopefully we will see you back again one day. Safe travels Regards Lisa

  • jacklweatherley
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.3

Really ood staff, Tyrone, Anna? and James are really cool ad helpful. Has everything you need and the building itself is pretty nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there - I presume you mean "good" staff :-) Thanks for the review - I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Lisa

23rd Mar 2016
8.9

Nice place.....clean, good breakfast, cool place to party at the bar. I would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2015
4.9

Bar was open and people screaming all night, private rooms are much more expensive but not good value or money, had a more comfortable, quieter nights sleep in a dorm room! Overall poor experience of private rooms. Atmosphere is ruined by a weird group of teenagers running the bar who blare the techno early doors... Little atmosphere to talk and meet people without first drinking 5 shots!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience at Ashanti - it must have been because everyone was having a big party for Christmas! As you can tell from the rest of our views, our guests mostly enjoy the vibe. Regards, Lisa

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Dec 2015
5.1

Hostels location was worser than expected, especially for the evening. Evening/night staff could be more kind/helpfull. Facilities were looking older than expected. Fan in the room was really noise, same for the lockers under the beds. Nobody told me that there were hot showers downstairs(had to hear this from an other tourist), showers on 1st floor were cold. No wifi on the room.. Music until late at night. Breakfast should be included if you charge this price for this facilities.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The night staff work from 9pm until 7am and can sometimes get quite busy when they work alone, but are generally very personable, so I am surprised by this. In terms of the noise made by the fan and lockers, we have a sign in all the rooms asking for guests to inform us of anything that needs attending to tin the room as it can sometimes be quite difficult to know. The shower issue has been attended to now - again we were not informed, but the maintenance issue there has been fixed. Our prices are substantially lower than other hostels in our category so I am sorry that you felt it was too high. Regards Lisa

  • jorge_sjoberg6053
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 51 reviews
15th Dec 2015
9.7

Great hostel with a realy good travel service. The baz bus is a good option to travel for a short time if you are one person otherwise it might be good to rent a car. Book the tours as soon as you get there because they might end up full for several days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed our hostel and travel service. Regards Lisa

  • tonybanks
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Dec 2015
8.6

Stayed here for 6 nights.Excellent location and very friendly staff. You can literally book every tours Cape Town has to offer with their travel agent Lizet. They made my stay feels like home. Thank so much guys.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels! Regards Lisa

7th Dec 2015
8.0

Nice hostel, people def party here and noise travels a lot because it's a old house with wood floors and high ceilings, which makes it beautiful but loud. Nice patio and balcony but people smoke outside and travels in room- so think about that if it bothers you. Also tons of ants in kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.