X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Hyde Park Reviews

191 Queensgate, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
6534 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I had an enjoyable stay at the hostel. The staff was friendly, the showers didn't flood, and the lockers were very convenient (they were located underneath the bed). The staff was very lenient as they allow you to use the lockers by their offices if you need to check out and leave some things behind (you'll need your own lock).

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location and facilities. Staff were ready to help and answer any questions/concerns that arose. The tube station (South Kensington) closest to the hostel was about a 10 minute walk. The tube located on the Piccadilly line, provided easy access to London Heathrow airport and other main points in central London - very nice if you're in London for just a few days.


100%

Love its location, very lovely!! I wake up quite early and was able to take a walk in the Hyde Park. It is also quite close to V&A Museum and Natural Sciences Museum, a wonderful place! Love its common area as well.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was perfect, the atention of the girls in the reception was great, 100% recomendable...


89%

Best option ever! Hostel very well located and good staff.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

From the description of the hostel and the price I paid, I expected a better than average hostel but found it mostly average. Positive: Comfortable bed, clean linen, good water pressure in shower, nice staff in reception, close to Hyde park, could borrow adaptors and locks. Negative: No bedlights, sound from street, very basic breakfast after which you have to clean your own dishes, wi-fi not working in room, 10-15 min walk to tube.


80%

This hostel is in the beautiful Kensington area, almost adjacent to Hyde Park. It's a bit of a walk to the tube. The atmosphere was a little lacking: the common room is more like a library in the evenings. The dorm was fairly spacious and clean, although some of the beds are awfully close to each other. Excellent and helpful staff.


100%

Awesome !!!!!


91%

It was my first stay at any hostel and i truly enjoyed it. I highly recommend this place. Its clean and relaxed. The staff is really friendly and accommodating esp andrew. The guests are nice and friendly too. The best thing about this place is its location. Its walking distance from hyde park, museums, south ken station and high street ken. Its easy to find and easily accessible.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Everyone was super friendly and helpful except for the lady who came in to clean our room. She didn't knock and when she opened the door she stood there and made a rude remark about one of the people staying in the room. But other than that it was an amazing place to stay and would definitely reccommend it!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Solid option.


86%

The staff were very hepful, and the hostel is in a nice quiet location. There wasnt too much selection for breakfast but overall a good hostel.


94%

Great hostile. Very accommodating and comfortable and full of interesting people. A little walk to the tube, but not a problem.


80%

I didn't find the rooms to be that clean nor the bathrooms in the room. 7/10. Would of been 10/10 otherwise

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It was very cool, you could get nearly anything you may need for free (wifi, breakfast, adaptors, locks, ...), the staff ist young and friendly, ... its more like a big living community than a hostel :) and you have 24/7 service, so no question has to stay open :P

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Astor Hyde Park is a fantastic hostel, and is in such a great location. It's in a lovely quiet neighbourhood, while still being very close to quite a few tourist attractions, as well as the underground. Staff could be a lot friendlier, a smile every now and then wouldn't go astray. But overall, a great place to spend your time in London. I've returned to the city a second time, and am staying here again as it's great value for money.


91%

Pretty good hostel. Everything you need you can have in the reception by paying a deposit. Staff was very cool, and they have a common room. Don't expect much of the breakfast, but anyways, it's not that bad actually. I would recommend this hostel.


100%

It's a great place to stay with friendly staff who are available 24/7. I loved it there.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good location and the room was decent. But one of the male staff refused to print out a postage label for me because he said he would only print out boarding pass and concert tickets. Told me to go to an internet cafe located 15 minutes away instead. Massive inconvenience!


91%

I really appreciated the open, clean feel of the room. Ours had a cool loft. I loved the wifi in the common areas. Plenly of outlets to charge up. There were games to play in the kitchen that seemed pretty cool. Overall I was impressed with this hostel.


(256 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback