X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
7023 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It was great staying there :) I would love to stay here again!

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We loved having you here! We can't wait to see you again next time you're in London! Lots of love and safe travels, Astor Hyde Park team xo

100%

Amazing place to stay in a beautiful a quite area. The common areas of the hostel are very confortable and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The staff,formed by people from all around the world is just great ( specially the blond aussie girl at recepcion ;) best hostel ever!

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice room, very clean, and staff were very helpful. But it was a bit expensive, and using the pound made it even pricier. Also Kensington is a nice, safe location but it is a long walk from the Westminster area and the Tube isn't cheap.


80%

Lovely hostel with comfortable beds, reasonably sized rooms and nice staff. Location is beautiful, near museums


63%

Very very cold in the rooms, partly because the window was halfway open, leaky and not able to close (not very nice for winter-time). We changed room halfway through the stay, but it was the same problem - open and leaky windows!!! The staff fixed it with a towel. Two of us got a cold while staying here:-(:-( Nice beds - but no night lamp by the bed. Small rooms. Breakfast is ok. The area is very quiet, and a bit far away from everything if you are in london for the first time.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Weird situation when the girl in the room took off her pants in front on my face..

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff were amazingly helpful and friendly!


91%

The only thing that wasn't great about this hostel, was the water in the showers were lukewarm and smelled a bit. Otherwise a great place, with great staff and an excellent centrally located area.


100%

Fantastic place, staff, and atmosphere with other guests. Would recommend in a heartbeat.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I always stay with Astor Family and they do an amazing job. This one in particular hosts a great victorian house with architecture and stuff. The common room is adorable, comfortable and relaxing.


97%

The staff at Astor Hyde Park are Amazing! They were so helpful and fun during my stay. The rooms were clean, and (pillows are amazing). Really close to a lot of awesome museums, a bit far out from the night life (but easy enough to hop on the public transport). Overall, Amazing stay I would recommend it to any friend.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your feedback! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us! We can't wait to see you again for your next trip in London! Lots of love Astor Hyde Park team xo

100%

I came with a party of 7 people and we had an awesome experience and stay, Love everything about the hostel and will return again. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. One of the staff who was called Dan, was so sweet and very enthusiastic which I loved! :)

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks so much for the awesome review and shoutout! Always a pleasure seeing you :) We are extremely please that you all enjoyed your stay! We can't wait to see you again. Thanks for the constant repeat business, we appreciate it. All the best, Dan @ Astor Hyde Park

100%

Lovely neighborhood near Hyde Park. Good value or money and nice, clean facilities (especially appreciated the large under-bed storage cages!) Overall a great hostel for your stay in London!

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us an awesome review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us here. We would love to have you back next time you're in London :) Safe travels, the team @ Astor Hyde Park xx

89%

Pros: We only stayed here one night, but the staff was really friendly and helpful. Rooms are kept in good condition and have locks under the beds. Big lounge area available with projector screen. It was in a good location, right near Hyde Park and was easy to get on the metro. Cons: There are no elevators so pray that you don't get a room on the 5th floor, like we did.


54%

Staff was not super nice, felt like they were not happy to help. We only had to deal with one member of the staff a girl at the desk and she was kinda cold. The room was very small and the bathroom door didn't have a lock. There was a board on the wall for us to leave messages in case we needed anything but No marker was provided to write with. The images on the website looked so nice but it was a big disappointment with the room we had. If you go there ask to not have room number 4.


71%

The hostel was fine. Only a small thing: in the shower cabin there was no place to put the shower tubes so everybody placed his or hers onto the ground. That's a bit uncomfortable. A simple shower basket or something on the wall could easily handle this issue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you here! In the bathrooms there are hooks on the back of the doors so that you can hang your towels with ease. Thanks for your feedback we hope to see you again next time you're in London. Lots of love, AHP

80%

Staff was VERY friendly and helpful! Bathroom was a little small and not very clean but thats what you have to expect when sharing a room with 10 people. Overall thought it was a good experience and would recommend it to others.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the review! If there is ever any issues with cleanliness please inform reception. We can have our cleaners down to resolve the issue in a heart beat! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, can't wait to see you again next time you're in the city. Safe travels, the team @ Astor Hyde Park

86%

Nice hostel and friendly staff. Probably could do with a lick of paint here or there but was fine otherwise. Located not too far from Gloucester station so ideal. Enjoyed our stay at the hostel thank you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us, we loved having you! We are currently in the process of getting our building painted. We have started with the doors and will advance to the rooms shortly. Hope to see you here next time you're in London! All the best, the team @ Astor Hyde Park xx

86%

Although I stayed for a night. V helpful staffs, good environment and good facilities on that price. Look forward for next time. Check out time is little bit early, would be excellent if they do it until at least 1100 am.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Nepal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry for the inconvienance on the check out time. That is due to our cleaners needing to clean so that the next guest can have a spotless room and a freshly made bed to sleep in. We are looking forward to welcoming you back! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Astor Hyde Park xx

100%

The most amazing hostel! Atmosphere is so good, everyone is really friendly, and the facilities are amazing. The charity breakfast is such a good initiative (50p) and the hostel hosts an event most nights (poker night, pub crawl etc) so you can easily make friends if travelling solo. The staff really make this place - definitely book to stay here!!


(230 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback