X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
6023 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The greek girl who worked there, really mean and rude. The bathrooms need to be cleaned better. And everyone is quiet in the living room, they need to do something, sell beer for example.. Its just the tv on. And wifi, horrible.

  • 28th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Room wasn't cleaned when we got to the hostel which was a bit of a shame. The staff were polite and the place seem in good condition. However the price we paid was about £30 short of a hotel price so we were expecting something a bit nicer than what we got. I have been in cheaper hostels in London that have better private dorms than this one. Maybe it's the location though that makes it more expensive. We only needed beds for the night (didn't spend much time in hostel) so I guess it's alright.


69%

curtains in front of each bed like in other hostels would be nice, breakfast was really poor (no cheese, no bacon, only toasts... etc.)

  • 28th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The restrooms could have some towel hooks. The tables in the kitchen could be cleaned more often.

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The price i have paid for private room was too high for this comfort level. The location and staff is great tough. Guess better value for dorms. No problem with the place.


66%

Poor quality of beds...

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything was quite nice. It would be better if there could stronger wifi in the room.

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

not a good atmosphere for travellers heaps of people living there


74%

Great location so see the sights in London, but not to go out and have a good time. Have to take a bus or tube to really find anything like that. My biggest issue was with the staff. Just were not that friendly. I have stayed in dozens of hostels and some of the staff here were not that great.


91%

Overall this hostel was really nice and the location was great!!


100%

This hostel is great. From the moment I got there I felt very welcome and the staff was always available to answer any question that I had. Great location! I strongly recommend this place. Also, is very easy to make friends there! Cheers to the Astor Hyde park staff!


94%

This hostel was well worth the price!! Extremely clean and the staff was always nice and friendly! I would recommend to anyone.


74%

Bunks incredibly creaky and shakey - when the person under you moves, you know about it!


89%

The cleanliness in the kitchen and food area could be a bit improved and the sytem for food storage for guests in the fridges and kitchen shelves could be better (e.g. one big shelf with individual compartments and containers for every bed/guest). Otherwise the stay was excellent and the staff competent and nice.

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice hostel. Clean rooms and friendly helpful staff. Great location and not far from all major attractions. Highly recommended.

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

My 2nd time at the Astor hostel and I love it's chilled out atmosphere. Right on Hyde park it's a great location if you like to be active. The rooms are a little cramped but the facilities and breakfast are great!


63%

A little crowded, the wifi only worked in the crowded and loud lounge. Staff were very nice, but it's more of a party hostel than we were looking for.


80%

This hostel is in a good location between two tube stations to take you pretty much anywhere you want to go. The rooms are big and there are lockers for your luggage. Only downside was the rooms got pretty hot at night. I stayed in a 9 person dorm with an ensuite. Bathroom could have been cleaner but wasn't too bad. The staff were extremely helpful.


97%

It was all good, only the breakfast could be more interesting.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff and the guests were wonderful! It made me more than a little sad to be leaving so soon! Everybody was very happy to provide advise and fun conversation and they offer free breakfast!

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(3678 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback