Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Astor Museum Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 6692 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 6692 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.4

This hostel was clean with good facilities, well located and the room was very spacious despite being a 16 bed dorm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Apr 2017
10.0

Very lovely friendly staff! I was staying over for an early interview in London, I arrived late evening and was a bit flustered- but the lovely staff made it easy to check in, give me info etc. The room was clean & comfortable. One of the girls even helped me zip my dress upon the morning! 😂 Much appreciated & I got the job! 👍🏻😆

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.1

Compared to the astor at Hyde park, this is not as good. But still very clean and nice. Staff is friendly. But place is smaller than the one in hyde park.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
8.9

Great location. Short walk to Covent Garden, Piccadilly, etc. Friendly staff. My main complaint is the beds. I previously read the reviews about hard beds and thought they would be okay because I usually like firmer mattresses. However, these were too firm, even for me. Also the fact that they wouldn't let food or drinks into the dorm rooms. I understand why but it was a bit inconvenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
4.9

Pricey (closer to 3 star hotel prices in the area) considering the rooms which were very small (private twin), and very very basic - eg advertise tea making facilities but only one plug in our room behind the bed so had to move bed to make tea........ Also we were on top floor and with no elevator the stairs were extremely hard to navigate with large suitcases. Staff generally helpful but didnt go above and beyound.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are sorry you did not leave thinking our hostel was super awesome! I will look into all of the issues you disliked about your room to ensure you think we are by the end of your next visit. Our tea station should be conveniently placed for you to enjoy a nice coffee tea and snacks so I'll take a look at that. Regarding your bags our staff are always happy to give you hand with your bags or anything else you may need! We hope you are having an amazing time wherever you may be in the world and we hope to see you again in beautiful London some time soon! lots of love the Astor Family!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Great location, staff, facilities and atmosphere! Overall a great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
9.1

Amazing location! Easy walk or tube ride to all the main sights in central London. Beds are very comfortable, and storage lockers below beds are spacious. Breakfast was fine and cheap--all the money goes to charity. Staff were always available to help and answer questions. Locks and adaptors provided, and towels were £1. Only real complaint is that the wifi (particularly in the rooms) wasn't very good. Other than that, a great place to stay while in London!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review! We are super happy that you had an amazing time with us! We are without a doubt in the best location in the whole city with every sight an incredible short journey away. We aim for our beds to be as comfortable as possible pillow to match! Our staff are the happiest employees in the world and wish to share their happiness and love for London whenever possible! We are very sorry if the wifi was a bit splotchy while you were here. We were having problems with the internet coming in from the street, however we have upgraded some of our equipment and the internet is now faster and more stable than ever! We hope to see you again in this beautiful city, lots of love the astor familiy!

11th Apr 2017
9.1

Brilliant location, I would stay again just for that but the hostel it'self is quality too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are without a doubt in the best location London can offer! We are happy you enjoyed our awesome little hostel too! We hope you are having an amazing time wherever the wind has blown you on on your travels! Lots of love, The Astor Family!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
7.7

Great location, easy to walk to central areas and close to an underground station. Stayed in an 8 bed basic dorm (no info online for what the difference between the basic dorm and regular dorm). The basic dorms are in a separate building, still feels safe but there are no common areas, and the wifi didn't work in our room so we were stuck sitting on the floor downstairs to use it. You also can't charge your phone from the bed which was inconvenient. Id stay again but opt for the regular dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
7.7

Chill place for young backpackers or those who need to travel cheaply but safely. Has two buildings, the "basic" rooms are in a separate building a block away. I personally wouldn't stay here again but I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good hostel without any bells and whistles.. Take cheap deposits on locks and things. :) The reasons I wouldn't come back are mostly the smell and atmosphere. People smoking and being loud late into the night and the lounge smells like a locker room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you for your feedback! We try and offer everything a traveler can need at no additional cost or as cheaply as possible (in a central neighborhood) to save you the monies and we're glad you enjoy that. We are sorry that there was a smell during your visit, I can guarantee that it was not our hostel or staff, but probably a fellow traveler who had missed laundry day by a day too many. If there is ever a smell in your room or common areas come and let us know and we will deal with it discreetly and in the friendliest way possible so that it smells fresh fresh fresh again! We hope you give us a second chance and come and have and amazing stay in awesome London! Lots of love, the Astor Fam.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.