X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ashton House Hostel Reviews

Ashton House, 196 Corporation Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
751 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

downstairs make bathrooms were awful, water a few cm deep on the main floor, and side was old and needed lots of cleaning, and funny smell. The water did not come out of the futuristic showers at all, my room was very small 6 bed very tight and very cold....no heating on in room at all. It really bad that the showers are on a different floor. It is close to manc city centre and Victoria. This place needs a full renovation and quick otherwise will lose out to other manc hostels..v v disappointed


77%

dirty bathroom


86%

I think you guys should get more charger sockets that is the worst thing about our stay that there was only 1 in the room! :D

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Been there for a night and cant complain.


77%

Rooms are great, but the facilities are a bit off. Mens showers are pretty rough, same for the downstairs toilets. Location is sweet for walking anywhere you need.


46%

It is the cheapest place in Manchester and that's what you get....dirt


83%

Maybe not the freshest bathroom but It was near the high street and you can rent a locker to keep your valubles which is good if you dont want to bring them with you. Also close to a cosy bar NOHO which is around several other bars and clubs. cheap and good location

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Put simply, the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Filthy, noisy and disorganised, they clearly trade of the Manchester part scene and nothing else. I wish never to stay again.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The rooms were very loud- I was in a 6 bed dorm next to the 20 something dorm and I could barely get any sleep because I could hear word for word everyone's conversations. The bathrooms definitely need a makeover and it would be nice if there was a communal place to hangout and meet other travellers as the only place was the kitchen and that was quid small. Location was only a short walk to the arndale centre though.


57%

The staff at the reception are sometimes very impolite and rude!


80%

The shower rooms need to be renovated but everything else was great.


57%

A group of five, we stayed in the 20beds mixed dorm. The bunk beds were too close, hardly to walk pass when needed to get out. The light in the room automatically turned off at 22:30 which I never experienced before at other hostels. The female shower was nice but the bathroom itself was bad, dark and cold, no light again after 22:30. No water came though the shower at the lower floor male bathroom although the shower looks fancy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest I am sorry that your stay at Ashton House was not satisfactory. The lights in the bathrooms and showers are automatic, they work on a sensor which registers movement, however, perhaps it would have been good to report the issue to the staff who are always happy to assist. The showers are 'fancy' as you say and many guests require help to turn the multiple knobs on, however, I can confirm that the showers are in full working order. Kind regards, Billie Wilde, manager

80%

A nice stay at Ashton House inside of building very nice and good rooms Hostel was quite difficult to find due to the large amount of building and Road works near by I liked the location as easy to walk to Manchester City Centre also near football museum and concert areana


100%

The best hostel I've ever stayed In! Amazing breakfast, cozy atmosphere, 1 pound dinners, right on the beautiful river near the city centre, and cozy comfortable rooms. Most importantly, the staff are amazing- very kind and welcoming. People that lovely are hard to come by.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A place that is perfect for only needing a bed!!The facitilites smelt a little bit but otherwise all ok!


77%

No issues. Just Basic. Real basic.


77%

Mattress springs dug in a bit. I wouldn't call it a boutique hostel either. It's pretty basic. Girls showers weren't as high tec as the boys.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I like the place it had every thing and it was value for money and it was always clean and the staff were good to.


34%

Not the best hostel ever. No circulation in the 24 bed dorm so they cover up the smell with air freshers. Pillow was flatter than a pancake, very dusty, unfriendly staff, bathrooms are old and need improvements like locks on the door perhaps, walls are paper thin so don't expect to get a good sleep. Futuristic showers was the only good thing about this place. There were a few other bad things that I can't remember. Don't stay here if possible.


74%

Only one night's stay so limited impression. Hostel is located close to Victoria train station and within easy access of most of Manchester's nightlife, shares its area with a lot of student accomm. Facilities are generally good, dorms very pleasant, lack of locker was a surprise but rooms are on a card lock. Shower units very elaborate for a hostel (worth a visit just for these!). Staff very friendly and helpful. Hostel lacks a common space and seemed very quiet, but was a weekday. Would again


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback