Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Mar 2017
6.9

Travel agent was incredibly unfriendly, other members of staff couldn't be bothered with you. The bar area is nice. Bathrooms could be cleaner. You have to pay a completely unnecessary deposit of 50R when you check-in for a piece of paper. Absolutely no idea what the benefit of this is, nor do the staff that I asked! This hostel doesn't live up to its reputation, mainly because of the unfriendly staff!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
6.0

The place had everything to be the greatest hostel in CPT, however: - The dorms were not fully equiped (missing power outlets near the beds, for example) - Some showers didn´´'t work properly - Staff not always kind (though they found a lost watch and returned me) - For 2 days, there was a dead cockroach in our room (we had to beg for they to remove it)! But besides that, it is a good place, with a nice swimming pool, bar and good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel for younger people looking to socialize and party. Very clean and professional as well. Awesome staff and crew hanging out by the bar each night. Breakfast isn't free but it is very good !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • NathanielLJ
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
8.3

Overall I'd say this is a very good place to stay considering the price. Although they get booked very easily, so I would recommend you pay for the amount of time you actually intend to stay. If you're like me, and just try to pay night by night, you'll be kicked out of there in a matter of days!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
9.7

Really great stay here in Cape Town. VERY secure - multiple codes etc to get in. Great food, pool, incredible views, and fun staff. Also just an overwhelming number of resources to help you book things to do in CapeTown. Some of the showers didn't really function well, but that is probably partly due to Cape Town's drought and you could always find one that worked. No complaints! And central location allows you to walk down Kloof etc etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Clean, safe, good facilities, nice bar and communal area, good for making friends or going to sleep early. I loved the place, only downside is the staff does not give a damn about you, so many people go there...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Usually our staff are very friendly so I am sorry that you felt that they don't care - we really do!! They may have been exceptionally busy. Sorry about that. Regards Lisa

6th Feb 2017
8.0

24 hour reception staff with cameras on locked gate. Showers were great compared to several other locations in area. Basic breakfast provided at cost. Each bed had own night light which is very helpful coming in late.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review - I am glad that you have noticed all the extra bits that have been instituting! Safe travels! Regards Lisa

28th Jan 2017
7.1

Though the location is good and close to bars and restaurants and still relatively quiet at night, there is a repeated bedbug issue. They have fumigated the room it occurred in, and these things will inevitably happen at any hostel at some point, just be a bit wary... Otherwise, bathrooms are clean enough, the kitchen is filthy (ants and flies EVERYWHERE) and understocked, dormitories have carpeting, and beds are decent. If no bedbugs, this is a half decent place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
10.0

Very good hostel amazing atmosphere clean and very nice stuff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your comments. Hopefully we will see you back again one day? Regards Lisa

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
8.6

Everything quite nice. Only the staff during the night shift wasn't very helpfull. And the kitchen didnt have any salt,oil, (basic stuff) to cook.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments - we do have a communal shelf in the kitchen with basic foodstuffs.... maybe they were depleted? Sorry about that! Regards Lisa

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.