X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
7891 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great location and comfortable. wifi not working properly in dorms.


77%

Location was good for public transport but theres not a lot within a quick walking distance. Staff were helpfulhelpful and friendly but not social which bought down the social atmosphere, which was not the best, everyone really kept to themselves. Facilities were great, very comfortable and clean. There could have been a few more group activities aimed at cultural experiences rather than drinking. Overall a nice place to stay.


97%

Extremely good! If it was not for the fact that there is no elevator (not ideal, but not too terrible), I would have given Astor a perfect score.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey hey! thank you so much for leave us a review to improve our service! unfortunately due to the history of the buiding we are unable to install an elevator however our staff are always available and more than happy to help you with your bags or whatever you need! we can wait to see you again when you`ll come back to London! take care till then!! lots of love Astor HP

80%

Really nice hostel with helpful staff, big clean rooms and good facilities. The bunks are comfortable (even if I had one right in the middle of the room with feels a bit strange to sleep in to be honest. Maybe some curtains would add a bit of privacy. But that was just bad luck cause the other beds looked nice) and the kitchen area is well furnished and big. Maybe not enough places in the lounge in the evening but except of that I had a good stay and would definitely recommend it!

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Thank you! The booking process was simple. The facility itself was relatively easy to find, in a very safe/nice neighborhood and within easy access to everything. The staff was helpful and the facility was clean. It was my first time at a hostel and solely based on my experience at Astor Hyde Park, I'd surely do it again.

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I didn't really spend much time in the hostel, however when checking in I was greeted by a young lady who was welcoming and very friendly. The hostel is very clean and did look amazing to meet people. Great location and I am looking forward to stay here again on my next visit in November.


100%

The staff were really lovely, always happy to help and made you feel very welcomed.

  • 7th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Senegal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great stay, 2nd time already. Great environment and amazing staff that throw insane parties.


97%

Great hostel!!! The staff and people there were very friendly! Beds do squeak a lot but the positives greatly outweigh the negatives. Will definately stay here again!!!!


80%

For the location, it's a bit too far away from the metro station. Not a good idea if you are carrying heavy bags. It locates right next to Hyde Park though, good if you like to stroll in the park. Everything is good except for my bed. I stayed at the upper bunk of a 12 people dorm. There was a 30cm gap between my bed and the wall and there is no railings on that side. For the whole night I worried about falling to the lower bunk! It's dangerous! They really have to fix this!


97%

take note, if you have a heavy luggage, there is no elevator, you might get exhausted if your room is on the top floor.


94%

Very good stay! Loved the fact that the nice kitchen was open almost 24 hours. Friendly staff, good vibe, very comfortable lounge. On-site and reasonably-priced laundry facilities were great. The lockers under the beds had a rather awkward locking mechanism, but I was glad the lockers were there. Hand dryers or towels in the bathrooms would be very nice...no one wants to go and get their personal towel just to use the toilet on the ground floor. Very clean. Would stay again.


97%

The hostel is in a great location close to the Tube, but also shopping and restaurants. The staff was so helpful and ready to answer questions. The beds were nice with great comforters. The hostel provides fun outings each night of the week for people to get to know new people.


74%

Staff were very friendly, but did lack professionalism in how they spoke of other members of staff within public areas. The rooms were spacious and clean with a good system of bed placement. The shower room was too small for so many people.


100%

This hostel was great. Great safe location. The staff are amazing and answer every and any question. The hostel itself is cool. The entry inside made us think of Harry Potter. They have a cool commons area and another cool hang out game room area that held different activities every night. Would definitely stay here again.


74%

Nice hostel. Clean and comfortable. Location was a little dull. Not much happening. Didn't have the best atmosphere compared to other hostels I've stayed in.


89%

Location was decent, just wish there was more things open in the evening nearby. I felt totally safe and was near nice residential areas. The rooms and beds were clean. The bathrooms were decent and the staff were helpful.

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was very clean. Every staff was very kind. Location was good. Tube station were a bit far but bus stop were close to the hostel.


100%

Only had a short stay but the hostel exceeded our expectations, staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and had everything we needed :)

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The location is in no doubt excellent; straight train from Heathrow airport and in vicinity to the main attractions. Only setback is the distance from Gloucester Road station. Have to walk quite a little (abt 15mins) thus must keep the luggage manageable. The tube station itself also have a flight of stairs to overcome. Other than that, bed is clean, toilet is clean. Staff is friendly. Free lockers and luggage storage. Only 1pound for towel and breakfast. Free wifi and hairdryer =)

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(246 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback