Hostelworld.com

Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Clean, safe, good facilities, nice bar and communal area, good for making friends or going to sleep early. I loved the place, only downside is the staff does not give a damn about you, so many people go there...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Usually our staff are very friendly so I am sorry that you felt that they don't care - we really do!! They may have been exceptionally busy. Sorry about that. Regards Lisa

6th Feb 2017
8.0

24 hour reception staff with cameras on locked gate. Showers were great compared to several other locations in area. Basic breakfast provided at cost. Each bed had own night light which is very helpful coming in late.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review - I am glad that you have noticed all the extra bits that have been instituting! Safe travels! Regards Lisa

28th Jan 2017
10.0

Very good hostel amazing atmosphere clean and very nice stuff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your comments. Hopefully we will see you back again one day? Regards Lisa

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
8.6

Everything quite nice. Only the staff during the night shift wasn't very helpfull. And the kitchen didnt have any salt,oil, (basic stuff) to cook.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments - we do have a communal shelf in the kitchen with basic foodstuffs.... maybe they were depleted? Sorry about that! Regards Lisa

16th Jan 2017
6.3

Pretty disappointing. Was excited by the great reviews on HostelWorld, especially as a solo traveller, but found the staff to be rude and unhelpful and the experience not as expected. Good location (a couple blocks from Kloof St), seemed pretty safe (gate, door codes, and safes), and was clean. May be better for a group as there is a nice pool and outdoor space, but would not recommend to a solo traveler looking to meet new people.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! I am so sorry that you did not have a good experience at Ashanti. Most of our guests seem to meet people and have a good time. Sorry about that! Regards Lisa

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Jan 2017
8.6

Good place to stay in capetown. Safe and secure with security guard patrolling at night. Kloof street is just a block away with really good restaurants and bars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

9th Jan 2017
9.1

Large hostel, super helpful staff, walking distance to Kloof Street, bar upstairs is nice, good selection of drinks, food is good, plenty of seating, would stay there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad you enjoyed it - we look forward to welcoming you back :-) Regards Lisa

9th Jan 2017
6.9

Nice hostel with a nice bar. But I had some problems. First, I reserved a room with double bed and got one with twin bed. The guy at the reception just said there was nothing he could do. I paid the full amount on arrival. But they said on two other occasions that I didn't. The pool, one of the main reasons I booked this hostel, was most of the time green as a swamp. I would also suggest some more variability on the Bar´s playlist: hours straight of minimalistic deep house kills every mood.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel, especially great staff: Best thing about it was the travel agency inside where Lizette kindly helps you organising trips around CT or even cars (when there are actually no cars left).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great comment s- I will let Lizette know :-)

30th Dec 2016
9.1

Great hostel within close proximity to city center. Best facilities I experienced on my trip through Cape Town staying at multiple different hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.