X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ashanti Lodge Gardens Reviews

11 Hof Street, Gardens, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
424 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

We felt us very cool at Ashanti. Thank you

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great - I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Regards Lisa

86%

Good location, only 5 mins walk from Long Street and close to supermarket and table mountain. Bar was cool but there was no place to hang out if you wanted to chill. Needs a communal couch area for people to mingle and meet other than noisy bar. Views of table mountain were epic. Irish guy and French guy were good staff!! So friendly and helpful. Electricity not working when I wanted to cook but got it sorted after a bit. Good wifi. Just would've like a couch area to hang with people


100%

Best Hostel I've ever been to!!!

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fabulous to hear that!!

80%

I enjoyed my stay at Ashanti Lodge Gardens - it was extremely secure with a code to enter the compound, another code to enter the dorm then personal safes and a locker under the bed to store your bag. In terms of location, it was well situated - only a 20min walk from Long Street, 5min walk from a supermarket/pharmacy and a 2min walk from a HopOnHopOff and MyCity bus stop. The view of Table Mountain from the restaurant terrace is also quite amazing. They also offer a great laundry service.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really good hostel! Great facilities, and not far from the waterfront, CBD and Table mountain. A few improvements could be made: not all the safes in the rooms work, and the French girl who was at reception was pretty clueless, hopefully once she's been there longer she will get better

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Denver - thanks for your review. We do have a notice in the rooms asking us to be informed if something doesn't work, so hopefully by now someone has told us about the safes and they ARE fixed! The French intern has only been with us a few weeks and she would never work on her own, but she has already improved a lot. Regards, Lisa

83%

Great hostel, had everything you needed eg. towels for hire, decent wifi, a pool, bar, cafe, laundry service, comfortable beds, and a good vibe!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay Chloe!

91%

we were in a very clean room that was unfortunately directly below the bar. other yhan the noise the place is great and kitchen and pool area is perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Tim - sorry about the room below the bar!!

86%

Beautiful hostel, really good bar with nice food and amazing breakfast buffet! Rooms were nice, everything was clean. Very very secure, had an electric safe each and code entry to the rooms!! about 5 minute walk to Long Street which was pretty good.


97%

Just got annoyed with one of your African male cleaners, who clearly was prejudiced towards me, because of my ethnicity of being a coloured person. I comfronted him.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Ashanti Gardens is a very nice, lively Place to stay. Breakfast on the balcony with a glance on Tablemountain is fabulous!

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel in Cape Town

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location and amazing staff members!

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us Veronica :-)

91%

We enjoyed our stay. Good location. Safe area. Pool small but excellent for a dip. Good pay breakfast. Would use again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Jimmy - I am glad you enjoyed your stay!

100%

One of the best hostels i have ever stayed in...great staff, amazing location, and very easy to get around Cape Town from by foot.

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Chris!!

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

All in all it's a great backpackers to stay in! You feel very safe and the people are nice. The only problem is the wifi - you get a free code but have to get a new one every 2 hours and sometimes it doesn't work at all.. But a perfect place to spend your time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Katharina - thanks for your comment and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are right - issuing those vouchers for the free wi-fi is a real pain (specially when they don't work!!) but we are looking at a few new systems. In the meantime, at least most of the time your free wi-fi works :-0 Regards Lisa

91%

I really wanted to leave an EXCELLENT rating across all the categories but I couldn't for the following reasons: the rooms were spotless and so were the common areas; however, the restrooms and showers needed cleaning. All the staff were outstanding, except for the tall blobdish guy with curly hair. He needs to learn how to listen to the customer and not make assumptions. Lizette is an outstanding organizer that goes above the call of duty to make her guests happy. She gets an OUSTANDING score

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review William. I will have a word with the cleaning staff regarding the showers, but am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Lisa

100%

Good dorms, comfy beds, great duvet.. Very secure with gate codes, a security guard overnight, plus personal safes. The pool area is really nice, the cafe/bar does cheap good food and has a good social atmosphere at night. The bar balcony has a great view of Table Mtn and Lions Head - good for checking if it's a good day to climb! Good kitchen and has a supermarket only a short walk away. Staff is fantastic. Have a tour desk on site to book anything you're interested in doing. Free wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers Amanda - glad to hear you had a good time.

71%

Its in Gardens, nice location. It is a very big hostel, in my room was only one other girl out of six beds so if its not full it might be a little lonely although its a very party hostel. Lots of noises during the night. Pretty clean and free wifi that expires every two hours, but no complains!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Femke!

80%

Great place to stay!

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good hostel


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(268 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback