X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6117 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This hostel was amazing! It had clean bathrooms, an amazing location and the beds were comfortable! The only down side was in a 10 bed room there was only 4 plug outlets for charging but that is a small issue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're glad we were able to provide a clean and comfortable environment for your stay. Following feedback from guests we have since ordered outlet additions for our rooms which should be installed in the coming weeks. We hope to see you next time you're in London! Cheers, the Astor Hyde Park team :)

97%

Everyting was cool. Hostel have a big kitchen and you can prepare meal by youself.


97%

The hostel was great. I was in a 4 room with 3 random others. The room was a little stuffy because I think we had people that were sweating when they slept so it smelled a little bad. But when the person left it was better. I can't say for everyone else but we had our own shower for the room which was nice. I would pay the little extra to get the shower to yourself. In terms of location it was great because one bus away will take you to piccadilly circus in about 20 - 30 minutes.


86%

The Hostel was really nice and I enjoyed staying there. However, the best thing was the staff who were all really helpful, nice and fun to be around :)

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're glad our staff were able to make your stay an enjoyable experience. We hope to see you next time you're in London. Cheers, the Astor Hyde Park team :)

86%

A good price for an accommodation in London. The staff was friendly, the hostel clean, the breakfast as the average of other hostels (you take what you want). It is placed in a secure zone, also you enter at the building and at the bedroom with a magnetic card and you can put your luggage in a box closed with a key in the bedroom. If you are tall the bed will be short for you. Hot water with good pressure in the bathroom. Nice hostel.

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking time to leave us feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Astor Hyde Park and that we were able to provide a safe and secure environment for you. Hope to see you next time you're in London. Cheers, the Astor Hyde Park team :)

94%

Very clean and secure, great staff, but a little expensive. Worth it, though, the location is excellent, less than one block from the hyde park. My only problem was finding food around - the closest shops are about 6 blocks from there, and in the winter that can be really desmotivating, so buy your food during the day! (there's a common fridge and you can label it). Also, the closest underground station isn't that close - but I used to go to Lancaster Gate through Hyde Park, nice walk!

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I think there really were reading lamps missing in the dorms.... Because by using the ceiling light at night you would wake up all you roommates. The location was perfect, the staff very friendly, the building was beautiful. But I missed love for detail. The rooms were just simply white with beds in it, nothing cozy, nothing memorable.


77%

Could do with a bar.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. Whilst we do not have a bar in the hostel we do allow guests to consume alcohol on the premises and we also offer pub crawls and pub nights 7 days a week!

100%

Good atmesphere to meet people, have had a good time there.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, were glad you enjoyed your stay at Astor Hyde Park and that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable atmosphere. We hope to see you next time in London. Cheers, the Astor Hyde Park team :)

97%

First time I've ever stayed in a hostel and it was great! The staff were very very friendly and helpful and the rooms and bathrooms were clean. The kitchen was really good, very clean and had all the equipment you needed. Breakfast selection was awesome - 4 types of cereal, 2 types of bread rolls with peanut butter, honey, margarine, nutella and 3 types of jam. And tea and coffee all the time. I had a really loud and obnoxious room mate and I asked to change and it was no problem :) very happy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we're glad we were able to make your first stay in a hostel an enjoyable experience. We hope to see you next time your in London! Cheers, the Astor Hyde Park team :)

91%

We stayed in a private 2 people ensuite bedroom. Room was clean and there was even a tv! The location felt safe but not much fun - we went to pubs by bus or tube. Many buses go really near, for example 9 and 10, and we liked buses more than the tube. The museums are really close and we enjoyed being in Hyde Park as well. The breakfast was bread and cereals. We had some problems with paying with debit card but the staff person was friendly and let us try many times - succeeded at last!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hyde Park, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Hope to see you the next time your in London! Thanks, the Astor Hyde Park team :)

91%

It was pretty nice hostel (a little bit pricey but it's all same as other hostels in London). Kitchen is nice, breakfast was nice, the livingroom was nice - but it was on construction for my half of stay so I had to go to kitchen - and staffs are really helpful. You have to take a bus or metro to bigben, national gallery and towerbridge but it's close from hide park, nottinghill, and some good museums. I would stay there again if I back to london.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Astor Hyde Park and thank you for taking time to give us feedback. We hope to see you next time in London! Cheers, the Astor Hyde Park team :)

69%

It would be nice if you could offer a bit more variety concerning breakfast...some tea or juices would be nice.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback we do indeed offer juices with breakfast, furthermore self service tea and coffee is available 24 hours a day in the kitchen.

89%

I had a great surprise with Astor Hostel =) Location was excellent and I found pretty easy to get there by bus... The whole staff was incredibly helpful and friendly! You can have free breakfast and use their kitchen appliances as well.. Rooms are clean and tidy everyday...but the bad thing is the lack of elevator. I`d definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
57%

The double private with ensuite bathroom looked more like a spare room of dubious cleanliness, with a very very creaky bed. We nearly had to beg for an extra blanket, as the guy at reception tried at first to "fix" the single-glazed window (even though such windows should just be banned), and then accepted to lend us one after much haggling.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean and tidy hostel in an excellent location. The ensuite double room was small and simple but was everything we needed and with breakfast provided as well. The shower was cold on both mornings but that's the only small negative.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for providing us with feedback. With over 30 bathroom facilities in the building we aim to provide the comforts of home for guests with an en-suite bathroom for every room, paired with an industrial water heating facility means that any shortage in hot water during peak usage hours requires that guests only need wait five minutes until their supply returns to normal. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time in London :)

86%

We very much enjoyed our stay at the hostel. The location, the staff, the facilities and the atmosphere were very good. However, staying in a room for ten people and only having one small bathroom was quite uncomfortable. Secondly, there was no ventilation, and as result the air in our chamber in the morning was very hot and damp. These are the only two points we can criticize!

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking time to give us feedback. The reason we use en suite bathrooms as opposed to public bathrooms as it reduces the number of guests using each facility to keep things cleaner and more hygienic for the guests, however should your rooms facilities be occupied we also have public toilet facilities available on the 1st floor. We hope you enjoyed your stay at Astor Hyde Park and we hope to see you next time you're in London :)

94%

I don't think my first hostel experience could have been better! It was really exciting to see how things were run - everyone was friendly, all possible problems can get sorted out, no special fees for anything really. For young people-travellers this is the perfect match for when staying in London! Will definitely recommend to all my friends!

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking time out of your day to give us feedback as it helps us gauge how to provide the best possible service to our guests. We're so happy you enjoyed your time at Astor Hyde Park and that we were able to make the experience as enjoyable as possible for you. We hope to see you next time you're in London :)

100%

I would recommend this Hostel to everyone looking for an amazing time in London! Beautiful location, friendly staff that helps with literally everything, great breakfast for a Hostel, clean dorms, bathrooms and kitchen and an amazing atmosphere. I had a great time!

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel! It has many facilities -almoist all of them for free, really good provisions for breakfast, very helpful and gentle staff! The rooms are clean and spacious! The building is great with rich old history! In addition, the nearest underground station is 5 minutes of walking distance and outside of it there are many shops, markets and places to eat. The only downside is that the building has no elevator and that may be a problem if your room is on the upper floors.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we're glad you enjoyed your time at Astor Hyde Park and that we were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We also appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback, should you need help upstairs with your bags our staff are happy to help and our reception is open 24 hours a day. We hope to see you next time you're in London :)

(3723 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback