Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aso Base Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 800 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 800 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

OK I know it is "horses for courses" but I just have to say that I travelled for 10 days in Southern Japan and out of all the places I stayed Aso Base Backpackers was the best in terms of value for money, cleanliness, attention to detail, service and atmosphere! I cannot recommend it more highly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • anjaniebergall4163
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2017
9.7

Aso hostel is very well suitated in Aso and you will miss nothing. The owners are very friendly and put a personal touch in each detail there. We spent two perfect nights there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lpicky87
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
10.0

Aso Base Backpackers is one, if not the, nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything about it is well thought out and suited to any kind of traveler. It's clear to see the owners take great pride in their business; everything is clean and nicely presented. The atmosphere in the shared space is very inviting and the rooms are comfortable. The facilities are all clean and functional. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. It would be very easy to spend a lot of time here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2017
10.0

Near the JR Aso station. If i'm not wrong, it is about the only hostel nearby Kurokawa Onsen that's relatively affordable. Facilities were amazing and wifi was stable. Really enjoyed the stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
10.0

This is one of the best hostels I have ever been to. Located in the heart of Aso city, this hostel offers breathtaking views of the mountains, with a close walk to the nearby onzen and eating places. The people working there are great, giving you information and helping you as much as they can. Downstairs is a cozy common room. Free tea and coffee is available. Upstairs are nice rooms and a small chillout area in the end of the corridor. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.3

good stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Excellent location! The hostel is located near the train station, convenience store and the base of Mt. Aso. It makes exploring Aso easy. More importantly, the hostel is very cosy and clean. This makes the stay enjoyable that i have extended my stay for 1 more night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.7

Echoing everybody's comments, this place truly starts to feel like your own home, and has the feel of a hotel! Cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in by far. Make sure you check out the bakery right beside it, it's fantastic (especially the cream puffs). Amazing kitchen to work with, and all sights of Aso (Daikanbo, Aso museum where there are plenty of nearby hikes, Kurokawa Onsen) are so easily accessible. Try hitchhiking to avoid paying ridiculous prices for the bus :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
6.9

The location is very problematic due to the lack of busses in the era. The staff knew little english. The facility is well equipted wich is nice. Nice place to stay just not so practical for the travel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.