X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
5631 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Wonderful staff that was very polite and helpful!


94%

Good place to stay. Decent kitchen, good common area, and fairly clean with nice youth staff. Average breakfast of cereal, toast, and tea. Rooms are good sized and have cages underneath to store your things. Near several embassies and Hyde Park but a little far from the main tourist attractions. A little expensive but it is London.


86%

Staff was great. Breakfast was hit or miss with the times..


60%

The nearest tube is 20mins walk away, which by London standard, it's quite far since there are tubes everywhere. The pillow of the bed is at best 5cm in height, which means I have to roll them up for some elevation. There is no lift, but the staff are kind enough to help with the luggage. But after long day of walking, 3 floors up seems impossible. First time to London so I am not sure what other accommodation will be like with the money paid, but I will definitely not stay here again.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • pyloh915pyl3666
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A very well run hostel in a lovely area, will definitely return.


86%

GREAT hostel with great staff who were super helpful for everything from recommending free tours and pub crawls, to getting us some band aids! We didn't feel like the room was too hot although there isn't AC. It's a bit of a walk from the closest tube station (10 min) and be prepared to walk up the stairs. However it is in a very safe and nice area with a wholefoods and several restaurants/pubs nearby. The breakfast is pretty basic (toast, cereal, etc.) but it's good enough. Would recommend!

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

bed was tiny and there was no handrail or ladder for upper bed, so i was always consider not to fall. bathroom was dirty. staffs were really friendly and helpful, location was good and atmosphere was pretty much safe.

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Close to Kensington High Street if you need to do shopping, and other attractions esp Royal Albert Hall and Kensington Palace. A very clean hostel too, helpful staff (when you get their attention) and functional breakfast. On the ground floor and in the stairwells it's stuffy during hot weather, but surprisingly had no trouble in our room sleeping with the 1 window open. The other guests weren't very social though. (Finally - they told about stairs, bro!)


63%

This hostel was good for short stay. No air conditioning or lift so we had to climb 3 flights of very exhaustive stairs-apparently there's 6 stories. It was hot and stuffy. Beds were ok. Common room set up is not conducive to group chat, everyone just stares when you walk in. Wifi very handy and reception staff very friendly. Nice to have added breakfast too! Thanks Hyde!


91%

Excellent hostel, felt very safe throughout the trip key card required to enter hostel and room. Locker under bed plenty big enough to store a suitcase. Both the room and en suite were clean. Breakfast provided with room cost consisted of cereal, toast; with a range of toppings, and tea/coffee. Only downside was several flights of stairs to climb as there was no lift but we soon got used to this. Overall we had a fantastic time and would definitely consider staying here in the future.

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel was good but it is not near a station! Be warned if you are walking there with a huge backpack!


100%

All the staff at Astor Hyde park where extremely helpful. There where two individual associates Andy and Simone who went above and beyond to make my stay at this particular hostel an amazing experience. All of the other fellow travelers where very curious as well. But one particular resident there named Phil was hilarious, he was very welcoming very personable right off the bat. All in all it was hands down the best hostel I have ever been too, I would definitely come back again!

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Astor Hyde Park seems like it should have it all. Beautiful location near Hyde Park and Imperial College, cool building, decent rooms that are well-enough maintained, free (basic) breakfast. But the staff takes over the common areas watching TV all the time and there is little to no opportunity beyond the morning breakfast to meet other travelers. Ended up being one of the least fun hostels I've ever stayed in.


94%

One of the best hostel experiences. The hostel takes up an old English building with history. There is a large common lounge area, were I found friends and like-minded people to make my stay exciting and fun. This is the place where you feel at home and big parties happen. There is a large kitchen, and free luggage room.


89%

The staff is really friendly and helpful. I stayed for a week and I had the chance to meet a lot of people there. If you are travelling alone, I will recommend you to stay here.


100%

The Astor Hyde Park Hostel is a great hostel! Excellent location, just a few minutes from the museums (free admission) and Hyde Park & Kensington Gardens in a safe and luxurious neighbourhood. Very friendly guests and staff, always up for a chat. The room was clean, quite spacious for a hostel and came with a shower and toilet. There are lockers under the beds. The room was, however, quite hot, but London saw temperatures over 30 C, so it's not surprising. A fan was provided.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, we loved it here. It's in a really beautiful area. Only downside is there's no elevator... And six levels.


86%

I had so much fun here: met so many people, the staff was very friendly and helpful, location next to hyde park is awesome (beautiful park), clean, it is nice to have free breakfast. Very good, I would recommend it to my friends.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I liked the Hostel, stays in a safe location, the closest subway station is not so close, but it is not far. I would stay there again.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good fun place, didn't have the 'boys on tour' aspect which was good! Met some excellent people


(3501 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback