X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
7262 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I've been here a few times and it's just an amazing hostel. The rooms are pretty big and clean, and same for the bathrooms and showers. There's a nice breakfast included. Also the location couldn't be better, right next to Hyde Park. And of course, the staff is always helpful and super nice and cool. Definitely the best hostel I've ever been in London :D


80%

I had a great stay. My only negative comment was that the shower curtain smelt horrible!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There! Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are super sorry that there was an issue with the shower curtain. Please note that we have now replaced the curtain. If there are ever any housekeeping issues that need to be address during your stay please just let us know at reception so our staff can fix the problem for you straight away! We hope to see you again! Lots of love, Astor HP XO

80%

The hostel is very lovely and well located! But the bathroom in the rooms are discusting... The breakfast should include fruits and real juice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us a review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. All our bathrooms are serviced once or twice per day, all of our staff are on site 24 hours to ensure your stay is perfect. If you ever need additional cleaning services then please just let us know at reception. We will be happy to help anytime you need. Our charity breakfast for 50pence does also include some fruit options so I'm sorry to hear that you didnt see these when you were here. See you soon! Lots of love x

83%

If you like seeing the parks of a city, then this hostel is perfect as it's right near Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. It is a fair walk from the parliament buildings and the London Eye, but the tube is very conveniently located. The beds were good, as well as the lockers under the beds. Only downfall is one dedicated area of plugs for 12 beds.


80%

Very good service. No elevator which made it exhausting for those living on 4 to 6th floor. Staff was cool and the area is very posh :-) 10+ min of walking to closest tube station. All in all very good for a short stay in central London.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed for two nights in a 4 bed ensuite dorm and two nights in a private double room. Both rooms were quite functional. The location of the hostel was fantastic, one block away from Hyde Park and about a 10 min walk to the nearest underground station. The hostel wasn't too loud, it was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I would say the only downside was that in the 4 bed dorm room the internet didn't work very well and that the private double was very expensive.


80%

It is a nice place and everything was ok.


94%

I had a fantastic time here :D

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us some feedback! We are so super happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure having you as part of Astor Family! We can't wait to see you again soon! lots of love, Astor HP xo

100%

The hostel is by far the best I have ever stayed at!


97%

I know this is difficult to get right for everyone, but the bed I was in was like sleeping on a rock, I stayed in you're hostel before and don't remember having that problem.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel!! Near city center!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oi, Obrigado para a revisão! So happy you had an amazing time with here and everything was as expected for your stay! We can't wait to see you next time you're in our beautiful city! Hyde Park hangs for sure! Safe travels! Lots of love, Astor HP xo

86%

Excellent location! Was fully booked when I stayed, and everything seemed to run very smoothly.


97%

Probably the best location/cost hostel in London. Only problem for tired (drunken) turist is to get using the stairs to the very highest floor...but thats not hostel problem, thats gravity :)


46%

The location is perfect and the staff was very helpful. However, I didn't find the place very confortable neither clean. The shower courtain was disgustingly dirty and short (making the bathroom always wet). There were no outlets close to the beds.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our amazing location! Please note that our staff are available 24 hours to ensure your stay is 100% so if there are any additional cleaning requirements you need please just let us know and we will fix immediately. We hope to see you next time in London! Lots of love, AHP xo

86%

Nice Hostel, nice Staff. Everything was OK. No problems, no hidden costs. Very good service provided. The only thing to be improved are the power outlets; 4 outlets in a 10 dorm bedroom, every bed should have its own.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was my first time in London and I'm so happy I stayed here! The staff was nice and helpful, the beds comfy, and 50p for breakfast with proceeds going to Nepal is something no one should complain about. It's a little loud on the weekend (but not obnoxiously loud) and quiet during the week. Overall very happy with my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are so pleased that you had a fantastic time whilst you were here and we lived up to your expectations for your first hostel experience! We really appreciate your acknowledgement for our charity b/fast. Astor is a family business and we always try to contribute back to those in need where possible! Thanks for all your donations, every pent helps! Check our FB for more information about the total money raised for Nepal at the end of the month! Lots of love, Astor HP x

89%

Really great hostel! Clean, friendly staff, comfortable beds, and great facilities. Really enjoyed our stay here!

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff and atmosphere was absolutely awesome! Would of loved to stay longer :)

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel ever. Super clean (everything was absolutely spotless) with super friendly staff.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the review! We are thrilled you hear you enjoyed our facilities and all we have to offer here! We cant wait to see you again! Safe travels, Astor HP xo

100%

I highly recommend this hostel. My room was 6 beds dorm. It was really nice, clean, cozy, spacious and high ceiling. And also nice common area and kind, helpful staffs!! I want to stay again when I get back to London. I am planning to go to London again and stay this hostel again. I am worried about that there is no room when I get there.


(266 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback