X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
7371 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Only thing missing: a power socket next to every bed (in the room I stayed in).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya! Thanks so much for the review! Super excited you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the recommendation and please note we are currently in the process of having new sockets and lights boards installed! Woo Hoo! Can't wait to see you next time you are in London! Lots of love, Astor HP xo

97%

My stay at Astor Hyde Park was absolutely great. The staff was super nice, everything was clean, and the location was perfect.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and to see that everything was as you expected! We work hard to ensure your stay with us is the best experience possible! We can't wait to see you again. Safe travels! Lots of Love, Astor HP xo

100%

Staff was very friendly and its been my best stay at a hostel ever!

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you here! We hope to see you again real soon (: Safe travels, Astor Hyde Park xx

94%

Had a great stay, the room was lovely and clean, the tea with the mints was a lovely touch and it even had a sash window which opened fully! Would recommend to everyone!

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Many thanks for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and to see that everything was as you expected! We work hard to ensure our hostel is at the same standard as most hotels. We can't wait to see you again. Safe travels! Lots of love, Astor Hyde Park

71%

This was an average hostel, but I'm glad that we were only staying for one night. I wish that the bathrooms would have been cleaner and it smelled really bad in the morning. Also there isn't a lamp near the bed or an outlet to charge your phone. There were outlets near one side of the wall. Also no elevators, but nice kitchen area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review. As you can imagine the bathrooms do get used quite frequently as they are shared dorms. We clean our building 4 times daily to ensure all of our facilities are up to standard. We are unable to place an elevator in our building as you must have noticed it is a very historic building. Shower caddies and lamp lights are currently in the process of being installed throughout the building. Next time, please inform reception of any issue. We would be glad to solve it!

91%

some fruit for breakfast would be nice

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feed back. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. For the charity breakfast we do have a selection of delicious fruity bits! We hope to see you next time in London! Lots of love xo

91%

The staff was all incredibly friendly and made me feel very at ease. The location was away from the hustle and bustle of center London that I don't like as much and close to Hyde park and some museums which was perfect for me! Reception was very helpful and never acted like they were doing you a favor when you asked questions. I find so many hostel staff seem to suffer from thinking they're god's gift. Can't speak to meeting people, was only there one night. Sure it would have been fine.


97%

This hostel is extremely well looked after, very well managed and the guys/girls who work there are super friendly and are always willing to help, I cannot say enough nice things about the place, absolutely no complaints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are super happy you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was as expected! We try extremely hard to make sure your stay with us is as fantastic as possible! Can't wait to see you next time you're in London! Lots of Love, Astor HP xo

94%

Literally nicer than the hotel I was staying in my first night in London. Beautiful rooms, nice common area and pretty good wifi. Overall I had a great experience staying there and I'd highly recommend it to any traveler.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for the review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and got the most out of our amazing facilities we offer. We try extremely hard to ensure our hostel is at the same standard as hotels so it is fantastic that you noticed! We can't wait to see you again! Safe travels, lots of love Astor HP xo

94%

Great value for money! The hostel is very clean, the location couldn't be better and the staff is incredibly nice!


86%

Very friendly staff, clean room, good location! I also liked the breakfast:) Everything was perfect!! 너무 좋았어용 여기ㅎㅎ 스텝들도 엄청 친절하구 짐도 엄청 무거웠는데 다 들어주시고 청소도 깨끗이 해주시고! 그리고 주택가?쪽에 위치해 있어서 한적하고 좋았어요! 주요 관광까지도 지하철로 금방 갈 수 있는 곳이라 아주 만족스러웠어요>_

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels!! Lots of love, The team @ Astor Hyde Park

97%

Super helpful staff, a good location


100%

I love the lounge room so much and the massive projector screen too! The staff were always so friendly and having someone on reception 24hrs a day made life much easier. Hayley was extra helpful in getting my room key to work after it didn't open my room door at 2am in the morning!


94%

Wifi signal was weak and patchy in the basement rooms. Bathrooms could have been cleaner, but it's understandable since with 12 people using it., things are bound to get gunky at the end of the day. A shelf in the shower itself for toiletries would be more convenient.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review! Yes, the 12 bed bathrooms do get used more so than other ones, but if you ever feel cleanliness is not up to standards please inform reception. We will be right down to clean it and make sure it is spotless. We are currently in the process of installing shelves in all our showers as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and cant wait to see you again! Lots of love, Astor Hyde Park xx

80%

I've talked to the lady at reception about adding small individual lamps above each bed, she said it's planned...so that will be better :-)

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for the review! Thanks for your recommendation and yes we are currently in the process of having these installed! See you next time your in London xo

97%

Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed at, it set the bar really high for the rest of our trip. If I go back to London, I know where I'm staying!

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice hostel and nice staff.They are very hepful and easygoing.I might book again next time i go London.


89%

Friendly and helpful staff, great location and the house was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks! Our location truly is second to none. Located in the heart of South Kensington with the beautiful Hyde Park right around the corner, city life to relaxed country life right at your door step. We are always here to help with a smile and are glad you felt that way! We hope to see you again real soon. Lots of love, Astor Hyde Park xx

100%

The wifi was always reliable in the room and the staff are always great to have a chat with and they're always happy to help. Craig has a great taste in music and always knows what to play in the early hours of the morning to keep the atmosphere light and cheery. The hostel is close to the underground and there are plenty of buses stopping at the bus stop which is just a few mins walk away. The lounge room is always great to relax in and it also has Netflix!


74%

It's ok but could be allot better. The staff could really do allot more to create a more social experience for the guests, as it was the don't really engage with the guests, which is strange given they have about 15 staff members working/living there. Instead most nights you just had staff members watching whatever they felt like on netflix with no regard for the guests. Also would it really be too much to arrange a free pub crawl during the week? It is London after all


(290 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback