Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aso Base Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 750 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 750 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 9.7
Aso Base Backpackers Located at 1498 Kurokawa,ASO-shi, KUMAMOTO-ken, Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso.
Aso Base Backpackers
Japan
Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso 869-2225 1498 Kurokawa,ASO-shi, KUMAMOTO-ken,
97% 750
32.9354869 131.0804986
Aso Base Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jul 2016
10.0

Perfect hostel, spotless and comfortable with friendly staff who have good English. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Apr 2016
10.0

This is by far THE best hostel we've stayed in all over asia. Nice private rooms, comfy beds, super clean facilities, very helpful owner, great common area,... We loved this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

We visited the weekend before the dreadful earthquakes. I scarcely need say anything about the hostel as the other reviews speak for themselves - it is a wonderful place. There's a note on the Japanese language blog which I gather says they are safe and the damage is not too bad in the immediate area, but I'm not sure whether is was posted after the first or second quake. Anyway, we wish Yoshi and his family all the best and hope that life can return to something like normal in due course.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Apr 2016
10.0

By far the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in! Extremely clean, beautifully arranged, very cosy, zen atmosphere, so comfortable beds (!!), ... It felt like home! Unluckyly, we had the worst weather ever (we couldn't set a foot outside), so we spent the whole day in the hostel's common room, reading books that were at our disposal. When it was time for us to leave, even though the station was only a 3-min walk, the owner offered us a ride so we wouldn't get wet. We just loved this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

This is easily the loveliest hostel I've ever stayed at. The owner was super helpful, and the decor is just incredibly cute and homey. I want to live here forever. Also, the bakery nearby (~1 min walk) sells what is undoubtedly the world's most delicious custard filled pastry. A great place for lone travelers as well as families with kids!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
10.0

Great hostel for visiting the aso caldera. This a hostel way above average and worth every yen you pay for it. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • edellerina9422
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I've stayed in! It was beautifully decorated, super clean, staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere in the spacious and comfy common area was great. There were even multiple flavours of free tea to choose from! I could recommend this hostel to people travelling solo, in a group or couples of all ages. Anyone really. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
9.1

Ticked really all the boxes for me and well above my expectations

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
9.4

Such a nice, calm and warm location. Staff is very helpful but not overwhelming family like :) I really enjoyed being there- not to mention that the location is just perfect to get to Asosan and around

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
9.4

One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Clean, cozy and comfortable. I would recommend it and come back to stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.