X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ashfield Hostel Reviews

19-20 DOlier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4377 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very nice location.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The atmosphere is not that good - probably because of all the tables and the lack of a communal lounge area. I was glad I wasn't traveling alone, cause that would have been a bummer.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff was extremely friendly and willing to help advise travel however they were not always correct on where to go. The price was great especially considering it is in the heart of the city center right by Trinity College and where the airport bus drops you off. I would stay here again. Recommend you go to Odoyles bar almost across the street awesome drinks with a local atmosphere less touristy

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Just stayed for one night and was perfect for what I needed.


57%

Very old, shabby hostel in desperate need of refurbishment with no lockers!!! Also - you're asked to hand your key in at reception whenever you leave and ask for it again when you come back. You're never asked for proof you're in the room so essentially anyone can stroll into your room (which has no lockers). Staff very rude, kept complaining about having to buzz people in the front door...which is his job! Good location but bad hostel

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good hostel with a perfect location. Rooms and breakfast were good. Staff was very friendly and always able to help with any questions.


100%

Staff were great and really helpful. Good, central location.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Thank's for the really great time and the very very good advises from the staff :)

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This was my first time in a hostel (I usually stay in hotels) but this was a great experience! The staff was super nice, the rooms were clean and nice and the bed was comfy (although I prefer having more than just one pillow). The breakfast was just o.k., but with the price of the night it was really good to have breakfast also! I'd recommend Ashfield to everyone trying to find affordable yet good accommodation in a perfect location. :)

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel was alright. Pros: smack in the middle of centre i.e. D Olier street, and breakfast included and quiet place (no noisy area even though its in the centre) Cons: room is not ventilated well and was too warm that i couldnt sleep!


97%

Friendly staff, available - genuinely available - 24/7. Accommodation was simple, but provided everything you could need - including ear-plugs in case the sound of traffic kept you awake. (I didn't actually find it a problem, although our room overlooked the main road. But it's an example of the attention to detail, and the fact that they seem to have thought of everything). Excellent value for money.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I have nothing to complain about, and the reception staff were friendly and welcoming and very accomodating.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very pleasant place, great staff, I highly recommend it

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great staff and very good location.


83%

I've stayed at the Hostel a few times and always find the staff very helpful with a warm welcome! The location is excellent and connection to the airport very near.


100%

Wonderful hostel, will be there for all future hostel stays in Dublin.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Loved the music that was played, especially with the live harmonic and singing! Absolutely one of a kind and entertaining.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent stay staff very friendly and helpful stayed before and will stay again when we go back next summer 😃

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in.


91%

Staff was very friendly. Will stay here again

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(140 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback