X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Aso Base Backpackers Reviews

1498 Kurokawa,ASO-shi, KUMAMOTO-ken, Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

97%

Rating
431 Total Reviews
  • 98%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 98%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great backpacker, so convenient for hiking around Aso, great tips from the owner on hiking paths, the lockers are huge (my entire backpack fitted+some extra space yeah!), super clean and well decorated... Best hostel so far in Japan !


100%

Staff is very kind. Common area with kitchen is excellent.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

An excellent designed modern, Scandinavian-style building that offered an open-plan kitchen, dining room and kotatsu-area which made socialising easy. Everything is well-thought out and you feel you're at home! The kitchen is brand new, complete with a coffee maker! One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.


97%

A cut above even the very high standard set by japanese hostels.


94%

nice cosy area around the fire place. spacious tatami area for meals or relaxation. overall experience very good.


91%

The kitchen was so clean and many things (oil, pepper, salt ...) for free. There is a great oven in the living room. People were sitting at the table, talked together... Charming place, really good atmosphere.

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We loved our short stay at Aso Backpackers. We were travelling as a young married couple and found the staff were so helpful, the facilities amazing and the location was great to explore.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome hostel. The best I have been to in Japan. Really clean and helpful staff!


100%

Great in every respect. Very clean, short walk to the train station. Staff is extremely helpful. It would be really nice if they provided breakfast.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Unexpected nice place at the lowest room rate and best location.

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Just fantastic, do not hesitate, share or private room, the rest is all in the details that provide a so good feeling of the place (all is brand new). The staff is kind and useful, a onsen just behind make the experience complete. The volcano is easily accessible from the train station by bus (3 min by feet), a lot of trails are there to see it even if like us, a perimeter of 1km around was prohibited because its too much activities. It was one of the great experience of our trip.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

very close from Aso station.And very clean and new! I recommend room No.2(DBL ROOM).we were surprised when we turned off the lights to find all the walls and ceiling had the milky way sparkling all around us. They used a special wall paper in that room which had solar stars embedded in the wall paper which light up after you turn off the lights. It was awesome!

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed in Aso backpackers in a double in December 2013 with the partner. Absolutely stunning backpacker accommodation, similar to that I would expect in a luxury ski villa. PROS - Spotlessly clean in the communal areas, bathing facilities and the bed linen - Beautiful view of aso-san which can be enjoyed on the small balcony outside - Wifi which reaches all the rooms and computers in communal area. - New facility with beautiful cedar floors which give a lovely aroma. Well maintained communal ar


100%

Aso Base Backpackers is the most amazing hostel we've ever stayed in. It doesn't even seem like a hostel. There is even hand and face cream to use at the sinks! Everything is immaculate and thought through beautifully. Highly recommended.


100%

An amazing hostel; clean, friendly staff, very close to Aso station (and a Lawson konbini) with a great atmosphere, a cozy fireplace, and a pretty Christmas tree ;-)


97%

Very convenient to Aso station and the environment is very clean and tidy.

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Probably the best backpackers I've ever stayed at in terms of setup. Not exactly a partying backpackers but the facilities are amazing.


94%

It is a long walk to the area with eateries, so it would be a wasted trip if a family run restaurant was unexpectedly closed for the day. Could the hostel give such notice in their dining guide book?

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

This was an amazing hostel! I have been traveling for a year now and it is possibly the nicest one I have stayed in. So thank you! One suggestion is for the dorms, maybe instead of the curtain doors, or in addition to them, to put in "accordion" door. That way it will block out more noise. Because if someone is snoring in one of the other "rooms" then you can still hear it in yours. Just a suggestion.


89%

This is by far the cleanest backpackers i have ever stayed in!!! Great!


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso Hostels

Please give us your feedback