X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
6678 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I enjoyed my stay!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good! The hostel's in a very posh central area, the only problem is that it's 10-15 mins walk to the nearest metro stations.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the review and choosing to stay with us! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The area truly is beautiful and for the location the best price you will find in London! See you next time your in London! All the best, the team @ Astor Hyde Park xx

97%

First time staying at a hostel and it was really great! There wasn't a time where I felt uncomfortable as the staff was amazing and extremely accommodating. The facilities were really nice and, overall, the place just had a great vibe. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in central london, this is definitely a place to consider.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate the feedback! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are so pleased you had an exceptional stay. Our staff is always here to help with whatever it is you may need! You're right, for central London and being located in South Kensington it is an afforadable and comfortable place to stay! Thanks for choosing to stay with us! Hope to see you back next time you're in London! Lots of love from Astor Hyde Park

100%

The window was a bit draughty but no big deal.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great time, great place. Definitely recommend it!

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Many thanks for the amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! Next time your in London we'd love to see you again! All the best , The team @ Astor Hyde Park xx

100%

Whoever is coming to London should come straight to this hostel. Beautiful location and an amazing hostel. Comfortable (as it's big), amazing atmosphere (the staff is absolutely the best) and the place is spotless. I would strongly recommend it to anyone


100%

One of THE best hostels in the London of not the world. Absolute pleasure staying here.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for the kind words!! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us! Hope to see you again very soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels! Lots of love from Astor Hyde Park xx

86%

A hostel that is clean and not overly expensive! I really enjoyed the stay, especially the friendly and helpful staff made a lasting impression!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Super convient location 5 minute walk away from Hyde park, Victoria & Albert Museum, and the Natural History museum. Free breakfast of toast and cereal, they only ask for donations to the homeless. The dorms themselves are cleaned daily and have large lockers underneath the beds. The have lots of things available to rent at the front desk, they only ask for a deposit. Internet was a bit spotty in the dorm, but they had lots of public space available to hang out in. Really great hostel!


97%

Excelent experience...Excelent hostel

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is really nice, the staff were very helpful too. They have free padlocks and adapters to borrow at reception, and a really nice common area to relax. The hostel is quite big, with 5-6 floors, what can be a little bit tough if you get any room in the 4th floor, so is better to be prepared to climb some stairs haha. Totally recommend though!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review! We are glad you took advantage of all the services we offer. Reception is here 24 hours and always willing to help with a smile! If you ever need help taking your bags up and down please let the reception know, we would be more than glad to help you with your bags! Can't wait to see you again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, lots of love from Astor Hyde Park

94%

My stay was awesome. Great location and close enough to shops and transport. Would stay again for sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the review!! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to have you stay with us again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, The team @ Astor Hyde Park xx

94%

Great location, though a bit far from tube station (around 20min by foot) but bus #10 very convenient and close to hostel. Hostel and neighbourhood very safe. Rooms are large. Large lockers under beds to store suitcase. Staff very friendly. Excellent wifi access. Atmosphere was good but not extraordinary. One small drawback: no light and no plug beside beds. I would definitely recommend this hostel.


91%

Really happy with the staff-very friendly, great service. Loved the location, everything clean and well managed.


97%

Our stay was great and we made friends with some local hostel folk also which was also a bonus. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful with everything we required, they really made the atmosphere fun & homely. About a 45min stroll into the heart of the hustle and bustle (BUT WORTH IT AS YOU WALK THREW A BEAUTIFUL PARK) The hostel was located closely to restaurants, shops and train stations. Would defiantly recommend this hostel to anyone. Thanks for the great times Astor Hydpe Park !

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the awesome review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves in offering a home away from home to our guests. We can't wait to have you stay with us again and welcome you back to our house. All the best! The team from Astor Hyde Park xx

94%

Great Hostel in one of best parts of London. I have been visiting Astor HP for more then a year now and in my opinion it is one of the best places to stay in the town. All staff are friendly and welcoming. I always feel like I'm part of the Astor family.


94%

Well-located, in a really nice building, confortable rooms and living room, nice staff. I felt at home.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!! Hope to have you back next time you're in London! Lots of love from the Astor Hyde Park team xx

77%

Enjoyed my time here but it was a bit of a shock coming from a big house in Cornwall to hostel life! A few minor things that could improve guest experience - there was no reading light by the beds and no power outlets near the top bunks that i could see. Lockers in rooms would be great too. Location is very close to Hyde Park but it's a bit of a hike - 10/15min, from the nearest tube station (South Kensington or Gloucester Rd) Staff were excellent and the 50p breakfast great too


80%

The hostel was pretty ideal. I did think the bathroom floors could've used a bit more scrubbing as they seemed gross and filled with mildew in the cracks. Also, might have been some mold on the ceilings, but not an overly noticeable amount. The showers are very small and in the rooms - I prefer hostels with showers in hallways as you don't have to worry as much about waking people up.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I've stayed at hostels in more than 40 countries and I can honestly say this is one of the best ones.It's located in one of the nicest neighbourhoods in London.Rooms are spacious,clean,with private bathrooms.There's a really nice lounge where you can relax and if you're travelling on a budget, you can use the kitchen with all the facilities 24/7.The staff are very friendly and helpfull, special thanks goes to Dan for being super nice and always helping me with everything.Definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Wow! Thanks for the awesome review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! As well thank you for taking advantage of all the services we offer! We put them in place to ensure your stay is that much better!! Our staff is always here smiling and ready to assist you in any way possible! Thanks for the kind words! We can't wait to see you again. Lots of love from Astor Hyde Park xx

(234 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback