X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
5999 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I stayed there for 5 nights and wished the bathroom had been cleaned (or at least dried off) a bit more than it was. One toilet/shower for 10 people is a bit much some times.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The location was the best part of this hostel. Only a 5 minute walk to the closest tube station that'll get you to where ever you need. The staff, security, and atmosphere were all wonderful, and it was definitely worth the amount we paid for. The only downsides would have to be the single shower for a room of 10, as well as only having 4 outlets for a room of 10.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

very nice hostel . staffs are very nice with smile . feel like home


89%

The staff here are super friendly and helpful! You can borrow adapters for a 5£ deposit and there is a small vending machine on the premises. Lots of stairs, so if you are travelling with a large suitcase you might want to request a room on the first floor (still a bit of a climb though). The breakfast is ok, nothing special but enough to get your belly full before going to explore the city. I stayed in a six person ensuite dorm, which was very nice except that it only had 4 power outlets.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Best hostel I've been so far (in London). Situated between Gloucester Road Station and South Kensington Station with only a 5 to 10 minute walk. Very nice dorms, friendly and helpful staff. Would definitly go back if I were to go to London.


77%

Apart from the poor breakfast it was a great stay!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is very safe and in a fabulous location with easy access to three tube stations. Staff were helpful and friendly. The bathroom is quite small and one morning the water didn't work, but besides that the other facilities (kitchen and common areas) are very well kept.


97%

The hostel was clean and comfortable. I particularly appreciated the wifi and large secure storage under the beds. All the staff were really lovely and had great recommendations.


83%

It was really really good experience but I think it's quiet far from center but near from hostel was so security so when I went around very late night, it was good and also staffs were so nice and breakfast also nice All in all except location, the other things were soooo nice!!!! If I go back I think I will book again

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Prime location, clean, friendly staff, and lots of areas to hangout in.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. Super friendly staff! The six bed seemed a little more crowded than others however the lounge and kitchen areas are big so you have space to relax after long days


71%

12th floor room very hot, don't have enough electrical outlet per room. Great breakfast, comfy and clean sheets and bed

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The rooms were quite spacious and clean. I appreciated the 24 hour reception and getting money back for renting towels. However, I think it would be better to provide padlocks that people can use. The breakfast was pretty basic and small, but it is nice to be provided. More outlets would also be beneficial in rooms of 6.


77%

It's a pity they don't have 1 more shower per Etage. Also, it's a pity they don't have single power outlets for every bed; it feels weird to let all your really expensive eletronic stuff lay out in the room without security.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The location


83%

Stayed here just for the night as I had an interview the following day. Dorm was nice and clean, it was a little hot as no AC but not too much of a problem. Nice common area, staff great and friendly. I would stay here again, nice area of London.


89%

Very clean hostel in a great location. Staff are friendly enough. This hostel is great for groups but more difficult to meet people if you are a solo traveller. Breakfast was decent. Good price as well so would stay again.


97%

Great hostel, had everything you needed, staff always looking to help, right near a metro and shops. Safe area, clean rooms - would definitely recommend!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

You have to be looking for certain things before you stay here. It's not much of a party hostel, nor is the location that good. The tube is a bit of a walk, and the local spots nearby are pretty pricey. The perks of this hostel are the amazing security, pretty nice staff, and relatively cleanliness of the facilities. You definitely pay a little more than I think it's worth even if you're searching for those specific things in your selection.


91%

Great staff and solid hostel. Location is about a ten-minute walk from the closest tube but it's right next to the Natural History and Science Museum, which are awesome. Really big hostel but they have the facilities to handle it and the WiFi works well (and in the rooms too!)


(230 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback