X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
6989 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great stay because great staff!!! Very nice lovely people with a sociable sense of welcomingculture. Again next time - definitly! THX!!!

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We loved having you as part of our family for your stay in London. We look forward to your return! Safe travels, lots of love Astor HP

97%

Really affordable and nice place. Went there for one night while visiting London and I am sure we will go back. Cool staff and you get to meet interesting people. We would definitely recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are always trying to offer the best price to our guest's. The staff is always here willing to help assist you in anyway and welcome you to the family. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to have you back next time you're in the city. Thanks for the review! Safe Travels, Astor Hyde Park

89%

Staff here are great and has a pretty laid back vibe. Full kitchen, a lockable place for your bag, and great location. Dorms have their own bathrooms, as well as additional toilets in the hallway. Fun events and staff have good recommendations. Would stay here again!


94%

This place was amazing! Clean, friendly, beautiful, and literally right next to one of the most famous parks in the world (it was really nice because im a runner, so I got easy access to the park every morning). My expectations for other hostels are very high now

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff are really friendly and super helpful.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the kind words. It was our pleasure having you stay with us! We can't wait to have you back. All the best , Astor Hyde Park xx

77%

Really friendly staff, nice hostel. Breakfast was standard with a good variety of spreads,but some healthier choices would have made the breakfast complete! Room was okay for 12 people. No queuing up in the morning when using the bathroom! Ensuite-bathroom caused a bit too much noise (thin wall). Air-conditioning was quite loud. We had a good time at the hostel! :)


83%

Decent hostel, location was close to a few things including public transit, though a bit outside of the touristy things in a very nice neighborhood. Atmosphere was so-so. A lot of people in the common room not saying a word to each other which was odd. Also several people coming in making noise and turning on lights all night - not the hostel's fault, but a rookie move for sure. The staff were quite helpful with directions and things to do. Rooms were clean. Would stay here again.


97%

Had a great stay here and the beds were extremely comfortable, my only problem was noisy neighbours at night being very rude screaming and shouting right outside our door on level 3(the reception could not hear) two nights of our stay, but that's not exactly the hostels fault, just people


97%

Had a great stay here. The staff was very friendly and helped us find our way around the city. They took the time to map out directions for us which was very nice. It was a great location walking distance to Kensington palace. We stayed in the 10 person dorm and felt very safe and it was very clean. I would definitely stay here again!


97%

Brilliant staff throughout the whole stay - a warm welcome from Dan at the reception, he was very helpful and friendly. Also thank you to the guy (sorry, do not remember the name) who came to fix the window for us at night. Great facilities and overall atmosphere. And quite cheap for such an amazing location. Would definitely come back :)

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the kind words. We appreciate the feedback. If there is ever any issue during your stay we are always here to help and solve it promptly. The price for the location is really outstanding, being located in South Kensington and next door to beautiful Hyde Park. We can't wait to have you back! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Astor Hyde Park

100%

I really enjoyed my stay at this place. People (staff and visitors) are nice, bedrooms too. I was in a room with 11 other people and everything was ok! That's very close from Hyde park and and not very far high street kensigton metro station. Great place


83%

Great ,location, staff is helpful, clean and quiet. Nothing to complain about.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice hostel in a very nice neighbourhood! Only a 3 minute walk from the Natural History Museum (which I would definitely recommend) and close to bus stops/metro stations. The building itself is beautiful, and the rooms and very clean. Great kitchen/dining area for those who wish to cook and a 0.50 p breakfast (money goes to charity) with cereal, toast and spreads, and tea and coffee. I would recommend you bring 1 or 2 padlocks with you as they will ask for a 5 pound deposit to rent one.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was such a fun stay... Keep it up

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

As usual, great staff, good services, very helpful. When it comes to hostels in London, this is a reference.


100%

The best hostel in London in my opinion

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the awesome review! We appreciate the kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Can't wait to welcome you back! Lots of love from Astor Hyde Park xx

97%

Great hostel, clean, secure and well located. Really cool staff helpful and friendly. Good value, free stuff. Definetly a place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all that we have to offer. We hope to have you stay with us again soon! All the best, Astor Hyde Park

91%

Maybe put individual lights in the dormitories... So Annoying when someone (a drunk guy) comes back at 3am switches the light on and wakes everyone up, and aggressively refuses to turn the light off.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate the feedback. We apologize for the one guest distrubing your sleep and making that nights stay uncomfortable for you. If there is any ever issue like this please inform reception. We will resolve the issue promptly. As for the lights, we are currently in the process of installing lights for all the beds! Hope to see you again soon. Lots of love from Astor Hyde Park (:

86%

the service guy was born on 22.6 lol

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff at Astor Hyde were super friendly! It was very easy to ask them questions. :-)

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us an awesome review! We are thrilled you ejoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure having you. Our staff is always here to help! We can't wait to welcome you back. Enjoy the rest of your travels, The team @ Astor Hyde Park xx

(226 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback