X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aso Base Backpackers Reviews

1498 Kurokawa,ASO-shi, KUMAMOTO-ken, Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
616 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 99%Cleanliness
  • 96%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Brand new and comfy, close to the station but quiet at the same time.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We had two great nights at the base backpackers. Cool interiors, nice people and good information about activities.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This is most probably the classiest, most luxurious and comfortable I ever ever stayed at. I can't believe that was gonna happen in Aso. Most probably the best hostel choice if you come here.


100%

Very clean and well designed rooms. This hostel is like a luxury hotel! Totally recommend


100%

Aso base backers was a great hostel with a very kind staff. The rooms, bathrooms, shower areas and lobby were all extremely clean with a fresh new smell to them. The area was quiet, and made it so it was very easy to sleep. The staff was helpful and knew their way around Aso in a very convenient matter. Definitely recommend this hostel to everyone traveling to the area.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome stay! Insanely clean, modern amenities and great social atmosphere (lounge area). Kitchen is neat and has everything you need. Couldn't be closer to the train station, which is great for day trips to the volcano or nearby areas. Also, very good/discounted onsen within a quick walking distance.


97%

Very nice hostel, everything is clean and the staff is als very nice. Best location in Aso, close to Aso Station where the train arrives and the bus for Mount Aso takes off. Although you cant get close to the crate Mt. Aso is realy worth a visit as it offers great nature.

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The atmosphere was very friendly and Mont Aso is simply something you have to see


100%

Very close to the station ( 3 minutes by walk), and there is onsen near hostel. Managers speak english, korean very fluently and are kind. Perfect quality, Cozy atmosphere.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Clean , comfortable and very close to JR station . Staff are very friendly.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

the best hostel i have ever stayed.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved this hostel! It had wonderful amenities: fireplace, great tea and coffee in the nice kitchen, individual lights for beds and large lockers, enough showers/toilet stalls for all guests, a variety of lounging options, good wifi, book exchange, coin operated laundry, discounted onsen entry. i enjoyed spending time in the modern lodge-feeling common space. the staff was very helpful with hiking on mt. aso and good places to eat in town. so close to the train station. i highly recommend it!


80%

A really pleasant place, better than the average hostel with friendly, knowledgeable staff. The kitchen was particularly well equipped and supplied.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

great atmosphere lots of people all types. friendly clean & close to station.


100%

Comes very close to the perfect hostel. Everything was very nice and clean, good atmosphere, nice dorm and beds, good facilities.


91%

nice hostel, friendly staff, clean areas


94%

Great overall. I'll go back all the time. 15 minutes to volcano and walking distance to store.


100%

The hostel was welcoming with a hit wood burning stove and immaculate facilities. There was a wide choice of free hot drinks. The bed was comfortable and the double private room was simple but attractive. I can think of no complaints.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent location, facilities and staff.


100%

We liked Aso Base very much, the staff was nice and they offered us a rude to train station as it was heavily raining. Hostel is very clean and nice arranged with cosy common płace. Great płace to stay

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso Hostels

Please give us your feedback