X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aso Base Backpackers Reviews

1498 Kurokawa,ASO-shi, KUMAMOTO-ken, Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
596 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 99%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The atmosphere was very friendly and Mont Aso is simply something you have to see

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very close to the station ( 3 minutes by walk), and there is onsen near hostel. Managers speak english, korean very fluently and are kind. Perfect quality, Cozy atmosphere.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

the best hostel i have ever stayed.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A really pleasant place, better than the average hostel with friendly, knowledgeable staff. The kitchen was particularly well equipped and supplied.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Comes very close to the perfect hostel. Everything was very nice and clean, good atmosphere, nice dorm and beds, good facilities.


91%

nice hostel, friendly staff, clean areas


94%

Great overall. I'll go back all the time. 15 minutes to volcano and walking distance to store.


100%

The hostel was welcoming with a hit wood burning stove and immaculate facilities. There was a wide choice of free hot drinks. The bed was comfortable and the double private room was simple but attractive. I can think of no complaints.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent location, facilities and staff.


100%

We liked Aso Base very much, the staff was nice and they offered us a rude to train station as it was heavily raining. Hostel is very clean and nice arranged with cosy common płace. Great płace to stay

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything excellent. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was perfect. Facilities spotless and perfect. Fun communal environment. Good price. Couldn't ask for more. Thanks!


91%

One of the cleanest places I have ever seen! The location is great as it's close to the station and therefore the bus for the volcano tour. It has actually EVERYTHING you need. The atmosphere is a bit cold though and it's probably not the best place to meet a lot of people (as everyone gets prepared/rests for the hike). Great Place overall


97%

Excellent place to stay if you`re planning to visit this area. The staff have paid great attention to detail in making sure you feel as much at home as possible. Rooms are well thought out with spacious bunks, practical shelving next to the beds and large lockers with enough room to fit a small suitcase. The little touches make it extra special such as a "music corner" where CD`s and a player are provided to chill out and listen to some Japanese music ;-) Thank you again for the lovely stay!

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Located very conveniently, only few minutes walk of the railway & bus station. Downstairs very cosy livingroom with big common table and well-equiped kitchen with free coffee. So great for socializing. Many showers & toilets, all insane nice and clean. Supermarket is 10 minutes walk. Detailed hiking-maps for Aso-san area available for temporary use, so you don't have to buy them. Absolutely a top-hostel, would definitely recommend. Thanks for hosting me!


100%

I could visit ASO BASE again just for the stay there!!! To be able to enjoy the nature around Mt. ASO so easily is good enough, but the stay at ASO BASE makes your stay even more fantastic. The hospitality you will enjoy there is something uncomparable!!!!! You will learn a lot just by being there.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Security was great mainly because it's Japan. It was very well located at the mountain base with an onsen under 5 min away. The train station could not be more than 5 minutes as well. Staff were helpful and spoke English quite well for Japan. It was cheap and well maintained. The facilities were average, three toilets, showers and sinks for the floor I was on. We only stayed one night. Had lockable, spacious drawers which was nice. I would recommend it for those going on a hike!


100%

Best hostel ever! All modern facilities you would expect in a modern hostel, but still keeping it cosy, small and familiar. You get lots of good tips from the owner about hiking tracks, and not only that, but also about restaurants and shops in Aso. Really really nice, we absolutely loved it.


94%

Very nice hostel, clean, classy and with a nice atmosphere. The staff was really helpful and gave me lots of information about possible activities to do and the surroundings. I think it's one of the best hostels I have ever been in.


100%

Lovely clean, modern and comfortable hostel with well equipped kitchen, relaxing communal area and friendly, helpful staff.

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Cosy athmosphere and lounge style common room very appreciated. The onsen located 5 minutes away from the hostel is a great after hike option.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso Hostels

Please give us your feedback