X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
7354 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Best located backpakers in London!


100%

Very good location and very welcoming, friendly staff. The room and the common areas was clean. The kitchen had everything you need to make a something to eat. The morning breakfast was very good.

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice location, lovely staff members. It took a while for them to fix the toilet door, making showers awkward since it was an en-suite with 3 other strangers. But besides that they were very helpful. The walking tour mentioned in their map was awesome (it was free too).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time leaving us a review. On behalf of all the staff at Astor Hyde Park I would like to apologize about the lock not properly working during your stay. The issue is resolved and we are sorry for the inconvienance it caused you during your stay. Glad everything else was fine and that you took advantage of the free walking tour. Hope you had a safe flight to Mumbai! Hope to see you here next time you are in London. Lots of love from Astor Hyde Park xx

94%

Most of all, the staffs are realllly kind ;^)

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Our staff thanks you for the kind words and can't wait to welcome you again once you are back in London! Lots of love from Astor Hyde Park xx

91%

Very clean, very lively and accommodating. This was my first stay in a hostel, so I don't have anything to compare it to, but after talking with other people, this couldn't have been a better stay. Close to the bus and tube, and a walkable distance to various museums and attractions and parks. Would recommend to anyone.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good location. I checked out at 4AM and it was really easy. Good staff. Lot's of stairs but if that doesn't bother you it's great


100%

One of the best hostels ive stayed in. Convenient,relaxed and a good place to start if you're new to London. The only problem was the constant vacuuming, but nobody is perfect. But they were close.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

friendliest staff i ever met, young and full of ideas and suggestions, always helpful and with a smile and their face. talking to other guests i had the impression that it was rather a large family than a hostel. if i had had money i would have left a big tip, hope one day to be able to reward those amazing guys!

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the amazing review! W

100%

I enjoyed my stay!


91%

Very good! The hostel's in a very posh central area, the only problem is that it's 10-15 mins walk to the nearest metro stations.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the review and choosing to stay with us! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The area truly is beautiful and for the location the best price you will find in London! See you next time your in London! All the best, the team @ Astor Hyde Park xx

97%

First time staying at a hostel and it was really great! There wasn't a time where I felt uncomfortable as the staff was amazing and extremely accommodating. The facilities were really nice and, overall, the place just had a great vibe. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in central london, this is definitely a place to consider.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate the feedback! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are so pleased you had an exceptional stay. Our staff is always here to help with whatever it is you may need! You're right, for central London and being located in South Kensington it is an afforadable and comfortable place to stay! Thanks for choosing to stay with us! Hope to see you back next time you're in London! Lots of love from Astor Hyde Park

100%

The window was a bit draughty but no big deal.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great time, great place. Definitely recommend it!

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Many thanks for the amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! Next time your in London we'd love to see you again! All the best , The team @ Astor Hyde Park xx

100%

Whoever is coming to London should come straight to this hostel. Beautiful location and an amazing hostel. Comfortable (as it's big), amazing atmosphere (the staff is absolutely the best) and the place is spotless. I would strongly recommend it to anyone


100%

One of THE best hostels in the London of not the world. Absolute pleasure staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for the kind words!! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us! Hope to see you again very soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels! Lots of love from Astor Hyde Park xx

86%

A hostel that is clean and not overly expensive! I really enjoyed the stay, especially the friendly and helpful staff made a lasting impression!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Super convient location 5 minute walk away from Hyde park, Victoria & Albert Museum, and the Natural History museum. Free breakfast of toast and cereal, they only ask for donations to the homeless. The dorms themselves are cleaned daily and have large lockers underneath the beds. The have lots of things available to rent at the front desk, they only ask for a deposit. Internet was a bit spotty in the dorm, but they had lots of public space available to hang out in. Really great hostel!


97%

Excelent experience...Excelent hostel

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is really nice, the staff were very helpful too. They have free padlocks and adapters to borrow at reception, and a really nice common area to relax. The hostel is quite big, with 5-6 floors, what can be a little bit tough if you get any room in the 4th floor, so is better to be prepared to climb some stairs haha. Totally recommend though!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review! We are glad you took advantage of all the services we offer. Reception is here 24 hours and always willing to help with a smile! If you ever need help taking your bags up and down please let the reception know, we would be more than glad to help you with your bags! Can't wait to see you again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, lots of love from Astor Hyde Park

94%

My stay was awesome. Great location and close enough to shops and transport. Would stay again for sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the review!! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to have you stay with us again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, The team @ Astor Hyde Park xx

(4281 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback