X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4423 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice and affordable hostel in London. The staff is very friendly and will help you out however they can. The kitchen is a bit small but enough to cook and eat.


83%

Stayed here for one night after a gig in London. Private rooms are in a separate building around the corner from the main building, nice and quiet at night. Great location right next to the British museum, approx 10 mins walk from Holborn tube station and about 25 mins walk to Kings Cross / St Pancras. Would stay again.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The Staff was very friendly and i loved the living room where everyone was sitting, watching movies and it was the place where i connected with other people. And of course it was great that they had free wi-fi! :D

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, friendly staff and kind guests. Clear beds and toilets and it really deserves it is really cheap if u books a bit early. I will stay there again

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

great quite stay in building across the road from main hostel. Staff really friendly and happy to help 24/7. Only negative is 2 plug sockets in room for 6 people,,,not good if you want to charge phone and have alarm on it...wakes everyone up as you scrabble from top bunk to get up and turn it off. great easy location and amazing value esp the area its in.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location. We met a lot of really great interesting nice people but it's a super social group which means people were up drinking with loud music until pretty late every night. Didn't bother us too much bc we were so exhausted we could've spelt through anything but if that's not your scene then it might not be the best for you. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Basically the perfect hostel experience minus the noise.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Was very good! Thank you for everything!!

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I was staying at Astor Museum Inn for a week and the stay was very pleasant. Nothing to complain about. Especially the location is superb! I highly recommend this hostel to any backpacker visiting London even for a longer time than a couple of days.


89%

Very much enjoyed my stay here! Rooms, showers and kitchen were clean and more spacious than I'm used to from hostels, staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was fine and complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits a very nice touch. And the location is perfect (even more so if you're planning on watching some musical theatre). Would definitely come back!


80%

At crawling distance to the British museum in a nice area of London - good vibe in the hostel. Decent kitchen and beds. Attentive staff. One thing I didn't like was the smoking area they had next to the kitchen, thought that was a bit unsavoury. Good marks over-all.


89%

What a lovely hostel! One of the best I´ve stayed at so far! Super friendly staff, decent free breakfast, nice rooms, okay bathrooms... and all that for a really fair price (for London standards)! Only tiny minus: I couldn´t find a place where to plug in my hair dryer and dry my hair :D

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Likes: Location and Staff (helpful and friendly) Dislikes: Dirtiness and security. Lockers weren't great if you wanted to you could still reach in and grab something. I've stayed in many hostels and found this one to be the grossest one ever. Things under the bed from passed guests, dust and dirt on the floors and the bathroom/showers were the worst. It seemed as though the staff only came in and changed garbage and changed sheets and no other cleaning was done.


77%

Great location, awesome breakfast... They should put a faster wi-fi and better showers!


49%

The Kitchen was really dirty There is no lift and the bath and toilets of our floor didn't work In the whole hostel there wasn't hot water for a week so you couldn't have a bath . Moreover the toilets and baths were really dirty The bedroom was really small


74%

It was a decent hostel that was in a great location for the price we paid. The only problems we had were with the showers yielding no water after like one person used it. It was kind of chilly, but the blankets were nice and thick. They also change the security code every few weeks, so be sure to check daily with the staff because they did not warn us that this would happen and caused us to be running back and forth from the annex.


69%

I rated most things with "good" as we enjoyed our stay. I rated the cleanliness as "poor". When we arrived at the room it looked like all beds where taken. Just because the bedsheets all looked like somebody slept already in it. Probably that was tbe case! I already stayed in a lot of hostels and mostly when you arrive, bedsheets are not yet on the bed, but you need to put your own new washed bedsheets on that you receive at the checkin. Luckily they didnt stink and they were not filthy.


83%

Bang for the buck around Central London, very typical hostel. Rooms were clean, staff was awesome, and baggage security seemed effective but hey ya never know... Think twice about whether you REALLY need to be in Central London or not. A couple miles out gets a lot better real fast.

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff were really friendly and helpful and the location is great as it's central to everything you need. If you're only staying for a night or two, it's perfect.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very helpful staff and a wonderful breakfast selection. Great use of wifi or free computer usage were a big plus.


94%

Inredible location for the price, 5mn walking to British Museum and 10mn walking to marvellous Soho. The staff is very helpful and flexible. Wi-fi is everywhere available for free (recpetion is less good at the 4th floor). Kitchen is very clean and pleasant. The only drawback is that the hostel is very exiguous, in the stairs, rooms and common places. I hardly recommend this place anyway


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(95 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback