Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Apr 2017
8.9

There were some notice all day long, seven days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
8.9

Can't complain about this hostel ! Super modern and clean. It's close to waterfront, only 20 min walk. But for me as a backpacker there are other places to go if you want to meet peopl because it's very relaxed and more chilled, not a party hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! So glad you recognise our hostel for what it is. It is not a party hostel, because not everyone wants to party!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
8.9

Had a great stay here with my two friends during our stay in Cape Town! Highlights were the staff and the location. It's close to the retail and restaurants of the Sea Point and Green Point neighborhoods. The amazing and accommodating staff made us feel welcome and gave great recommendations and tips for our stay in Cape Town. The three bedroom room that we had was pretty basic and we did have to share the bathroom with other guests, but that was clearly stated on the site.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Kind regards, Jason

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
7.4

Die Mitarbeiter waren freundlich. Das WC war nicht immer sauber und die Doppelbetter waren etwas wackelig. Aber für den Preis war ich ganz zufrieden.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for the review, all input helps us improve and we will be sure to try improve wherever possible. Kind regards, Jason

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
7.7

There no actual breakfast and no free coffee/tea. WiFi is not working, even in the reception area Nice staff, clean room and washrooms, safe location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for the review, all input helps us improve. Please know that we were aware of the wifi problem and have since fixed it. With regards to the free breakfast and tea/coffee, all those things were available in the communal kitchen and we are sorry you missed out. Kind regards, Jason

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Dec 2016
6.6

Free breakfast was advertised. It was a factor in my decision between this hostel and a room somewhere else. I thought a free breakfast would make it more convenient for me. But, the free breakfast was not free as advertised. Also, they charge females R15 more for the same exact type of dorm. It's rather sexist and discriminatory towards women. I doubt it's even legal. I felt rather safe there overall. But the carpets were a bit sticky and my bed wobbly and the linen not quite clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for the review, all input can help us improve. I am sorry you feel that it is discriminatory to charge extra for the female dorm but this is industry standard all over the world. Please be rest assured it is not just us. With regards to the free breakfast, we were referring to the free pancakes in the morning but please know from June this year an actual buffet breakfast will be part of the rate. Kind regards, Jason

15th Dec 2016
8.0

Not a bad place at all. The bathrooms are well kept and private. The beds are nice. Pool is alright. Lots of staff and it seems like their kids like to hang around but they didn't bother anyone. Decent social scene.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We are glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the review. Please know that the staff never normally bring their kids to work. There was a once off occasion over the period that you stayed because our staff members daughter was visiting from the Eastern Cape Kind regards, Jason

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

All the sterile charm of a Holiday Inn Express, but it does the job. Two odd things of note: When they say "free pancakes," they mean "free communal bowl of pancake batter but no toppings, and if it runs out before 10 a.m., too bad for you." Also, the top bunks have no safety railings, meaning that if you sleepily roll out of bed you can have a nasty fall. If you get stuck with an upper bunk and then switch to a lower one, don't expect the used bedding to be changed on the one you switch to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for the review, all input helps us improve. I feel that there was some lack of communication because both issues could have been solved if you had told us. We would have been more than happy to help. Unfortunately we were not aware of either issue at the time so we couldn't assist. Kind regards, Jason

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.