Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aso Base Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.8
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Aug 2017
9.7

Great place, fit with the over all surrounding, which was quite and peaceful. A very Japanese style over all place. Enjoyed it a lot. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel was the perfect combination of hostel and hotel. We had a private room with a lock, but we could go downstairs and socialize with the various people who were enjoying the hostel. Also the people who work there are very nice and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th Jul 2017
9.4

Helpful staff, super clean, good shower and kitchen. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel, impeccably clean, and very helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

OK I know it is "horses for courses" but I just have to say that I travelled for 10 days in Southern Japan and out of all the places I stayed Aso Base Backpackers was the best in terms of value for money, cleanliness, attention to detail, service and atmosphere! I cannot recommend it more highly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • anjaniebergall4163
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2017
9.7

Aso hostel is very well suitated in Aso and you will miss nothing. The owners are very friendly and put a personal touch in each detail there. We spent two perfect nights there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th May 2017
9.7

Really close to the train station which was handy for travelling to the mountain etc. facilities were good and clean. Very chilled vibe there, good for down time. Thanks guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lpicky87
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd May 2017
10.0

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
10.0

Aso Base Backpackers is one, if not the, nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything about it is well thought out and suited to any kind of traveler. It's clear to see the owners take great pride in their business; everything is clean and nicely presented. The atmosphere in the shared space is very inviting and the rooms are comfortable. The facilities are all clean and functional. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. It would be very easy to spend a lot of time here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2017
10.0

Near the JR Aso station. If i'm not wrong, it is about the only hostel nearby Kurokawa Onsen that's relatively affordable. Facilities were amazing and wifi was stable. Really enjoyed the stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.