X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ashanti Lodge Green Point Reviews

23 Antrim Road, Green Point, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
169 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Thanks for letting us stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are welcome!!!

86%

The security was good from outside but when you are inside the hostel it's easy to steal something - at least at the top room that we had, since the window has no good security! Also safe was not working either and was too small for a Notebook or similar devices.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Romed. Thank you for your review. I am surprised that you mention the room security as we have never had anything stolen from that room before. We do have a notice in the rooms to inform management if something is not working and if we had been informed about the safe, we could have fixed it immediately. Nevertheless we take note of what you say and will check it out. Many thanks Lisa

69%

I thought my stay here was rally good. My some nice people although it is a quiet hostel, but at not a bad thing. The security was fantastic one night in particular, handling things very professionally. Overall, a good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI Rebecca I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Regards Lisa

100%

Loved this hostel!

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good location (near the beachfront/ stadium) in an area where are no other hostels.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Staid there for only one night. Helpful staff and good vibe and extremely secure. I enjoyed my short stay in this hostel. Nothing bad to say but then again I wasn't there long but the time spent there was good


94%

The stay was great.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Thsi Lodge is very nice and clean. Also a quiet place to relax.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Theresia Thanks so much for your review - I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Lisa

83%

There were bed bugs in the bed, got bitten badly. But other than that, a great place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
OMW Stephano!!! This is the first that we have heard about this and I am horrified. I will email you directly for details as we have a policy in place to deal with this situations - both preventative and also to clear the problem. As I am sure you are aware these critters are sometimes brought into the property from other establishments as we pride ourselves on keeping everything very clean and neat. I will investigate immediately. Regards Lisa

94%

I really enjoyed staying here. It was very cheap, and close to an absolute beautiful view of the ocean! I met lots of intersting people. It was my first time in a hostel, and it was a good one. I would definitely go back.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Katie Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that we managed to convert you to hostel living and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Lisa

74%

There was a lot of noise from the kitchen, hall, and outside, when trying to sleep during the night!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello MAria Thank you for your review - I apologise for the noise, but if you had said something to the night manager I am sure that he could have quietened things down. Regards, Lisa

83%

The staff seemed annoyed if we where asking for a pillow... Cleanliness in the kitchen was awful, everything else was clean and nice (bedrooms/ bathrooms and living room).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Fanziska - thanks for your review. I am so sorry that one the staff members seemed annoyed by your request.... and you should ALL have pillows anyway. As the kitchen is self=catering, sometimes other guests DO leave a mess and it is difficult to have a cleaner on stand-by 24/7. I appreciate your comments though. Regards Lisa

91%

I have stayed here before and will definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear that Brendan!

97%

Loved it! I'll come here again if my no 1 hostel is booked out. Very good dorms, good lockers and places to store your stuff. In the morning you can prepare your free pancakes from a dough provided. Staff is very nice and helpful. Thanks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jennifer - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Lisa

89%

There are some restaurants in the area, but it's about a fifteen minute walk to the waterfront and longer to get downtown. That said, tour companies will all pick you up and drop you off right at the hostel for day tours. Staff are friendly and helpful and you can book high quality tours right at the front desk. There's no soap in the bathrooms so bring your own.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jaclyn Thanks for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! We do have soap at the sinks in the bathrooms - just not in the showers! Thanks Lisa

86%

My stay there was very enjoyable. It made my visit to cape town a great pleasure.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fabulous - come again!

91%

Very nice place to stay!!!! It's good, I came back here for more 3 nights :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great stuff!!!

94%

Great hostel, very clean and well located in Cape Town. Choose one of the rooms upstairs or in the annexe in the back if you want some peace and quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review Mathew. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, but am surprised that you found it noisy as it is usually very quiet. Many thanks Lisa

91%

Very slow to check in but otherwise the staff were very helpful

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jane Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry if the check-in procedure may have been a bit slow, but sometimes it is best just to make sure that things are correctly done. I am glad that you found the staff helpful though - that's the main thing :-) Regards Lisa

94%

Excellent place to stay. Good breakfast with make-your -own pancakes. WiFi was free and worked well. You need to bring your own lock for the locker under your bed (in dorms). they do not sell locks at the hostel. The location is a good 45 minute walk from the city center, but there is plenty to do and see. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. However, the hostel could provide better public transport directions from the airport. I would certainly stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review David - I will ensure that we update our airport directions as soon as possible :-) Regards Lisa

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback