X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5999 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

It would be nice if you could offer a bit more variety concerning breakfast...some tea or juices would be nice.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback we do indeed offer juices with breakfast, furthermore self service tea and coffee is available 24 hours a day in the kitchen.

89%

I had a great surprise with Astor Hostel =) Location was excellent and I found pretty easy to get there by bus... The whole staff was incredibly helpful and friendly! You can have free breakfast and use their kitchen appliances as well.. Rooms are clean and tidy everyday...but the bad thing is the lack of elevator. I`d definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The double private with ensuite bathroom looked more like a spare room of dubious cleanliness, with a very very creaky bed. We nearly had to beg for an extra blanket, as the guy at reception tried at first to "fix" the single-glazed window (even though such windows should just be banned), and then accepted to lend us one after much haggling.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean and tidy hostel in an excellent location. The ensuite double room was small and simple but was everything we needed and with breakfast provided as well. The shower was cold on both mornings but that's the only small negative.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for providing us with feedback. With over 30 bathroom facilities in the building we aim to provide the comforts of home for guests with an en-suite bathroom for every room, paired with an industrial water heating facility means that any shortage in hot water during peak usage hours requires that guests only need wait five minutes until their supply returns to normal. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time in London :)

86%

We very much enjoyed our stay at the hostel. The location, the staff, the facilities and the atmosphere were very good. However, staying in a room for ten people and only having one small bathroom was quite uncomfortable. Secondly, there was no ventilation, and as result the air in our chamber in the morning was very hot and damp. These are the only two points we can criticize!

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking time to give us feedback. The reason we use en suite bathrooms as opposed to public bathrooms as it reduces the number of guests using each facility to keep things cleaner and more hygienic for the guests, however should your rooms facilities be occupied we also have public toilet facilities available on the 1st floor. We hope you enjoyed your stay at Astor Hyde Park and we hope to see you next time you're in London :)

94%

I don't think my first hostel experience could have been better! It was really exciting to see how things were run - everyone was friendly, all possible problems can get sorted out, no special fees for anything really. For young people-travellers this is the perfect match for when staying in London! Will definitely recommend to all my friends!

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking time out of your day to give us feedback as it helps us gauge how to provide the best possible service to our guests. We're so happy you enjoyed your time at Astor Hyde Park and that we were able to make the experience as enjoyable as possible for you. We hope to see you next time you're in London :)

100%

I would recommend this Hostel to everyone looking for an amazing time in London! Beautiful location, friendly staff that helps with literally everything, great breakfast for a Hostel, clean dorms, bathrooms and kitchen and an amazing atmosphere. I had a great time!

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel! It has many facilities -almoist all of them for free, really good provisions for breakfast, very helpful and gentle staff! The rooms are clean and spacious! The building is great with rich old history! In addition, the nearest underground station is 5 minutes of walking distance and outside of it there are many shops, markets and places to eat. The only downside is that the building has no elevator and that may be a problem if your room is on the upper floors.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we're glad you enjoyed your time at Astor Hyde Park and that we were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We also appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback, should you need help upstairs with your bags our staff are happy to help and our reception is open 24 hours a day. We hope to see you next time you're in London :)

100%

Really excellent. Bright, airy dorms. Very clean. Probably the best place I've stayed.

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we're glad to hear we were able to provide and enjoyable time during your London experience and we appreciate you taking time out of your day to give us feedback. We hope to see you next time your in London, cheers the Astor Hyde Park crew :)

91%

Great hostel, if i ever return to London, Astpr Hyde will be my first choice! Best value for your money!!

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us feedback as it helps us gauge how best we can service you guys, glad to hear we were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We hope to see you next time your in London :)

97%

If you want to save some money in London and at the same time having a good place to sleep, meet new people or simply taking some rest after an exciting day in this vibrant city, this is the right place! The staff is extremely nice and helpfull, the location is amazing, definitely I would recommend and stay again in this place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Astor Hyde Park. Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback and we hope to see you next time your in London, cheers the Astor Hyde Park team :)

91%

Was great the hostel was in a great location and next to the tube stations, meant I didnt have to rush to get somewhere. Hostel was clean and friendly!

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking time to give us feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at Astor Hyde Park and that we were able to provide a clean and friendly environment for your stay. Hope to see you next time in London, cheers the Astor Hyde Park team :)

100%

Would definitely recommend it! The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Loved it!

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • mahxr
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, glad to hear that the staff were able to help you wherever possible and that you enjoyed the efforts we undertake to make the hostel as clean as possible for our guests. Hope to see you next time :)

97%

This is one of the best hostels I have ever been in. The staff is absolutely great and helpful; the rooms get cleaned regularly and the free breakfast is also good. The place to stay in London :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Astor Hyde Park and that the staff were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. Hope to see you next time in London :)

97%

Our stay was great! The staff were incredibly friendly and the atmosphere there was great, everyone respected the space of the rest but at the same time created a really nice environment! The room was perfectly clean and save!

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Astor Hyde Park and that we were able to provide a clean and enjoyable environment for your stay. Hope to see you next time in London :)

77%

Very good hostel. Bit far from the city center, soho, Tower of London.. But close to V&A museum, National History and Science Museum. Very good value. Sometimes a dirty toilet or a light that does not work, but they fixed it almost immediately. Very good breakfast too. 24 hour reception.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Our reception is open 24 hours a day and should there be any problems with your room we are always available to rectify this for your immediately. We appreciate you taking time to give us feedback on the hostel as it helps us to give the best possible service to our guests. Hopefully see you next time :)

94%

Arriving at our first hostel we didnt really know what to expect but the staff at Astor Hyde park were really welcoming, friendly and helpful. Really good breakfast, cool common room but the wifi was a bit slow which was a shame. The lockers in the room were also handy and the location was pretty good with less than a 10 min walk to the station. Would definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Astor Hyde Park, we really appreciate you taking time to give us feedback. Hopefully see you the next time you are in London :)

100%

When I first booked into this hostel I had no idea what to expect of my first hostel in London. What I found was an amazing place where I met some of the most awesome people I've known. The staff here are like a family and the hostel is clean, organised and located in a super posh neighbourhood, really central. If you're in London for a couple days, a few weeks or moving here for the long haul, check into Astor Hyde Park and chances are you'll remember the time spent there for years to come.


80%

Great hostel, besides a naïve bu hurtful poster that hangs in the hostel, in which imperialism is celebrated

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Undoubtedly the best hostel I have ever been. I wish I could have stayed more than just a weekend

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(229 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback