Hostelworld.com

Ashton House Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.1
Ashton House Hostel Located at Ashton House, 196 Corporation Street, Manchester.
Ashton House Hostel
England
Manchester Manchester Ashton House, 196 Corporation Street
59% 821
53.4886583 -2.2386735
Ashton House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • crafty_stonzi
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Apr 2016
8.3

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place is in quite a good location, besides that the price for towels was 3 quid with a 5 quid deposit, as I had to leave before 9am I wouldn't be able to get my deposit back either, the kitchen was very basic also

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
4.0

Uncomfortable, not clean

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
3.1

Toilet and shower room are so dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Feb 2016
5.7

I had a problem while making the reservation here at hostel world, we are supposed to give an advance of a percentage, and arriving to the hostel pay the rest, well, the hostel charged me the complete amount online, which I think you should warn before making a reservation

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Feb 2016
6.0

The location is quite central (15 min walking distance to the city centre). Altogether I must say it wasn't that clean, especially the bathroom. It was very cold as well in the bath room as apparently there were no radiators. The facilities in the kitchen were poor as there were no mugs, the table for eating were quite shaky. I also think the hostel should assign you a concrete bed to avoid people sleeping in the wrong bed. What happened to me as a guy just invaded my bed when I was away.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Feb 2016
6.0

People talking & shouting till past 4am. Lights on 9am on the dot, building work started just after. Dorm was ok, toilets smelt horrendous, after that couldn't be bothered attempting showers as I just got up and left.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2016
5.1

There are three factors that made my stay uncomfortable. a) There are no separators (eg curtains) inside the big dorm so sound travels freely inside. b) Walls are thin and noises from the kitchen or bathrooms can be heard from within the dorm. c) The lights in the dorms go off and on automatically so you're either forced into staying up longer or waking up earlier than you wanted without being able to control anything. Those are just some point on which the hostel could improve upon.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jan 2016
2.6

Guys please consider booking this hostel if others are all fully-booked... This is the worst hostel I have never stayed before ! When we checked in someone was using our bed already so we asked the staff to give us another pillow! no curtain for your bed .and we stayed at 6 mixed dorm room but only have 2 sockets and they were in the corner of the room !The kitchen only has fridge and microwave nut no ovens for you to cook! The worst thing was doors of toilets were transparent. Sucky !

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2015
7.7

The toilet have no locks and they have transparent glass walls. Apart from that, our stay is quite comfortable, and the beds are quite OK. It is quite far to walk to the university of Manchester, so those visiting friends there may want to take note of this. However, there's a bus you can take from Manchester Piccadilly that cost 1 pound.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kellieconlon85927668
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2015
5.7

when i had arrived there was a foreign lady wishing to complain, the lady on the desk was very rude to her and had done this in a matter with no respect to the guest and i had then wanted to find somewhere else to stay, but as there was nowhere else able to be booked everywhere was booked out i continued with the booking i had there, altho when i was there it was okay, you get what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.