X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
6904 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Staff was not super nice, felt like they were not happy to help. We only had to deal with one member of the staff a girl at the desk and she was kinda cold. The room was very small and the bathroom door didn't have a lock. There was a board on the wall for us to leave messages in case we needed anything but No marker was provided to write with. The images on the website looked so nice but it was a big disappointment with the room we had. If you go there ask to not have room number 4.


71%

The hostel was fine. Only a small thing: in the shower cabin there was no place to put the shower tubes so everybody placed his or hers onto the ground. That's a bit uncomfortable. A simple shower basket or something on the wall could easily handle this issue.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you here! In the bathrooms there are hooks on the back of the doors so that you can hang your towels with ease. Thanks for your feedback we hope to see you again next time you're in London. Lots of love, AHP

80%

Staff was VERY friendly and helpful! Bathroom was a little small and not very clean but thats what you have to expect when sharing a room with 10 people. Overall thought it was a good experience and would recommend it to others.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the review! If there is ever any issues with cleanliness please inform reception. We can have our cleaners down to resolve the issue in a heart beat! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, can't wait to see you again next time you're in the city. Safe travels, the team @ Astor Hyde Park

86%

Nice hostel and friendly staff. Probably could do with a lick of paint here or there but was fine otherwise. Located not too far from Gloucester station so ideal. Enjoyed our stay at the hostel thank you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us, we loved having you! We are currently in the process of getting our building painted. We have started with the doors and will advance to the rooms shortly. Hope to see you here next time you're in London! All the best, the team @ Astor Hyde Park xx

86%

Although I stayed for a night. V helpful staffs, good environment and good facilities on that price. Look forward for next time. Check out time is little bit early, would be excellent if they do it until at least 1100 am.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Nepal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry for the inconvienance on the check out time. That is due to our cleaners needing to clean so that the next guest can have a spotless room and a freshly made bed to sleep in. We are looking forward to welcoming you back! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Astor Hyde Park xx

100%

The most amazing hostel! Atmosphere is so good, everyone is really friendly, and the facilities are amazing. The charity breakfast is such a good initiative (50p) and the hostel hosts an event most nights (poker night, pub crawl etc) so you can easily make friends if travelling solo. The staff really make this place - definitely book to stay here!!


100%

Astor Hyde Park was fantastic to stay at, I felt like family! All of the staff were wonderful, with a special shoutout to Dan and Tom!! If I'm ever back in London, I will definitely be staying here :)


100%

Excellent stay! Very clean, good storage, great location, beautiful building and above all very friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us an amazing review! We appreciate that! We are so happy your stay was great and that everything exceeded your expectations. Can't wait to have you stay with us next time you're in the city! All the best, Astor Hyde Park xx

100%

Our days there were just perfect. We've got everything we ask for. Staff very helpfull and there was no trouble with anything. No better prices in central London. There were no lies or bad surprises either. We where 8 and there was no problem to be on the same room. We will come back, for sure.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are thrilled you and your group had an exceptional time with us! We strive to be the most valuable and best hostel in all of London. We appreciate when our hard work is recognized. Thanks for the amazing review, it was our pleasure having you here :) Cant wait to see you again, Astor Hyde Park xx

97%

Great place to stay! All the staff are super friendly and welcoming, and because they live at the hostel you get to know them quite well. Really well equipped kitchen and the common lounge room has lots of couches and often has movies playing at night. If you can get past the stairs (no lift) to the rooms then I'd definitely recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us an awesome review! We greatly appreciate it. Our staff is always smiling and here to help! Next time when you're here please let staff know you would like assistance with your bags, we would be glad to carry them up and down for you :) Can't wait to see you again! Lots of love, Astor Hyde Park xx

100%

Amazing place, great location, friendly and helpful staff, definitely staying againg in couple of months. No doubt.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the feedback! We can't wait to see you again in the next couple of months! Until then, safe travels. Lots of love from the AHP Team xo

97%

The best wifi I've ever had in a hostel- easy to connect, never had any issues with it. Rooms and common areas were always clean. One of the main deciding factors when we chose to stay here was that it had a kitchen and it was great. Short walk to two tube stops, dining options, grocery stores, Hyde Park. We didn't explore the museums but they're literally right around the corner. Everyone in the hostel kept commenting on how nice and helpful the staff were- and they are! Thanks for a great stay

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The bag compartments under each bed were great and lots of spare room in the dorms. Very happy


100%

Had an amazing stay in the Astor. The staff were all super lovely and welcoming and the facilities were great. My only bad comment is that the drawers under the bed are the most annoying thing ever! I would definitely stay in this homely hostel again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the lovely words and for taking the time to write us a review. Can't wait to welcome you again next time you are in London! All the best, Astor Hyde Park xx

80%

Great hostel with friendly, helpful staff! Loved the location, about 10 min walk to South Kensington or Gloucester Rd underground stations. The atmosphere is very relaxed. I really appreciated the free printing at reception for my plane and bus tickets. The bed was comfortable and warm. There's no lift in the building, so if you're on the 5th floor like I was, you'll have great glutes by the end of your stay from all the stairs! Cleanliness of the bathrooms could do with a bit more attention.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This was my first time staying at a hostel so I didn't have high expectations but I was pleasantly surprised at how great Astor Hyde Park was. The staff is really cool and it was lovely to be able to come back at the end of a long day to an inviting atmosphere. The hostel's location was probably my favorite aspect! I loved being able to walk around Hyde Park every morning and it's very conveniently located, only a few stops on the tube from Piccadilly Circus. Overall, highly recommend this place

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are so pleased you chose to stay with us for your first hostel experience. We are extremely happy that everything was better than you expected. We take pride in offering a homely feel here and that guests do feel like this is their home away from home. Can't wait to see you again. Thanks for the awesome review. All the best, Astor Hyde Park xx

91%

The staff is really nice and they are very attentive to one's need. The hostel is very good located. Rooms are very clean and breakfast is ok ! We definitively recommend this hostel for any trip in London !

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the awesome review! We really appreciate it. All our rooms are cleaned daily and the building is cleaned 3 times per day to ensure everyone is satisfied with our cleanliness. Glad you got to enjoy our delicious breakfast. Coming soon we will be offering fruit as well! Can't wait to welcome you again next time you are in London. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Astor Hyde Park xx

89%

Friendly staff, respectful guests, and nice amenities. The place was clean and certainly a great value. Super close to Hyde Park, which was great. However, we used the tube and the buses to get mostly everywhere else because walking to the city would take unreasonably long. I certainly would recommend this hostel to others!


94%

Awesome place, awesome stay, awesome people. I mean that IS three awesomes in a row, so obviously I had a good time. The facilities and cleanliness are quite nice. They clean the holy hell outta the place everyday. The only negative I found was a lack of hand towels in the common bathrooms downstairs to dry your hands with. I know they do towel rental, but hand towels in the common restrooms should be a normal thing. There was also a bit of staff drama I noticed. Will return for certain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us an amazing review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we loved having you. Glad you noticed the amount of times we clean our building daily. We truly like to ensure that the building is spotless. As for the drama between staff. I apologize you had to notice that, if you could please e-mail us @ hydepark@astorhostels.com with what you saw, we would like to look further into that. Thanks for staying with us! Cant wait to see you again. AHP

86%

Had a great time . The staff were very professional , helpful and friendly night and day . A little bit of a walk to the tube but was worth the extra few mins . More of a quiet hostel would have been more fun on the weekend if they had some sort of party for those having pre drinks and for those not going out as London can be expensive on a night out , even though they did great pub crawls with reduced prices on drinks . Thank you Astor hyde park for a great experience :)

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(218 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback