X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aso Base Backpackers Reviews

1498 Kurokawa,ASO-shi, KUMAMOTO-ken, Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
716 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 97%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The positives : A) the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in, including Northern Europe, which has a very high standard of living. Even early morning, the toilets and basins are clean and dry. B) for the price and hostel provides free basic coffee and 4 types of tea, plus hand cream and tissue paper even. Like! The can-be-improved : 1) more heating can be provided in winter 2) a small bath/face towel can be provided

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is very welcoming and you get an instant feel of warmth created by the interior design of the hostel. The facilities are extremely clean and new. We highly recommend this hostel for people visiting Aso.


97%

Superb place - more like an upmarket hotel than a hostel Helpful staff, beautifully furnished and laid out and immaculately clean. Highly recommended and great value.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

What an amazing hostel, the I have ever been to. Everything was perfect, so many details in the design, as I said , perfect


100%

Nicest hostel I've ever stayed at anywhere! Nice staff, comfortable beds, clean facilities, beautiful location. Thank you!


94%

Very cosy hostel with a great kitchen facilities!

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location for the train and access to Mount Aso. Great facilities to offer.


94%

Gem of a hostel in an amazing place. Feels like a 5 star mountain lodge. Check it out.

  • 3rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostel we ever stayed! The staff is very helpful and obliging, everything is absolutly clean and we loved the well-equipped kitchen as well as the cozy common room. An excellent place!


97%

Really beautiful home and worth to stay longer. Check if Mount Aso is open i advanced. There is not much to do if not espacially when travelling by train.


100%

The best hostel we've ever stayed at! Immaculate & organized. Our double room was spacious and looked like a hotel room. Kitchen was very well supplied. The sink and shower area was spacious and included amenities not commonly found at hostels, like moisturizers. Adding in pleasant indoor and outdoor common areas and friendly owners who were always around to answer questions, it was a very positive experience.

  • 17th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Aso Base is a very nice place. Very good place and very good music.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Good location not far from Aso Station. Cleanliness

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a fabulous hostel. New, very clean, friendly, spacious, a great place to chill out. All sorts of extra touches making it even better like doors that close quietly, free drinks of many kinds, loads of info all translated into English. We were unlucky that ALL hiking was banned because Mt Aso was too active so we were forced to relax and we could not have been in a better place.


100%

Really nice Guesthouse with a very friendly staff and common room. Perfect stay there !


100%

really the best backapaker hotel i have ever been. Cozy, perfectly clean, i would stay at least one week. PERFECTION. La meilleure auberge de jeunesse, calme propre une ambiance paisible. extraordinaire


100%

Best hostel we have ever been at! Me and my wife have stayed at many hostels through out Asia, but this one was hands down the best yet. Clean, nice rooms, cozy, excellent value! Cant recommend it enough.

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The best place we've been on the island!


100%

It was a fabulous experience, the location is perfect, by walking distance to the Eki station and very close to the ASO mountain. Regarding the hardware, it was clean and functional, the full-of-details design represented the hosts' brilliant mind, simple but detailed, typical Japanese style.

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Good location to Aso station, convenience store, and local Onsen. Very good price for one private room with double bed, and very clean. Especially we liked the comfy balcony with sofa on the 2nd floor.

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso Hostels

Please give us your feedback