Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aso Base Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 792 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 792 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lpicky87
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
10.0

Aso Base Backpackers is one, if not the, nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything about it is well thought out and suited to any kind of traveler. It's clear to see the owners take great pride in their business; everything is clean and nicely presented. The atmosphere in the shared space is very inviting and the rooms are comfortable. The facilities are all clean and functional. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. It would be very easy to spend a lot of time here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.3

good stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Excellent location! The hostel is located near the train station, convenience store and the base of Mt. Aso. It makes exploring Aso easy. More importantly, the hostel is very cosy and clean. This makes the stay enjoyable that i have extended my stay for 1 more night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.7

Echoing everybody's comments, this place truly starts to feel like your own home, and has the feel of a hotel! Cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in by far. Make sure you check out the bakery right beside it, it's fantastic (especially the cream puffs). Amazing kitchen to work with, and all sights of Aso (Daikanbo, Aso museum where there are plenty of nearby hikes, Kurokawa Onsen) are so easily accessible. Try hitchhiking to avoid paying ridiculous prices for the bus :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
6.9

The location is very problematic due to the lack of busses in the era. The staff knew little english. The facility is well equipted wich is nice. Nice place to stay just not so practical for the travel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
9.7

Absolute must-visit. This is not a hostel, its a home! It really really is. Cozy, warm, super clean. More a hotel than a hostel. Good beds, and I had very good companions and aweome time in Aso!! Best hostel i've ever seen in my life!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • TravelingSnacker
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Mar 2017
10.0

I enjoyed being here so much! I booked for 1 night not being sure of my plans, extended it to 2 on arrival. And ended up staying 5 nights. Just such a cozy and welcoming place. Perfect location. Met great people while staying there. The kitchen is so good. They have many books and stuffies and cushions you can use. Just really great and well run.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.