X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ashanti Lodge Gardens Reviews

11 Hof Street, Gardens, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
406 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Just got annoyed with one of your African male cleaners, who clearly was prejudiced towards me, because of my ethnicity of being a coloured person. I comfronted him.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Ashanti Gardens is a very nice, lively Place to stay. Breakfast on the balcony with a glance on Tablemountain is fabulous!

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel in Cape Town

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location and amazing staff members!

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us Veronica :-)

91%

We enjoyed our stay. Good location. Safe area. Pool small but excellent for a dip. Good pay breakfast. Would use again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Jimmy - I am glad you enjoyed your stay!

100%

One of the best hostels i have ever stayed in...great staff, amazing location, and very easy to get around Cape Town from by foot.

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Chris!!

89%

All in all it's a great backpackers to stay in! You feel very safe and the people are nice. The only problem is the wifi - you get a free code but have to get a new one every 2 hours and sometimes it doesn't work at all.. But a perfect place to spend your time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Katharina - thanks for your comment and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are right - issuing those vouchers for the free wi-fi is a real pain (specially when they don't work!!) but we are looking at a few new systems. In the meantime, at least most of the time your free wi-fi works :-0 Regards Lisa

91%

I really wanted to leave an EXCELLENT rating across all the categories but I couldn't for the following reasons: the rooms were spotless and so were the common areas; however, the restrooms and showers needed cleaning. All the staff were outstanding, except for the tall blobdish guy with curly hair. He needs to learn how to listen to the customer and not make assumptions. Lizette is an outstanding organizer that goes above the call of duty to make her guests happy. She gets an OUSTANDING score

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review William. I will have a word with the cleaning staff regarding the showers, but am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Lisa

100%

Good dorms, comfy beds, great duvet.. Very secure with gate codes, a security guard overnight, plus personal safes. The pool area is really nice, the cafe/bar does cheap good food and has a good social atmosphere at night. The bar balcony has a great view of Table Mtn and Lions Head - good for checking if it's a good day to climb! Good kitchen and has a supermarket only a short walk away. Staff is fantastic. Have a tour desk on site to book anything you're interested in doing. Free wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers Amanda - glad to hear you had a good time.

71%

Its in Gardens, nice location. It is a very big hostel, in my room was only one other girl out of six beds so if its not full it might be a little lonely although its a very party hostel. Lots of noises during the night. Pretty clean and free wifi that expires every two hours, but no complains!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Femke!

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Great place to stay!

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good hostel


94%

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The service from the on-site travel agency was excellent.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The kitchenfacillities are very poor. Falling apart cupboards, no dishes little cuttlery


100%

Excellent!! Staff very friendly and helpful with taxis, booking tours, nothing was too much trouble. Bar upstairs-great food, good prices, superb view of table mountain. originally staying for 4 nights-ended up staying for 8. Did not want to leave!! Will definitely stay again if or WHEN i return! Thanks guys!! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we look forward to welcoming you back Aimee :-)

77%

Kitchen was adjacent to all the rooms in the pool area so was very noisy with drunk guests partying until 3am which was very frustrating when you are trying to sleep!

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment Niall. I apologise for the noise whilst you were here, but we did have a bad element staying here who have now left. I am sure that you if come back again you wouldn't find the same problem. Regards Lisa

51%

The rate for the room is quite high compared to what you get in many other cities/towns in SA. There was construction work going on from early morning to late afternoon which was annoying. The hostel requires money for towels which in all other hostels/guesthouses we stayed in SA was free.

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Tanja. You will find that the rate for the room is on a par (if not cheaper) with other Cape Town hostels. I am sorry that your timing was bad in that you were here whilst we were repairing the paving around the pool but we did try to keep the noise to day time only-it looks beautiful now! We charge a small laundering fee for towels in the shared rooms, but towels are provided in the other rooms. Regards, Lisa

100%

The twin room we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable. Really good value for the price. Excellent toilet and showering facilities and friendly staff. Rooms are equipped with a safe to store all your valuables. Amazing view of the table mountain from the bar/restaurant area. A good breakfast buffet is available and food options at the bar is good too if you feel like grabbing a quick lunch or dinner.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Satheees Thanks for your review - glad you had a good stay with us!! Regards Lisa

86%

Ashanti was a great and very clean place to stay, there was confusion with our booking, but the manager cleaned it up straight away and upgraded us even though it was not a big deal in the first place, the rooms are very clean and modern for a hostel. their is renovations being done at the moment to make it even better. the breakfast was delicious and cheap

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Paul Thanks for the review - glad I could help! Regards Lisa

100%

Stayed for four nights and everything was great! The staff were awesome to chill with! We didn't eat at the hostel but they had a rather big menu. The bar is pretty small but why stay at the hostel bar when long street is so close?! I would definitely stay here again. Everyone was very helpful and laundry service was same day and great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Victoria Thanks for your review. We are currently having plans done up to extend the bar deck area so we will soon have a much bigger lounge area to overlook the mountain. Hopefully we will see you back again! Regards Lisa

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(260 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback